We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel in great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soho Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Soho Motel
Ranked #88 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Queensland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel was pretty good, and reasonably priced (for a big city). The location was very convenient - an easy walk to the city center and close to the hospitals. The room was very small - there is just enough space for the bed and 2 bags. The mattress was on the firmer side, although fairly comfortable. There was, unfortunately, no fan in the bedroom which would have been nice to drown out the city noise! There was also no fan in the bathroom, which got very steamy after a shower. The shower had a very fine line between hot and cold water, you had to get the tap in just the right location which was a bit annoying. If you like to have an extra pillow to sleep with you'll have to ask at reception, as the only extra ones were the decorative type covered in not-often-washed covers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_wanderer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    88
    45
    18
    9
See reviews for
16
73
38
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have booked Soho for 2 nights stay via agoda.com. So we have been bit surprised when we arrived to Soho and it is actually a motel, not hotel as presented at agoda.com. However, the location was good, close to center (8min. walk through the park). The downside about location was only that is on the hill, so when going back elderly people might have bit trouble going uphill.

The room
- small in a case you have 2 big suitcases and hand luggage as us (you hardly can store them not open it).
- the twin beds where very comfortable and clean
- our room was located at 4th floor - NO LIFT, so really hard to climb up with the luggage
- balcony - with nice view (quiet location)
- free internet in the room - but unstable and very slow in spite of strong signal

The reception
- close at 8pm as I remember well and opens at 7am.
- receptionist - nice person, ready to answer all questions
- able to borrow an adapter- free

Restaurant
- opens everyday and servers dinner until 8:30 , but in a case you come at 8:03 and ask for dinner, the chef refused to serve, because he takes orders until 8:00.
I am also working in a hotel industry, but haven´t seen anything like this....We always tried do everything for our customers. The waitress was very apologetic and nice person.

Tip:
- definitely try The koala sanctuary - hug a koala and feed kangoros it´s amazing experience. and not that pricey as in Sydney, or other places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felllicita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed solo at the Soho for 8 nights in September 2012 while visiting a family member, post-op in St Andrews hospital and transacting some other business in Brisbane CBD. I found the Soho to be ideal for the purpose and definitely would stay there again if I had the need to be near the Brisbane CBD.
The most desirable features of this motel are its reasonable rates, its great location and its basic but clean rooms. It's close to the Brisbane Private and St Andrews hospitals, just a short walk from Roma Street station and the CBD and adjacent to the delightful Spring Hill Parklands. Like others have noted, the rooms are small but clean, reasonably modern, air conditioned and have free Wi-Fi and all the basic requirements, though if you like a power-shower you will be disappointed by the water saving shower and some elderly patrons may find the lack of a lift a problem if their room is not on the ground floor. A pleasant licensed restaurant provides reasonably priced breakfast 7 days and dinner Monday to Thursday. A nearby hotel also provides reasonably priced hotel bistro food.
I found the staff of the restaurant and reception to be most helpful and friendly but you do need to be aware that reception has restricted opening hours.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem for you, ask for a room on the entry level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christos31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for the Brisbane Riverfire. We realised through reading other trip advisor reviews that the rooms were small and there were no lifts but that didn't bother us as we were just looking for an overnight stay. We only packed lightly and managed 2 flights of stairs easily. However, we did request to change rooms twice because the doors wouldn't open out to the balcony and I tend to get a little claustrophobic in small spaces. The next room we were given, the doors to the balcony wouldn't close so perhaps other rooms have issues with the doors. Third time lucky and the doors opened and closed without a problem. Not too long a walk to the city or to SouthBank. Room was clean. Located opposite the Roma St Parklands which was a lovely stroll. There is limited parking and unfortunately all were taken so it took us some time before we could find street parking that was close to the motel. Probably only busy due to Riverfire. Still, great value for the price we paid for a busy weekend where most other accommodation was double the price.

Room Tip: Roma St station is nearby if you're not up for the walk to the Brisbane CBD or SouthBank;.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

My son and I stayed here while visiting Brisbane. The rooms were very clean and looked really nice. Everything worked properly in the room. The service was prompt although a little terse at times. Very close to the Roma Street Station which makes it good if you take the train in. Meals served were very good and well worth the price which I also thought was good. Will stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is a really convinent spot to stay if in Brisbane. 1 road off the Roma Street train station it is a 10 min walk tro the Spring Hill Parklands. The pathways make it easy to "roll" the luggage and walking is easy. Although the room is a bit small it is clean and nice. The aircond can be a noisy but since it was still spring, the weather was cool. There is no need to get breakfast as there are some cafes nearbly (5 mins) walk away. There is the bus stop in front of the hotel and the (free) SHL buses take you to the city center. If you like a walk or a jog before you start the day, the Spring Hill park is right in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Myself and my partner live on the coast but both work in Brisbane CBD. We commute in each day - which is fine (only takes and hour) but now and then we take the opportunity to catch up with some friends and have an after work drink. We have both been looking for a reasonably priced hotel/motel to lay our heads for the night and I can definately recommend Soho! It may not look like the best building on the road but inside it is lovely, yeah the rooms are small but they are alot bigger than any other motel I have stayed in. I have to say we had a very pleasent stay - staff of reception were great, Good roomy bathroom and shower, the rooms were well equiped with IPhone docking station for playing some tunes! coffee making facilities etc and we have definately found our reasonably priced accommodation for when we want to stay in Brisbane CBD again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Queen Standard room it was great for the value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Metropolitan Motor Inn
#102 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#39 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel
0.2 mi away
Abbey On Roma
Abbey On Roma
#105 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Motel

Property: Soho Motel
Address: 333 Wickham Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soho Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Soho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel Brisbane
Soho Motel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing