We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever!”
Review of Amphora

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Amphora
Ranked #473 of 4,327 Restaurants in Brisbane
Price range: $19 - $76
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We hadn’t been to Amphora for a while and it was just as good as we remembered it. Simple décor, good atmosphere, excellent service and great food. My favourite, the Seafood pie, was still available and delicious. The others had the Chicken livers and the Zucchini flowers which were also delicious. Everything was beautifully presented.
We went at lunch time and it was not full, but probably always best to make a reservation. I particularly like the fact that the tables are far enough away from each other that you are really not aware of the other diners. A great place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolynMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Restaurant to recommend to your friends”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a consistently good restaurant I have visited on many occasions. The food has always been excellent and the service friendly and very pleasant. This small Restaurant has a lovely atmosphere, but it is advisable to make sure that there are no parties going on at the time you are dining. Some sound dampening material would be an excellent idea. The food is good value for money and I have no hesitation to recommend the Amphora warmly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 31Extensivetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“my favourite local”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I love this restaurant and the fact that it is small and sometimes noisy and that I cant remember the menu changing. The food is always good the price is great and the staff are fantastic, I wish there were more restaurants like this. If your looking for fancy dining this isn't for you, if your looking for a great meal at a real price it is.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best local ”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Amphora many times and I am never disappointed. The food is fantastic and good value for money.
On this occasion we had a table for four inside and had the misfortune to be there when they had a very large table of women who were very loud. I'm deaf and hearing aids don't cope in very loud situations. One of my friends spoke to the waitress and she rearranged the tables and moved us into the outer, less noisy room. I thought she was very kind and helpful. Once again Amphora exceeded my expectations.

Helpful?
Thank jaffa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very very good...”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having this place as a local restaurant has to be the best solution to "where-should-we-eat-tonight?" type discussions ever. I eat here lots. The food is always fantastic, and it has to have the best calamari I have ever had. This place has atmosphere, amazing food, great service, and is very good value. Book ahead -- all the locals know about it, so getting a table is not easy if you just rock up without booking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphora also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing