We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Would definitely stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropolitan Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Ranked #108 of 166 Hotels in Brisbane
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very good. Reception staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. We had the back-to-basics deal and found it very good for a quick stopover.

Room Tip: Traffic noise was too loud for a sleep-in. If visiting again, would ask for a room higher up and/or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DodgyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    76
    59
    29
    31
See reviews for
31
84
42
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

stayed here for one night before taking an early flight and fair to say that didn't get much sleep due to the traffic noise, but we had a Deluxe Queen suite which was on the Road side (room 208) and it's a pretty busy intersection. Very clean room but a little dated in decor but couldn't fault the tidiness. Staff helpful, wouldn't say they were overly friendly but are certainly ok. Being a light sleeper however I wouldn't stay again but it's so close to the city that if you were a night owl it would be ideal, plus it has free parking underneath.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueC43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I had a combined business/leisure trip to Brisbane and stayed in the budget rooms worth $101 per night. Basically for $40 less than the deluxe rooms, I went without Foxtel channels and tea & coffee making facilities. With three excellent cafes across the road/s the was no shortage a decent coffee.The hotel is in a great area, about a 10 mionute walk into the CBD down the hill. There are two pubs next door. Staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were fine. Air-con worked well and shower pressure and water temp terrific. The only dampner was the trafiic noise, but that didn't concern me greatly as I wear ear plugs while sleeping, plus a heap of beer always helps to get to sleep.Central Station is only a five-minute walk away which is hand for the AirTrain to/from the airport. For the price and the location and considering the rooms are perfectly fine 3-star quality, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Stayed at this motel for five nights while visiting family. This could pass for a hotel. The rooms are extremely spacious, clean and comfotable, bathrooms more spacious than expected, shower good and room service GREAT! awesome prices, awesome food. Balcony was a nice little bonus too! Only problem we had was with the tv, whose sound would occasionally cut out, but it didnt affect us too much, not even when we were watching masterchef finals week! There is four pubs and great sushi crawling distance away, and the city a just a roll down the hill. (Though not a roll on the way back up!) Reception staff are great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeshR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marananga, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Upon arrival at 3pm i was told my room wasn't ready yet. Great start. Thoughtful operator said maybe i should give them a call in an hour. No sweetie, you ring me was my answer. It went steadily downhill from there. Please note this motel is also on a hill of which you must travel up many steep hills from the city if walking. Get a cab. Fantastic steaks was next on the order for the night's entertainment. Steak was good, but not fantastic. The excessive noise from next doors (hotel with live music) was also good, but not fantastic. The road is very busy and noisy all day and night. 10-15 walk from city mall, all uphill and hard uphill, rooms not anywhere near $125 a night quality, service was attrocious and quite simply i say, stay somewhere else if you like your sleep. not for business people.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3Lechacal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights & felt totally cheated.
We were told that the rates included parking & breakfast. In fact, the good people at Brisbane Visitor Centre recommended this over 3 other hotels.

We took up the recommendation but were sorely disappointed.
Well, the hotel was up on the hill which was a challenge for us with 3 young kids (2 babies) & a double stroller.
The rooms were small, very basic & dirty. On one of the days we were there, used towels were simply left behind the door in the toilet! My 2 year old slept on the sofa & we used a bedsheet to go on top. This sheet was not changed for the entire 4 nights we were there!

What was totally unacceptable was that we were told breakfast was included in the room rates, but we were eventually charged for breakfast.

Well, as were were told that breakfast was included, it did not occur to us to double check upon checking in. When we enquired about breakfast, we were only told when it would be served & nothing about the rates.

We happily went for breakfast on the first 3 mornings of our stay. On the first 2 days, we were asked to sign a chit that says we've eaten there, nothing was mentioned about charges.
However, on the 3rd morning, the breakfast chit now included charges for 2 adults and 3 children. We were shocked & upon checking, the manager insisted that breakfast would never be included for the rate given to us.

We were shocked as this was the last lag of our 3 week trip, we were low on cash, with just enough to get through till our flight home. On those last days in Brisbane, we were trying to stretch our budget & enjoy the rest of our stay. So this was a complete shock. The hotel insisted on their stand without any regard to our situation.

We were made to return to the Brisbane Visitor Centre to verify 'our' claim. Which the staff at the centre subsequently (only after we've checked out) confirmed that she was certain she was told breakfast would be included.

Nonetheless, the hotel insisted that they did not make such a claim & that we had to pay for breakfast. The issue ding-donged between the hotel & the Bisbane Visitor Centre but nothing was done to remedial the situation.

On the last morning, we paid up & left utterly disgusted by the way the whole matter was handled.

The hotel actually charged us 2 adults & 3 children when my youngest is only 1year +. We understand from the Brisbane Visitor Centre that children below 2 were usually not charged. This was only taken off our bill after we reasoned with the hotel. To think my 2 youngest kids ate only a scoop of cereal for each breakfast, that is probably the most expensive cereal at A$6 each morning!

No matter how basic & cheap this hotel appear to be. The service attitude is just as cheap. I would not consider coming back again. It certainly brought a bitter after taste to our otherwise perfect 3 week vacation in Queensland.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BenBelYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

For Easter, enjoyed the 3-day special offer in clean, well-maintained room in a fairly central location which included undercover car parking. Desk staff were welcoming and very helpful & willing to be of assistance. Great value

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christophoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
The Summit Apartments
The Summit Apartments
#139 of 166 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.5 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#66 of 166 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#55 of 166 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Gregory Terrace Brisbane
0.3 mi away
City Park Apartments
City Park Apartments
#105 of 166 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Motor Inn

Property: Metropolitan Motor Inn
Address: 106 Leichhardt Street | Spring Hill, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 166 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropolitan Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four-story Motel situated a few blocks from the commercial & entertainment area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Metropolitan Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Motor Hotel Brisbane
Metropolitan Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing