We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This chocolatey place is absolute HAVEN!”

Chocolateria San Churro
Ranked #10 of 90 Dessert in Brisbane
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This chocolatey place is absolute HAVEN!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My first time to San Churro's was in 2009 in Fremantle. This is my second time to San Churro's, but in Brisbane. Love the creativity of dipping the perfect cinnamon fried donut in freshly prepared warm chocolate. Try their in-house chocolates too. My favourite is the hazelnut! Do not miss their desserts too, lots of variety to choose from. Try the white chocolate macadamia cake, it was yummy! Coffee was superb too. If only they have a branch in Darwin!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacklyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    69
    27
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wow stumbled upon this gem late Saturday night wow how good was the food and my coffee nom nom nom, my partner said the Hot Chocolate was awesome too..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dobboinaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Show San Churro”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Called into SAN CHURRO chocolate restaurant in Southbank last week, with four family members. While the others ordered deserts, I ordered a coffee that came with a FREE chocolate (according to the sign out the front, and according to the menu). Coffee came, no chocolate. Caught waitresses eye and asked re the chocolate. I'll go and see she said. Two minutes later - "Sorry, we're out of them". It would have been nice to have been told when I ordered, or even when I received the coffee, however a big fat nothing, and no real apology. Leaving the restaurant, my sister decided to buy one of the chocolates that came in a cute box, (according to the photo in the display), to take home to her husband. Paid money, then received the chocolate 'in a plastic bag'. What about the box??? "Sorry, we're out of boxes !!"
Once again, not before they took the money.
Poor show San Churro - Where's the customer service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great churros!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Ducked in here for a late Wednesday night dessert with my wife after seeing Jersey Boys at QPAC. Very happy to see it still open at 10:30pm on a week night!

We ordered a 'churros for 2' platter, which came with a generous serve of 6 long churros and a choice of 2 dipping pots (we opted for dark chocolate and Spanish caramel 'dulce de leche'
, you could also choose milk chocolate or white chocolate). Plus we shared a thick Spanish hot chocolate.

The churros were delicious. Crispy and warm, with a light dusting of cinnamon sugar. The hot chocolate was also great - thick and hot, very rich, perfect to share.

Only negative was the staff were run off their feet. They were very friendly & helpful, but were clearly struggling to keep up with clearing & cleaning tables to make way for new customers. I'm guessing they'll perfect the staff numbers as they settle in though...

Total bill was $20 for a lovely finish to the night. WIll definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGradeCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolateria San Churro also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Chocolateria San Churro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing