We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not worth the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Lucia Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Lucia Gardens
Ranked #127 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

no shampoo and conditioner, room was not serviced, "two bedroom" was just the one bedroom with another bed in the loungeroom, $40 charge applied if the dishes were not cleaned. the pool was tiny. overall i'd rather just stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilypr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
3
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed at St Lucia Gardens for three weeks in a one-bedroom apartment. We were comfortable and the facilities were fine. The owners - Arthur and Pene - are very friendly and welcoming. We had chosen St Lucia Gardens because it is 10 minutes walk away from my daughter and little granddaughter, who came by our apartment, and were also made welcome. We would definitely chose St Lucia Gardens again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2011

After reading the reviews of this place after booking and then arriving, I was prepared to give it the benefit of the doubt, as it wasn't all that bad. The manager called us, as we were arriving after 11pm on a Saturday night, and gave us directions on how to get in. But then things happened. The floods came. The apartments across the road on Sandford Street back onto the river. This area is prone, and in fact I believe, after reading reports, that the bottom level would have been under water, leaving levels 2 and 3, where guests stayed above water level but marooned. On Tuesday 11th, the manager suggested we move and stay with someone - we weren't sure if he was joking, and being from interstate that was not possible. At 5am on the 12th, he rang our mobile to say that we should leave - catch a taxi (we had a car anyway thankfully), as he had already left earlier that morning! The power had also been turned off. Not only that, he asked us to inform the people in the room next door, and we "rescued" another lady, who had not been forewarned but decided she should leave. We left and moved to higher ground, but not sure what we would have done without a car, which would have been underwater if we had left it in the underground garage. We also found problems with the room - the drier did not appear to work, a light for the balcony did not work, the stove was SO slow and obviously in need of replacement, and the door stuck on more than one occasion so that we had to call him to open the door from the outside. AND, if you get a room on Gailey Road side, it is NOISY!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arthur C, Manager at St Lucia Gardens, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Again we find this disturbing as Managers, we did everthing we could do to make sure in the face of a natural dissaster that people were notified and looked after. We called everyone that we could get a hold of considering that phone lines were over populated etc and alot of communication was down.

We had over 30 overseas people attending Queensland University, most had only just arrived in Australia and we had to find alternative accommodation for them all, which was extremely difficult as most of them werent english speaking and hard to find available accommodation in safe areas. We kept in constant touch with as many people as we could to ensure their safety during and after the flooding, some of which also helped us with the clean up of the floods.

This person has unfortunately distorted the facts of a harrowing situation that showed such immense community togetherness of a natural dissaster which brought so many people together to help one another. I am nearly 70 years old and recently recovered from serious surgery and even given my health restraints it didn't stop me or anyone involved in the Brisbane flooding to jump in boots and all to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

lots of dodgy appliances, and no toaster?? shower door broken, noisy, look elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anon4445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

The air conditioner was a small unit, totally inadequate for the space and, therefore, overloaded and was ineffective. The television tuned to only two channels. The owner/manager was aware of the problem and blamed it on digital reception. The swimming pool would comfortably fit two people who were not swimming. The room was not serviced daily. The "continental breakfast" - prepackaged cereals and milk - was not replenished. No shampoo was supplied. Otherwise it was brilliant value for $120 per night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadyhaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2008

St Lucia Gardens hotel is fine for a short stay. The self contained units certainly include everything you need, incl. kitchen, washing machine, dryer, etc.. and the place is clean. The bathroom is best described as an on-suite - no room to move!. The hotel is located on a busy road and the rooms that have balconies on that sise can be somewhat noisy, but there were other rooms with balconies on the garden side. Don't go there for the pool, it is about as big as a spa and looks nothing like the brochure photo. The service is not overly friendly but ok. The 4 star rating is, in my view, exagerated 2/3 stars would be more accurate. Price is reasonable at about $100 AUD per night

  • Liked — overall location in Brisbane was ok
  • Disliked — lack of friendly service at the hotel
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lucieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Jephson Hotel
Jephson Hotel
#73 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#83 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Benson Court Motel
Benson Court Motel
#125 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.6 mi away
Toowong Central Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Lucia Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Lucia Gardens

Property: St Lucia Gardens
Address: 2 Gailey Rd | St Lucia, Brisbane, Queensland 4067, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St Lucia Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
St Lucia Gardens Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing