We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Felix(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$117
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
ibis Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
$147
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$127
$117
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$141
$135
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$70
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$65
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$124
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$91
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,246)
Filter reviews
2,246 results
Traveler rating
822
923
347
98
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
822
923
347
98
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth bankking suitebacchus restaurantcbd cafepodium levelthe rivergreat locationvalet parkingpool barconvention centerferris wheelroom serviceattending a conferencesouthbank parklandsvalet serviceart gallerybuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,502 - 1,507 of 2,246 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The check in was friendly, though we had to wait for the duty manager to make sure our room was ready. We were given a couple of complimentary drinks in the bar which was nice. The room good, the bathroom was nice enough but could've done with a drawer and we are not fussed with a shower over the bath. Didn't really understand why they would have a couple of chairs on the balcony but not a small table, we carried one of the bedside tables out so we could sit outside and have a drink and some nibblies. We really enjoyed the music from the event downstairs and the view of the fireworks was fantastic. The biggest problem is the smoking policy. We nearly had to go inside a few times due to other people smoking on their balconies. Very off putting for us especially since we had paid a premium price for NYE and the point of staying that night was to be out on the balcony watching the fireworks. This will probably stop us from staying there again. The location is great for South Bank and accessing the city. Lots of places to walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidJulie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear DavidJulie P,


Thank you for the feedback in relation to your NYE stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay, I would however like to apologise for the other guests not adhering to the hotel’s no smoking policy. It is disappointing to hear people have a complete disregard for other guests. It can at times be difficult to police however please contact the Manager on Duty who will be able to stop it immediately.

I am glad you enjoyed the music from the Podium Level and the cracking fireworks display Brisbane put on.

I do hope you will choose to stay again with us and I can have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed on 5th floor - way too noisy with party going on.... Was warned by friends this happened on their stay too - should have listened to them.
Hotel generally ok - bathroom in need of upgrade and no table on balcony .... Good location but a shame as we wouldn't stay again due to noisy party, which appears to be a regular complaint by guests. It's supposed to be a hotel but sounded more like a night club....

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilliana-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Gilliana-1

Thank you for the recent feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is disappointing to hear you have not enjoyed your stay due to the noise from a party. Please accept my apologies for the discomfort this caused.

The South Bank location is one of the best in Brisbane and we are very fortunate to be situated in the heart of it.

Once again please accept my apologies and I hope to welcome you back should you choose us again.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent NYE here. We had booked a room with a balcony over looking the river and the hotel invited us to inspect the room before finalising the booking. The booking process was smmoth and professional as are reception and concierge services.
If you do stay for NYE you have to bear in mind that the hotel premises hosts NYE parties and these do not wind up until after 1.00am.
One of these parties was beneath our room a few stories down. Closing the balcony doors only cuts half the noise. So if you are a light sleeper, this could be a problem.
It didn't worry us as we were there for an NYE experience and parties are to be expected.

The let down for me was level of decor and maintenance. The TV cabinet had dings in it and some paint marks. It looked like it had been purchased from an opp shop. The walls were quite scuffed in many places and could do with a lick of paint to re-freshen them. In the bathroom the grouting was tired, the bath seals were cracking and mouldy and there was a long black hair in the bath. Neither my partner or I have long black hair. The overflow drain in the floor had fluff in it, so when you walked around the bathroom with wet feet you left what looked like muddy footprints.

I would imagine that visitors to the G20 will be staying at this hotel, as it is close to the convention centre. I hope the rooms are cleaned up a bit before then. Otherwise, it will be a poor example of Australian hotel standards,

Room Tip: Rooms with river view and balcony are preferable to rooms at the back with the train line running past.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayBears69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear HolidayBears69,

Thank you for the recent review surrounding your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It was an excellent evening for NYE and the fireworks display was certainly cranked up a notch from previous years.

I appreciate your understanding in relation to the music from the events the hotel had on for the evening.

The Podium Level recently had a full refurbishment and with this now complete the attention will draw to the rooms in the near future.

Please accept my apologies for the housekeeping issues with the room. I have passed on your comments to the Executive Housekeeper personally.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed new years eve at Rydges Brisbane. Although we didn't attend either of the functions on it was a great central location for the fireworks, restaurants and entertainment. service excellent and room very comfortable. Would definitely stay again and recommend. Restaurant downstairs also served great food. A nice touch on the following morning was free water bottles available to all guests - very welcome in the hot weather.

Room Tip: we prepaid the valet parking which was good value for parking in Brisbane.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 642Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear 642Andy,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is situated perfectly in the heart of the South Bank Precinct and offers some of the best vantage points to enjoy the New Year’s Eve Festivities.

Thank you for your comments regarding the room and service you experienced, they are much appreciated. It is very pleasing to read you enjoyed your meal in the CBD Cafe and that staff were proactive in providing guests with complimentary water to combat the heat.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Last minute decision to stay at Rydges to get amongst the action for new years and we were not disappointed. The hotel was packed to capacity but the staff were friendly and very organised. We had 2 children with us so we were a little disappointed that the pool was out of action all day for a party..fair enough. We were told our room did not have a view of the fireworks display but was pleasantly surprised to find we could see most of it :) Dining in CBD was simple but very pleasant with the staff in the restaurant absolutely fantastic! We were also given a last minute late check out so we could take advantage of the facilities we couldn't use the day before. The only thing I would say is the size of the pool is very small so once you get a couple of families trying to use it at the same time it seems more like a spa. The room was clean a little dated but well looked after. I suggest rydges upgrade their lifts as they did not seem to cope with the capacity. The party on the pool deck for NYE was extremely popular and very loud, it didn't bother us too much, but would suggest if you are staying on NYE and aren't the crazy dance party type I would request a room away from the pool deck as it was VERY loud and went til 1am. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Jo-Anne D,


Thank you for your wonderful feedback surrounding your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

New Years Eve is one of the hotels busiest nights and the guaranteed view rooms are usually booked and paid months in advance. It is very pleasing to read that you were allocated one of the partial view rooms during your stay and were able to enjoy the fireworks from the balcony.

The pool was closed on New Year’s Eve due to the private function that was being hosted on the Podium Level, however as you mentioned reopened as usual on New Year’s Day. It’s great to read the front desk staff were able to offer you a late check out so that you were able to enjoy the facilities at your leisure.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the delays experienced with the lifts. Unfortunately there was a small issue with one of our lifts over the New Year period which was out of our control, resulting in slow operation. When possible we endeavoured to get people through the hotel as quickly as possible.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews