We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Annie's Shandon Inn
Ranked #13 of 61 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Annies is like an old lady, started in1850 's but going strong. rooms are smallish but thats how they built them. Hosts are helpfully, welcoming and eager to please. Continental brekky included. Rooms are a/cond, spotless and sheets crisp and clean. Close to city and nearby hospitals. Enjoyed my stay.. Thanks from a territorian!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balanda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 195 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I only had one day in Brisbane and found Annie's online. I was travelling with my boyfriend and we were a little nervous that we didnt have a formal confirmation receipt. Just an email saying the room was ours.
However there was nothing to worry about! Thats just how they do things here! The staff made us feel so welcome and were very so kind and considerate. we were given a downstairs room that had its own bathroom. The decor of the whole place is a little dated and our room could have done with a bit of colour but it did feel cosy. Almost like you were staying at your grandparents. The lighting was also a little green which added to the strange colour of the room. However the location is fab...right near the city centre, Its great value for money and you can't fault the staff for customer service.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Annie's Inn was the most delightful of all our hotel stays across Oz.
This quaint little B & B is artfully decorated and is full of individual character as it has a genuine history dating back to the beginnings of Brisbane. It is spotless, well run by a charming couple and excellent value for money, especially as it really is a heritage inn with a genuine atmosphere so different from the manufactured charm of pricier places.
It is situated a few minutes walk from the bustling CBD and Central station and easy to get to on public transport even with luggage. Restaurants, ATMs, the free bus etc are all steps from the front door.
Street noise was not a problem even though we were in a room at the front. The stairs creak and the walls are not soundproof as in all old houses, but this is not a backpacker place and most guests seemed to be on their best behaviour. The breakfast of juice, cereal and toast is 'continental' as stated and the anytime tea and coffee is a bonus.
Thanks to Tony and Wendy for making us feel at home with their travel advice and genuine concern for our comfort.
A rare combination of characterful charm and genuinely warm hosts, we would love to stay at Annie's Shandon Inn again.

Room Tip: Book early. This is a justifiably popular choice and was full throughout our stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rimli_Sushil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 1 night in November and I'm so glad that we did! Our first impression of Annie's - cute! We were checked in by Tony, a delightful gentleman who couldn't do enough for us. Annie's is quaint and old fashioned and Tony's demeanour matched this exactly.

We stayed in a twin en suite room downstairs which, though small, was comfortable with a ceiling fan, aircon and a good shower. There was a communal kitchenette which had everything you needed for tea/coffee and to make a light dinner.

Wifi is available here for $5 for the entire stay which is awesome value!

It is a scant 5 minutes walk from Central Station. Shopping, restaurants, public transport is all within walking distance.

The rooms are well priced - you won't find better in the CBD. Throw in a fantastic location and you've got yourself a great place to stay. Would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lane25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I totally enjoyed staying at Annie's Inn. The bed & breakfast feels like home and the hosts are very very lovely and welcoming. They are super helpful with tips on what to do, where to dine etc. and make you feel like you're at home. The location is very conveniently located, you can reach the CBD and Southside by foot and can also walk from the Roma transit center. Breakfast is included and the rooms are very cute. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It was a pleasant stay at Annie's - the rooms and bathrooms were clean, the place was neat, different than most of the other places (in a positive way), and pretty convenient to the CBD area.

It's also a bit small and old; the breakfast is relatively sparse (OJ, toast & cereal), the bed is squeaky, and the street facing room we were is a bit loud throughout the night.
Hope some of these issues get addressed and I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abitofeverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I was looking for overnight accomodation, and was lucky to get a room at Annie's. I was immediately felt welcome in their quaint little B&B. The decor is old fashioned - but that's the whole charm of the place! The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. The shower had awesome pressure and hot water. I found it to be a very quiet hotel, even though I was in room 5 - right opposite the 'front desk'. The owners/staff were beyond friendly. They were just wonderful. When I realised that I had missed my flight, one of the owners overheard my phone call and jumped straight onto the computer to see what other flights were available. She was so helpful and understanding. And even walked me to the train station! I am eternally grateful for their wonderful hospitality!
If I was to return to Brisbane, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Even if I was given the choice of a flash new hotel or this delightful old fashioned B&B... I'ld pick Annies! It's a great location - and a great price. The breakfast is basic - but given the price - it's a bonus! The owners/staff are without question the frlendliest hospitality people I have ever come across!

Room Tip: I got the shuttle bus from the airport & it dropped me at the door. If you arrive via train (Ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodie259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 169 in Brisbane
969 reviews
0 mi away
Acacia Inner City Inn
Acacia Inner City Inn
#20 of 61 in Brisbane
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kookaburra Inn
Kookaburra Inn
#14 of 143 in Brisbane
256 reviews
4.7 mi away
Prince of Wales Hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel
#7 of 61 in Brisbane
171 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amelia Hotel
Amelia Hotel
#22 of 61 in Brisbane
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie's Shandon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie's Shandon Inn

Address: 405 Upper Edward St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range: $58 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Annie's Shandon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Annie's Shandon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annie`s Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing