We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #37 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
464 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Very happy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I have recently stayed in a number of hotels in Brisbane, and I can happily say this was the best stay I have experienced. They had sent me an email to check in advance, which I didn't do. On arrival my room was ready and I was upgraded to room with a view over the river. The staff were very pleasant and check in was quick. I had signed up for their priority club, and had a free welcome drink. The biggest benefit, and I can't say enough about this, but they have FREE INTERNET, finally a hotel that is taking notice of the needs of its customers and the what has been offered in the rest of the world for a decade. I liked being able to open a door/window and turn off the air con. The breakfast buffet was excellent, everything I needed including unlimited cappuccinos (not horrible Nescafé, but properly made from ground beans etc) I could have sat there all morning in the sun but regrettably I had to go.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BigRuss1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear BigRuss1213,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team works extremely hard to provide an enjoyable experience to our guests. I will pass on your feedback to our team, thank you.

We are also very pleased to see that you enjoyed the complimentary internet access. We realise that paid inernet has been a contentious issue in the past and we are glad to be one of the first hotels in Australia to provide internet completely free of charge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon; possibly this time you can spend some more time in the Bacchus Restaurant after a hearty breakfast!

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    785
    324
    94
    54
See reviews for
341
556
94
685
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed in July 2014 for my husband's birthday, and chose Rydges due to it's proximity to the Performing Arts Centre (we were seeing a show), Southbank for a casual stroll, and the enormous range of restaurants and cafes nearby. We indulged in the King Deluxe room, and it really does live up to it's name! This is a suite, not a hotel room! We had an excellent view over the river and city from our balcony, heaps of room to relax in, and everything we could need. The staff were excellent, and very professional.

I was probably sitting on a 4.5 rating for the hotel...until we went to breakfast in Bacchus. Wow! The food was fantastic - little potato rostis instead of the usual hash browns, small fresh serves of eggs Benedict where you add your own sauce (rather than have sauce that's been sitting under a heating element for a little too long), eggs cooked however you like them with a range of omelette options, pancakes, fresh fruit, pastries....plus all the usual options you'd expect from a good buffet breakfast. This is the best hotel buffet breakfast I've had! That swung me to 5 stars :)

Room Tip: Higher floors give a better view towards the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LellenAndCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear LellenAndCrew,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

I am glad to see that we have made your husband's brithday one to remember.

We are located in a great area with the Brisbane CBD district, close to many great restaurants, boutique shops and entertainment providers.

Our Bacchus Restaurant showcases a vast array of options throughout its menus and is becoming a popular venue for both silver service dining and exceptional cocktail bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Another stay at Rydges Southbank and as usual everything was good. Comfortable bed, clean room and lovely view, helpful staff. The only niggle was that the bathroom was looking very tired and could certainly do with an upgrade. Just love how handy this hotel is to the Lyric Theatre, the CBD etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyboysfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear jerseyboysfan,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay.

I am glad that you found the hotel to be convenient and enjoyable for your time in Brisbane. We are located in a great area of the Brisbane CBD District, close to many great restaurants, shops and entertainment areas.

Since we have completed renovations to our Public areas, our focus has now turned to our guest rooms and suites.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Biggest negative. .. they push the price way up for new year but then dont they all.

We had a king deluxe room. It was huge. There was a bedroom and bathroom which were able to be closed off anf then the biggest living room with a stunning verandah and veiw of the city.

We were able to bring our own food and drinks which made it better.

The hotel does restrict the number of people in the room claiming fire safety standards. Which is probably true.

The reception staff were helpful and went out of their way to assist. The lifts were very busy doe to private parties in function rooms.

Overall a great New year stay despite the price tag.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 3579sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 3579sally,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay at New Years 2013.

The Rydges hotel operates with a dynamic pricing system where room rates fluctuate based on demand. During New Years and other large events, Brisbane hotels are extremely busy and their prices change accordingly.

I am glad to see that you found the room spacious and enjoyable for the celebrations. Our riverview suites offer breath-taking views of the Brisbane Skyline, river and firework platforms which makes Rydges a go-to destination for big events.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed here for a week and found the location to be perfect for us! Just a walk across the bridge to the city centre but fabulous restaurants and cafes a few minutes walk away! Our room was fairly basic but very clean and neat and great sunblock curtains for those early Brissy morns!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Nikki C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

The hotel is located ideally in the Brisbane CBD district, close to many great restaurants, shops and entertainment areas.
I am glad that you found us to be both convenient and enjoyable during your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

I took my partner to Brisbane for his birthday in June, 2014 and we stayed at Rydges Southbank, Brisbane. We didn't dine at the Hotel but will do so the next time we stay. (Yes, we will be staying there again). It's close proximity to dozens of restaurants (La Via in Little Stanley Street in particular) was the reason I chose this Hotel. The staff were all immaculately dressed and well-spoken. The rooms were clean and fresh. As was the linen. I would HIGHLY recommend this Hotel.....Sandra McLean.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are LARGE and SUNNY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sandra M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate all feedback and I will pass on your kudos to the team.

The hotel has two great dining outlets, the Bacchus Restaurant located on our Podium level and the CBD Cafe located on our ground floor. I encourage you to sample both outlets during your next visit. Otherwise we are, as you correctly point out, close to many great local restaurants, boutique shops and entertainment areas only minutes from our front doors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

A six night stay while on business found me choosing Rydges because of the convenience of the nearby restaurants, taxi ranks, comfortable room, friendly staff and thoughtful service. I have recommended Rydges to friends and family for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Jenny S,

Thank you for providing feedback from your stay.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us, it is always great to have positive feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#50 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#25 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing