We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #34 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very comfortable beds”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights, excellent service. Rooms were properly cleaned and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable. Was upgraded to a suite with river views. Didn't get breakfast in the hotel as there were many nice breakfast places nearby which the hotel staff could recommend. Food was good too and location is great. Would stay again when back in brisbane.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Hazel S,

Thank you for the lovely comments surrounding your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is great to read we have been able to upgrade your room upon check in to a Deluxe King Suite. These rooms boast the Rydges Dream Bed which provides a blissful nights sleep for all.

Lt Stanley Street opposite the hotel offers a great selection of restaurants and cafes spoiling its visitors for choice.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Brisbane.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    838
    329
    96
    54
See reviews for
362
591
100
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I love this place, especially the location. We stayed in the King Suite which is a huge one bedroom apartment with kitchenette. Concierge staff are fabulous. There are dozens of really nice restaurants across the road and heaps of takeaway style food at south bank. Its about a 15 minute walk to the city and queen street mall, we did this with the children (5 & 6) and there was minimal complaining. South bank water park is brilliant you could spend many days here.

Room Tip: If you have small children ask for a low level room as the balcony railings seem to be low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippingQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear trippingQLD,

Thank you for the recent feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is fantastic to see you have enjoyed your time with us at the hotel and the great South Bank Precinct. Streets Beach is a perfect place for the kids and a must when visiting.

Thank you for the kind words relating to the Concierge Team, they are greatly appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Got this room on wotif
Rated as a 4 1/2 star hotel, first room we got to was small and pokey and dirty, electrical wire exposed on lamp and not working. I would rate this hotel as a 3 star
We got moved to a upgraded room......Only difference we had a balcony 2 chairs not table
Really I would not stay here again
Staff were very good though very polite
Week later and they are still holding my hotel deposit via Credit card, have emailed and no reply
Would not recommend this hotel at all and would not stay there again.
Shame because the QT Gold Coast is AMAZNG!
Breakfast extremely overpriced for in room service

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear mickykev,

Thank you for the recent comments in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It was disappointing to read your review, please accept my apologies for the initial room you were given being small, dirty and pokey. It was disappointing to see a clear maintenance issue has been missed with the lamp.

The length of time a credit card authorisation takes to release depends on the bank and from past experience can vary from 3 business days to 14 business days. If you contact the hotel Switch Board they can arrange for a fax to be sent to your bank requesting the funds to be released sooner.

Again please accept my apologies we did not meet your expectations.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here a mini break for the family to see the Christmas lights etc.
Valet parking was fantastic. We checked in early. Was given a room upgrade and late check out.
Room was clean and beds very comfy.
Superb view from the Balcony, on the 10th floor, it could have done with a table but other than that no complaints.
Buffet breakfast was really good. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Loved the seating in the bar around the pool area.
Valet park guy called Jacob was awesome he even managed to get us a phone charger as we forgot to pack ours.
Used the gym. Machines great :) It had a sauna and spa.
When we checked out at 1pm we could leave the car for an extra $10 for the rest of the day and evening. They even took our bags to the car. Fantastic hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again . Worth joining as a VIP before you stay.
Thanks Rydges :)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank momoinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Marie F,

Thank you for the wonderful review surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It was extremely pleasing to read the comments relating to the staff at the hotel and in particular Jacob in Concierge. I am aware many of the staff read the reviews posted on Trip Advisor but will ensure all staff are advised of your kind words.

The rooms on the upper levels of the hotel really offer stunning views of the Brisbane River and City and it is great to see we could upgrade you upon check in.

The full buffet breakfast available at Bacchus serves up a great selection of hot and cold treats on a daily basis, a perfect way to kick start any day.

I look forward to personally welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2013

we stayed in 2 interconnecting rooms, 1 room a king suite the other a twin suite, check in time was 2pm, we got the key to the twin suite at 2pm our king suite was not ready after a LOT of chasing up the staff we finally got our key at 4PM!!!! and then the interconnecting doors were still locked and we had to go and chase that up!!! the rooms are very dated, the hairdryer in the twin room did not work and the fridge was not cold. the bathrooms in both of the rooms were very, very small!!! the rooms are overpriced for a hotel that has not been maintained and kept up-to-date, very disappointed with our stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Karen R,

Thank you for the comments in relation to your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I would like to start by apologising for the issues mentioned in your review on Trip Advisor and the Hotel Comment Card.

I have emailed you directly, should you have any further questions please contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Rydges for three nights. The staff, from reception, to the cleaner, to the valet attendant, to the staff in the bar were friendly and efficient. The hotel was conveniently next to the Convention centre where our event was being held. Our room was serviced each day was clean and tidy. The shower over the bath was dated but the actual shower itself had great pressure and was more than sufficient. We ate in two different restaurants within the surrounding precinct. The meals were lovely but most of the restaurants are pricey, so be warned. The area around the hotel invites slow strolls through gardens towards the river. The tourist wheel is nearby to the hotel and gardens. Would highly recommend a stay in his hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Linda H,

Thank you for the positive feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Your comments regarding the staff in all departments is greatly appreciated and will be passed on directly.

I am pleased to read you have enjoyed the South Bank Precinct and its vast offerings. Whether it is for a for a nice meal, short stroll or a ride on the Wheels South Bank really caters for all its visitors.

I appreciate any future recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

A friend and I met up here and stayed for one night for a business getaway from our kids. We had a tab up at Bacchus Bar. We paid for this at the end of the night and on checking out the receptionist told us we had a room charge outstanding for Bacchus. We informed we didn’t and she needed to confirm that with the bar. She was rude and told us we had to pay it now and we informed her it had been and that she is to check that we are correct. 2 hours later after I arrived home and contacted Rydges to make sure they had confirmed it and that I had a receipt number for them, I was informed they had gone ahead and charged us the amount again without speaking to the bar and only after my phone call have realised their mistake. Pretty poor if you ask me. Accusing us of not paying a bill in front of other customers is disgusting but then to recharge us for a bill we had already paid is unacceptable. I wonder how many people they do this too.
The room service meal was also cold.
We received our welcome drinks ticket after 8pm that night when we had already left so were unable to use it before the expiry date (very smart Rydges)
On the up side Bacchus is a beautiful bar which I would visit again and the hotel is a nice walking distance to restaurants and markets.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear NadiJane,

Thank you for the recent feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It was disheartening to read the comments in your review regarding the incident with the bar bill.
Please accept my apologies for this, we have policies and procedures in places for dealing with situations should they arise. I am surprised and disappointed at the response you received from the reception on the morning of the check out. I will ensure all staff read the comments you have made and take them on board.

The Priority Guest welcome drinks should be issued upon arrival, I can fully understand your frustration and apologise for this.

I am pleased to see you have enjoyed your time up at Bacchus and hope to see you up there again in the near future.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#20 of 159 in Brisbane
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 159 in Brisbane
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#53 of 159 in Brisbane
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 159 in Brisbane
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 159 in Brisbane
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing