We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location + Comfort is a winner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #35 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Location + Comfort is a winner!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed 3 nights and very happy with the room and the fantastic location. Was upgraded to a higher floor upon requesting a quiet room so was very appreciative of the polite and responsive Reception staff. The room and bed were very comfortable, lovely side-on views of the river, and the little kitchenette very handy. The hotel is in a perfect location - an easy walk from South Brisbane station (direct from the airport) even with luggage; in the heart of South Bank with cultural venues and restaurants all around; and I even walked into the city. Or you could try the little ferries that ply the river. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may find rear lower floor rooms facing the train line a bit noisy - ask for a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear GemmaSydney,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct with an array of restaurants and cafes within walking distance and is the entertainment hub of Brisbane.

Thank you for your comments in relation to the room and its facilities. It is very pleasing to read that we were able to upgrade your room and accommodate your requests for a quite room during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    812
    328
    95
    55
See reviews for
352
581
97
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Hotel is well positioned to Southbank and the convention centre. Rooms are clean and well presented. Pool is located directly outside Bacchus restaurant...and I would say is more suited to an adult. Room service was good, generally a 30 - 45 minute wait. Staff were nice but not overly friendly, more of a business type welcome. Rooms have a balcony with opening slider door which is really nice for fresh air.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crick22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Crick22,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank, Brisbane.

The hotel is situated in a prime location within the South Bank area and is close to many excellent restaurants and entertainment providers, with the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre attached to the rear of the building.

Our Bacchus Bar and Pool area is trendy but also family friendly, with the pool being a popular destination on sunny days and for social events over the weekends.

It is disappointing to hear that the service you received was not to your expectations. Our staff work hard to make every stay special and strive to have every guest leave with positive experiences.

I hope that we can welcome you back so that we can provide the level of service we expect.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great spot for the South Bank. Room was simple but great. Could have been more generous with the shower gel etc. But impressed with the inclusion of a microwave which is a rare but brilliant addition to a hotel room. Corridors were shabby and felt like money spent everywhere but there in the hotel. However rooms and other spaces anything but. Great service and loved the free business centre and wifi in the foyer. Lovely pool area for lounging but don't expect to do any laps in the pool (I did. ...too small to bother). Nice area nonetheless. Enjoyed my stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brannigans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Brannigans,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Rydges South Bank, Brisbane.

The hotel is located in arguably the best location within the Brisbane CBD district. We have a multitude of dining and entertainment destinations only a few short minutes from our front doors which adds to the allure and style of the South Bank precinct.

I'm glad that you enjoyed our public spaces and the Pool Deck. Since we have completed renovations to these areas, we are now focusing on our guest rooms and suites.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is always clean. Extremely comfortable beds to sleep in. The prices are very reasonable, (considering I do have the membership), I like how it is close to everything. The staff always make me feel at home. It is also good to leave your car there, I have never had my car damaged and the valet service is always great! I can always have access to my car when I need something or they will genitive out for me. Would highly recommend it, especially for business people, as the rooms are small, but I always go for the cheapest option. The Buffett breakfast is good. There is a lot of variety in there breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Emily D,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ongoing loyalty to Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The Priority Guest Rewards membership is a great way to enjoy benefits pre, during and after your stay. It is pleasing to read that staff have recognised you as a regular guest in the hotel and made you feel at home.

Thank you for your comments in relation to the valet team, they work hard to provide a high level of service and are ultimately the face of the hotel engaging with most guests on both check in and check out.

The buffet breakfast is popular among our guests and it’s great to read you have been able to enjoy the large range of both hot and cold foods available.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Rydges for 3 nights. The room, overlooking the river, felt old and so was the bathroom, which still has a bathtub and no shower.
The service however was great. We had asked for better pillows and when the concierge found they had forgotten about them he personally went looking and brought us back 2 brand new pillows.
Also great was the limousine service, helpful and just the perfect way to get to the airport and around the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Paula B,

Thank you for your feedback surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

As the renovation of our Podium Level is complete, our attention will now draw to the rooms and their facilities.

Thank you for your comments in relation to the service you experienced in the hotel. The staff pride themselves on providing the highest level of customer service and it is pleasing to read that your stay was no exception.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I've stayed at Rydges hotels all around the country, although none could be considered bad, average is about the highest compliment you could give any. There is no uniformity between locations, basic services like internet vary in price and are fat too expensive everywhere and different sites seem to only participate in the Priority guest program as and when it suits them and none of them apply their food & beverage discounts unless you specifically ask.

So, all things said and done Rydges , no matter which location, can only be described as average!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AssetAssured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear AssetAssured,

Thank you for your feedback surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is disappointing to read that you consider the Rydges brand as average. As each hotel location is different, there will be a variation in prices for some things, however where possible we try to make these standard across the brand.

The Rydges Priority Programme is valid across most locations within the brand and is applied in line with the terms and conditions of the membership, the list of participating hotels can be found on the Priority Guest Rewards website. To have your food and beverage discounts applied, the card does need to be shown when ordering and only applies to the lunch and dinner menu and beverages when dining.

I hope this helps clarify things for you and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed here in February 2014 after my Virgin flight to Sydney was sent back to Brisbane, mid flight, due to an issue with the plane. That bit wasn't fun!!

Virgin put us up in the Rydges South Bank Brisbane for the night. The whole check in process was extremely efficient as they dealt with a coach load of about 40 + passengers in one go. It was all organised with a minimum of fuss, and a pleasant smile. They put on some extra staff and brought everyone waiting in line a bottle of cold water - which was a nice touch given the long wait at Brisbane Airport and the very humid evening.

The rooms were very well appointed - top quality linens, comfortable bed and all the usual stuff you come to expect in a business type hotel room.

The night I stayed at Rydges there was a noisy outdoor function for some network marketing crowd, and the lifts and general areas of the hotel were full of people. It eventually died down (quite late, I think), but I must have been tired as I don't remember too much else.

Check out next morning was 4am - so was quick and, again, efficient.

I hadn't thought of staying here previously. But, given its proximity to everything in Southbank, I'll give this a try the next time I'm in Brisbane on business and need to stay near the CBD.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear DJR88,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is very pleasing to read that although your stay at the hotel was due to a flight disruption that you were able to enjoy the time you had here.

Thank you for your comments in relation to the ease and efficiency of both the check in and checkout process despite the large amount of people. The hotel deals with situations like this on a regular basis and we pride ourselves on being able to provide the highest level of customer service even under pressure.

I hope that the rest of your plans went to schedule and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#118 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing