We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, very busy, but too noisy”

Guilty Rogue Public House
Ranked #85 of 4,407 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Australian, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Sneak into the Guilty Rogue Public House - a nod to Brisbane's convict heritage stashed in the centre of Brisbane's CBD. Grab a partner in crime and enjoy our extensive menu, 18 beers on tap, enviable wine list and top shelf spirits. (Formerly known as Tinbillys Bar and Grill)
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Good food, very busy, but too noisy”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This place was buzzing!

I went with a friend to the pub next door, but they closed relatively early for dinner and there weren't many people in the bar. The Guilty Rogue, however, was full of happy people (mostly backpackers), with live entertainment.

The food was tasty and large (I had chicken parmy). Only downside was that the live music was so loud that I had trouble talking to my dinner companion. I can't understand why people go to bars that are too noisy to talk with people!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottishontour, Guest Relations Manager at Guilty Rogue Public House, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hi Fermax,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our bar, your comments are very much valued.

We really appreciate your input regarding our live music. As we are both a live music venue and restaurant we do strive to keep both parties happy and ensure we let our customers have the best experience possible. We now have a 9pm cut off for our kitchen and our live music raises their volume after this to ensure diners have a more intimate experience whilst eating.

We are glad that you enjoyed your meal's and we we hopefully see you again soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us again on our website to speak with us directly.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip our venue.

Kind regards,

Guilty Rogue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    113
    27
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Used to be great...”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This place was once our regular work drinks venue. The management has changed has so has the atmosphere and service. The short, cute guy that used to be the manager seems to have left and has taken the service and atmosphere with him.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank libbsntibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Loved the food and portion sizes were amazing for the price. Had Breakfasts and dinners here and none of them disappointed. They have daily specials as well which add to the wide array of choices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zesay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottishontour, Guest Relations Manager at Guilty Rogue Public House, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hi Zesay,

Thank you very much for your review, we're so glad you had a great experience with us and thoroughly enjoyed our food.

We still have our weekly specials on top of our menu and we strive to make them as tasty and diverse as possible. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Guilty Rogue.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Don't Waste Your Time”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This place was so awesome until the name change/change of management.

Now... don't waste your time. The food has gone down hill and the atmosphere... left a long time ago.

It's not the bar or nosh we remember or loved.

Try others in Brisbane.

Helpful?
Thank notthewizofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcbenz34
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good place, inexpensive and unpretentious!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stopped here at the end of a bicycle tour and we were excited that it was completely un-touristy. In fact, the day before Christmas, everyone was a local! You order at the bar, a frequent occurrence in Brisbane, but the staff was extremely friendly. Fun to watch the city buzz if you sit by the open windows on a nice day!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcbenz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guilty Rogue Public House also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Guilty Rogue Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing