We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal - Everything a family could want and more!”
Review of Toowong Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toowong Villas
Ranked #80 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for 11 nights in January with wife and two children. Couldn't have been better! From the moment we arrived we were stunned.by the high standard of service and presentation offered. Large two bedroom apartment was spotless, and well equipped for a family with washing machine,drier, two tvs and well equipped kitchen. Plenty of undercover parking including room for trailer. Staff friendly and eficient especially couple in charge! Nothing was a problem and minor issues like light bulb needing to be changed dealt with immediately. Staff able to provide information on public transport and reccomended a cruise on the river using the City Cat fast ferry which was only a 5 minute walk away, rather than expensive tourist cruise. Location is perfect. Only 35 minutes down freway to theme parks! Would have taken longer from Surfers Paradise with all the traffic hassles there!!!! Two pools and lovely bbq area made it feel like a tropical oasis! It is very clear that the managers work very hard to ensure all their guests have a great experience! Well done!!!! We would have no hesitation in recommending Toowong Villas to anyone looking for a place to stay when visiting Brisbane or the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bltconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
We do value your comments and we have informed our staff of your review and positive statements.
We do try hard to present a friendly atmosphere.
Your comments about the City Cat ferry was welcomed and we will inform all our guests about the City Cat trip for free.
Thank you again for taking time to write your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Toowong Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 196 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place takes advantage of low budget. Its not secure at all. Its clean but it wouldn't be very hard to clean such a small place. Definetly not value for money, but the staff are absoluley lovely. Maybe they should spend more time making the place nice and less being "Lovely".

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TDubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I did respond to your review earlier but for some reason it has not been posted, or it has been posted to the wrong review.
I'm sorry your stay did not meet your expectations.
I am a little confused when you say our rooms are small. Our studio apartment which is the smallest of our apartments is more than twice the size of a standard motel room, plus the bathroom facilities, with additional services such as microvaves and electric frypans included.
We try very hard to make our guests welcome and feel at home as customer service is very important to us.

Thank you again for your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We are a family of four, 2 adults & 2 children aged 4 & 5 years. We stayed at Toowong Villas over christmas/new year 2012/2013. We had a ground floor, 2 bed unit with small courtyard. Our stay was delightful. All staff super friendly/great location/playground across the street/2 pools used on a daily basis, both very clean/shops within walking distance & seacat to Brisbane city a 5 minute walk away. Lovely quiet location. We had dinner one night at the local hotel "The Regatta" where we ate outside & the children were very welcome.
Would HIGHLY recommend. We were so happy with our stay we are planning on going back next year.

Room Tip: If you have small children & use a stroller ask for a ground floor unit with a fenced courtyard.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpoolsue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated by our staff and management.
We do try very hard to provide a friendly family atmosphere.
Your room tip was also appreciated and we always endevour to provide any special requests subject to other bookings.
We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and mother stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas to be close to the family Christmas action. I stayed 1 night. We booked Toowong Villas because other members of the family were also staying there. We stayed in a 3rd storey two bedroom unit. I regret this decision.

If you are looking for a friendly, customer-centered place to stay this is not the place for you.

Issues:

Stairs - even the ground floor units had stairs in the block in which we stayed. I am not sure if all the blocks are similar. There is no lift, not even a service lift. The hand-rail is on the left hand side as you go up the stairs which makes negotiating up the stairs much more difficult for right handed people - the majority of the population.

Checking in - prefunctory and unfriendly, seems to be a standard speel for everyone.
Checking out - see above. My husband felt the person on the check out desk seemed overwhelmed and confused.

Servicing of the apartments - were not serviced everyday during the Christmas period - not sure if this is the norm.

Kitchen appliances - very limited - if you are planning to cook even basic meals you may need to bring some equipment with you - like a jug to have cold water in the fridge, or containers.

My biggest issue: I had not asked for a ground floor apartment - my fault. When I rang to check if there was any, even the remotest possibility of changing from the third floor to the ground floor to accommodate my elderly mother - I was met with a hostile reaction, I would have been perfectly happy if my request had been turned down without the hectoring and blame I was subjected to. Apparently there was no possibility of a change - that was ok - I was just asking, it should always be worth asking a question, you never know it might be possible and you don't know unless you ask. The proprietor went on to make sure I knew that this was my fault, they could do nothing to help me. I became very perplexed however when the issue of my booking the accommodation through wotif came up, apparently I should have booked through the motel, would/could that have made a difference, although I remain mystified about what difference that would have made. Are people who book through wotif somehow treated/accommodated differently?

So my advice, if you would like to stay here and have special requirements - make sure you at least ring the motel to negotiate these. Do not expect any empathy if you have failed to consider any circumstances you were able to predict and did not sort out in advance or not able to predict.

We will not be staying here again.

There are plenty of alternatives reasonably close by.

Room Tip: Make sure you check with the motel if you have a disability or any issues with stairs.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petermitchell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. Every review is important to us.
I would like to comment on the issues you raised.
Stairs. The design of the stairs comly with the Aust/NZ Std Building Code. It is a requirement to have handrails to prevent falling into the stair well. We have investigated the option of installing a lift however the architect informed the body corp the design of the buildings do not allow a lift to be installed.
Checking in/out. We have spoken to our Reception staff the importance of presenting a friendly smile and service.
Servicing. Our apartments are serviced weekly. No servicing is undertaken for shorter stays, however the guest can request supplies including towels, kitchen utentsils upon a request to Reception.
Ground floor. We tried to explain that bookings made through booking agencies do not always advice of any special requests by a guest. We always comply with special requests where we can. Other bookings may limit our ability to do so.
Thank you again for your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed here once before and again on Christmas Day 2012. The rooms are clean and a good view from the balcony facing Ascot Terrace. Ample parking, close to public transport and restaurants & shopping centre. Friendly staff will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Ascot Terrance. I am preferring to stay at Toowong or Indooroopilly as this gives...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterGriffin240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write your review. Your friendly comments are much appreciated. The staff and management try very hard to maintain a family friendly atmosphere.
We look forward to your next visit.
Jim Donohue
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our whole family, 8 families in total, stayed at the Villlas. They offered different sized complete units, a fantastic BBQ and pool area and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. Cannot recommend them highly enough

Room Tip: All rooms great. Just ask them about your personal needs. They will accommodate you
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Jenny M
Thank you very much for your exciting review. The Staff and Management very much appreciated your comments.
We put on a special morning tea for the Staff as we also appreciated their efforts that weekend. It was very busy.
Reviews like yours encourage all of us to keep and improve the quality of the service we provide for our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we did enjoy the weekend.

Jim Donohue

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights for my son's wedding. Managers & staff were wonderful & couldn't do enough, especially when it came to helping us find the wedding venue (even photocopied maps for us to use!) Unit was very clean & spacious, with everything we needed. Very attractive property..would definitely recommend to others! :-)

Room Tip: All rooms set back from the street, so no noise issues
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Jenni D
Our Staff were very excited to read your review and your comments are very much appreciated.
We put on a special morning tea to thank our staff for their efforts. That weekend was very busy and our staff put in long hours.
We enjoy assisting our guests where we can. The results show when we get encouraging reviews such as yours.

Thanks again for your review.

Jim Donohue

Manager
Manager
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Toowong Inn & Suites
Toowong Inn & Suites
#90 of 168 in Brisbane
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jephson Hotel
Jephson Hotel
#93 of 168 in Brisbane
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
Chasely Apartments Brisbane
#140 of 168 in Brisbane
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Central Cosmo Apartments
Central Cosmo Apartments
#74 of 168 in Brisbane
156 reviews
1.5 mi away
Forest Lodge Apartments
Forest Lodge Apartments
#1 of 1 in Indooroopilly
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Toowong Central Motel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toowong Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toowong Villas

Address: 9 Ascog Terrace | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#71 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $111 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Toowong Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Toowong Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toowong Villas Hotel Brisbane
Toowong Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing