We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience, incredibly rude managers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #119 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The worst motel I have stayed at so far. We found the managers of this motel irate and incredibly rude. We stayed for a few days and the manager screamed like a lunatic at my wife on two occasions when we wanted some service for the laundry upsetting her and ruining our evening. I think this woman has some serious issues so I would strongly advise anyone to stay well away, that is unless you like Fawlty Towers.
Also the room wasn't serviced each day and it was not clean with damp coming through the kitchen ceiling. They should pay you to stay here..

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank zenguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 49 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2010

My daughter and her boyfriend stayed here twice. They went back the second time because of the location and the helpful and friendly owners. Easy to deal with and quick to respond to any questions by email. First experience with Brisbane and they couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColleenBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This motel is in a location handy to the river and city centre, is reasonably priced and the rooms are large and well equipped. However, we stayed on a Saturday night and the road noise was terrible right through the night - there are busy roads on both sides of the motel. Our other complaint is that the room had a very hard bed and was not comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shinok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

A great place to stay. Centrally located in lovely area. Rooms are older style making them extremely spacious. Everything was spotless. Owners very obliging and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SKBCoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We have used the Paramount for two, weekly trips to Brisbane in the last eight months,
& will use it again next trip.
We selected it for the location in our price range, and was very pleased with the facilities,
cleanliness, & friendly service of the owners Les & Moira.
The location is on a busy road,
but rooms are set back enough that noise was not a problem.
A good convenience shop, & bus stop are very close.
The Gabba & a Coles supermarket are a short walk away.
Southbank, river ferries, & city are a 20 min walk, past Kangaroo Point cliffs,
& a lovely walk along the Brisbane river.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank berryalan2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I thought I would write a review of this motel because the only ones here are so old and I am sure much has changed. Certainly the managers have changed twice since those mentioned in previous reviews and the current Managers Les & Moira couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful. The motel looks outdated from the outside but we were pleasantly surprised by the size of our standard unit which had a full kitchen and bathroom, so actually a 3 room unit. The interior looked as if it had been updated recently and although the bathroom and kitchen floor tiles were dated the whole place was very clean. We have paid much more than $98 at other motels and received less value. We found the 24 hour corner shop which seemed to stock everything incorporating a Subway sandwich counter as well as hot chickens, pies and pastries really good as it is only yards from the Paramount. There are also very good and cheap BYO Thai, Malaysian & Italian restaurants nearby and the Pineapple Hotel food is still excellent. We loved the riverside cliff walk to South Bank and used public transport preferring to leave our car at the free motel car park.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeandSheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2007

We booked our stay early in the year based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor. Our experience didn't live up to those positive reviews but we certainly didn't have any problems with the paramount.

The apartment was spacious and had everything we needed. Had we wanted to cook the kitchen looked fine, we were just too lazy to in the end. The decor is basic but for us on a budget and spending most of our days out it wasn't an issue for us.

It's located near the river and a 20 minute walk to the Southbank with bars and restaurants. It's a fair walk into the city centre across the river or a 10 minute walk to catch a ferry across. Walking back from the Southbank or coming off the ferry there is a steep climb up to the hotel from the river though.

As mentioned in other reviews the best thing about the Paramount is the Pineapple opposite which does great steaks.

It's not somewhere to go if you're looking for luxury but for a cheap base to explore it's fine.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jervis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#103 of 168 in Brisbane
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#71 of 168 in Brisbane
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sebel South Brisbane
The Sebel South Brisbane
#106 of 168 in Brisbane
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Aabon Apartments & Motel
Aabon Apartments & Motel
#84 of 168 in Brisbane
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 168 in Brisbane
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments

Address: 649 Main St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $79 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, quiet, older style units. Close to transport, CBD, SouthBank, St Vincents,PA,Mater & Children's Hospitals.Walking distance to Gabba.Great location for taking in a show at Southbank, checking out the exhibitions at Gomma, climbing the Story Bridge, AFL or Cricket at the Gabba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Motel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Brisbane
Paramount Brisbane
Brisbane Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing