We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, awful beds and showers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aabon Apartments & Motel
Ranked #78 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location, awful beds and showers”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I decided to have a short break in Brisbane from the 23/7/13-25/7/13 with our 1 year old daughter and were happy with how easy and convenient to the airport the hotel is. We also enjoyed the fact it is about a 4 minute walk to the railway station and if you had a rental car, the location was Central to just about anywhere in Brisbane.
We were pleasantly surprised at the 1 bedroom apartment when we walked in as we noticed it was quite roomy and well kept. This ended when we arrived in to the bedroom. We wanted a queen bed, but I was completely pissed off (sorry for the language) to find that the bed consisted of 2 single bed, butted up together but with blankets thrown over the top to make it look like a queen bed. I honestly don`t know how hotels think that this is acceptable as you cannot disguise the fact you have a massive crack down the middle of the bed. Add to this the mattresses were so firm, it gave my wife and I terrible sleeps. I wanted to complain there and then but my wife wanted me to keep the peace as it was only 2 nights. Well here is the complaint, it`s just a disgusting arrogance to think people will fall for 2 single beds being a queen bed.
My other complaint is about the showers. They have those bloody water saver shower heads, an absolute scourge that is spreading like a cancer around this country. I don`t want to hear some crap about saving the environment, it`s done to save hotels money, rip us off and make our stay uncomfortable. Simple.
Would we return? Not sure. You see I can live with the shower thing, but the bed thing absolutely NOT! When you`re chasing around a 1 year old all day you need plenty of energy, and unfortunately your beds simply did not give us any quality sleep.
Everything else was ok, the cot was good, location was good, the style and size of the apartment was good, but something MUST be done about those beds and get rid of those stupid, asthmatic shower heads.
Thank you
N. Birkett

Room Tip: Go for a 1 bedroom apartment, studio could be a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nbirk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Manager at Aabon Apartments & Motel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
It sounds like you really should have booked 4 1/2 star accommodation and not 3 1/2 which the Aabon is. One of the dangers when booking by price.
As you don't include your name on your review I can't follow up on which apartment in which of our 44 apartments in different 3 blocks you stayed in. If look at the reviews on the various sites about the Aabon, you may find that your review is one out of the box.
After reading your long review, I think readers may learn more about you and your expectations than about the Aabon.
Chris Campbell.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    61
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
36
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the Aabon Motel the night before flying out to the USA. The motel is in a good position for airport access (only an 8-10 minute drive away). We payed $115 for a room we think was was probably worth about $85. It was tiny and cramped with an ensuite that had a door which opened right across the standing area. The cupboard space underneath the sink was the only place to store anything (there was literally no space around the basin), and in our room it reeked of mould, so we opted not to leave anything in there. There was also someone else's long black hair still lying on the tiled floor. The TV is inside a cupboard along with a microwave and jug. Judging by other reviews we're obviously a little harder to please than some and that's fine, but when you head overseas and stay in rooms literally 6 times the size for $109 per night, it's hard to feel like you had a great deal at home. Probably won't be recommending this one to others. In fairness, the one bedroom apartments did look better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Manager at Aabon Apartments & Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Where at all possible we have put the size of our Studio rooms ( 3.5 x 3.8M + ensuite ) on the various booking sites we use. As to price I think you will find our pricing very competitive for Brisbane city. I too have stayed in larger rooms at competitive prices but this is Brisbane, Queensland, not Vung Taug. You just have to look at our reviews on this and other sites to see what people are saying about the Aabon. Sorry about the hair. This now means that everyone will want one. Chris Campbell. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

When I booked a room for $100 I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The room was small and older, but immaculately clean. We arrived late at night and the key was left out for us as well as the lights left on which was a nice touch. Reception were incredibly polite and helpful. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Manager at Aabon Apartments & Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff work hard to keep up the required standards and we just try to treat guests the way we would like to be treated. Although small ( 3.5 x 3.5M + ensuite ), the studios rooms are ideal for 1 or 2 nights with tea/coffee making facilities, microwave, mini fridge, crockery & cutlery etc. We do have 1,2 & 3 bedroom apartments if guests require something larger. Look forward to seeing you again next time you need accommodation near Brisbane airport or the central city. Kind regards Chris & Janine Campbell. Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Glen, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have stayed at Aabon quite a few times. We choose it because it's really close to the railway station and its cost is very reasonable. When we go as a couple, we choose the studio motel-style room, but we have been as a larger family in the past, as well. The studio room can than open onto a larger room that has a kitchen, table and lounge chairs, as well as an extra bedroom and bathroom. Have already booked our room for our next sojourn to Brisvegas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanneX23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Manager at Aabon Apartments & Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. It is a bonus being able to combine a self cater apartment with a Studio room to give you that 2 or 3 bedroom with 2 bathroom option. We get many return guests and, while there is always something we can do better, it is very gratifying to know that we are doing most things right. Our staff work very hard to keep the standards up. Although the Aabon is only a 3 1/2 Star there is no excuse for the rooms not being clean and the staff unhelpful. Look forward to seeing you next time. All the best, Chris & Janine Campbell. Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Can pick frangipani flowers from my balcony. Room 4 Main is larger than my 2 bedroom flat. Modern, comfortable and very clean. 2 air conditioners. All kitchen utensils, crockery, linen of good quality.Within walking distance of The Pavilion, convenience shop,shopping mall and train station . Units serviced daily, regardless of length of stay. Provision of computer, Internet and printing for free, also wi-fi free. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the room 4 Main faces Lisson Grove and traffic noise is quite audible early morning and constant from late afternoon until late evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Manager at Aabon Apartments & Motel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found us very good value for money. Our aim is to treat our guests the way we would like to be treated. The 1 bedroom self cater apartments which you stayed in have become very popular especially with the room they have in them.
Sorry about the road noise. Being in a off highway suburban setting we usually get comments on how quiet it is but that's a big city for you I guess. All the best, Chris & Janine Campbell, Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as it was well located for a training course. Great choice as it had everything I needed and was as advertised - smallish rooms which were exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Free wifi at this price was a real bonus but the relief managers had to keep bringing it back online as it was unstable. Great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbwhkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Manager at Aabon Apartments & Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are currently addressing the wifi situation as it does not seems to like the stormy weather we had while you were staying with us. The wonders of modern science. Thank you for your comments regarding cleanliness & comfort. I is always a pleasure passing these onto our hard working staff. kind regards Chris Campbell. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I only spent around 6 hours in the room but it was absolutely perfect for a shower, sleep in a comfortable quiet room and short taxi ride to the airport. Picked up and dropped off the keys without meeting the staff but I noticed their attention to detail in the room. Not a fancy hotel, but everything I needed, cheaper than all other options.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PossumJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Manager at Aabon Apartments & Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The Aabon is only a 3 or 3.5 Star depending on your accommodation and, I hope, priced accordingly. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay which is what it is all about. Hopefully we will see you next time you need accommodation near Brisbane airport. Kind regards Chris Campbell. Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.2 mi away
Kingsford Riverside Inn
Kingsford Riverside Inn
#105 of 157 in Brisbane
143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Airport Clayfield Motel
Airport Clayfield Motel
#72 of 157 in Brisbane
138 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bowen Terrace International Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Airway Motel Brisbane
Airway Motel Brisbane
#91 of 157 in Brisbane
141 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
Ibis budget Windsor Brisbane
#98 of 157 in Brisbane
176 reviews
4.3 mi away
Brisbane International - Virginia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aabon Apartments & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aabon Apartments & Motel

Property: Aabon Apartments & Motel
Address: 45 Lisson Grove | Wooloowin, Brisbane, Queensland 4030, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aabon Apartments & Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 3.5 Star Studio & large 1,2 & 3 Bedroom self contained Apartment units & 3 Star budget 2 bedroom Full kitchen apartments. 10 mins to Brisbane Airport, CBD & 3 mins walk to the local railway station. Quiet off-highway location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aabon Apartments & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aabon Holiday Apartments Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing