We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated if you need to go to the convention centre, QPAC or want to experience South bank. It is also a short 10 minute walk across the bridge to the city. Some rooms have fantastic views of the the Big Wheel, the City and the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river sidw with a balcony. They may be dearer but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Des D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Des D,

Thank you for positive feedback surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located centrally in the heart of the South Bank Precinct and is the perfect base for people wanting to explore the Brisbane area without being caught up in the hustle and bustle of the city.

The hotel’s Deluxe River View rooms offer breathtaking views of South Bank and the surrounding Brisbane City and are a popular choice with many of our guest.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    784
    324
    94
    54
See reviews for
340
556
94
685
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Located just back from the banks of the Brisbane River, opposite the main entertainment precinct, this hotel has everything close by that you could wish for. Theatres, museum, galleries, dining, leisure activities and city shopping across the river. The room was very large and well appointed, with its own kitchenette, desk and proper office chair, free Wifi and comprehensive minibar. Valet parking was on offer and the staff were friendly, helpful and obliging whenever we ventured into the reception area. Downside, lots of people had arrived at had arrived at the same time which meant lining up and waiting for almost an hour to get to the desk. There had been a fire alarm which caused problems with parking on the forecourt and which added to the waiting time and extra people in the reception area. We had only just arrived into our room when the fire alarm went off again but no-one seemed to take it seriously. We were not impressed to be told by a staff member that generally alarms are ignored as they usually prove to be false. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: A room on the western side is very quiet. Downside is that it can be very hot if the curtains are le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Elizabeth D,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel in conveniently located in the South Bank Precinct with an array of restaurants and cafes and is the arts and entertainment hub of Brisbane.

Please accept my apology for the delay encountered on check in, unfortunately Sunday mornings in hotels can be quite busy and the day you have mentioned saw a large amount of early arrivals resulting in an extended wait time. It is pleasing to read however once in the room you were able to enjoy the facilities.

It is very disappointing to read your comments regarding the response you received when the fire alarm sounded. The fire alarm is in place as a life saving device and under no circumstances would it not be regarded as a serious matter.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed a few times now and will be going back. The staff are wonderful, the rooms are clean, the food is great and the location is central .....
Our boys (11 & 14), loooove the place - the staff always include them in little friendly conversations (the valet staff). Walk out the front door and everything is right there. Thumbs up!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FeeU68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Feeudy,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and ongoing loyalty to Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct making it a perfect base when travelling in Brisbane. Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms and staff, they are much appreciated.

It is great to read that your boys have not missed out on any of the fun, the valet team are an asset to the hotel with each and every one of them always going above and beyond with all guests no matter how young or old.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise. One night stay and 5 minutes walk to the Lyric theatre. Reasonable price, river view with large balcony. Spotlessly clean with comfortable bed. Maybe a little dated in decor but the service from the valet parking to the reception at check in and the wait staff at breakfast and room service was as good as we have experienced. The breakfast was good and the Wagyu burgers from the room service menu were fabulous.Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Front room with balcony and river view.Valet parking worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Ian C,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is located perfectly in the heart of the South Bank Precinct, with QPAC only a short walk down the street and it is pleasing to read that this suited your plans while in the area.

The hotel’s Deluxe River view rooms offer breathtaking views of both the river and city and it is great to read that you were able to enjoy this throughout your stay.

The hotel aims to provide a high level of customer service to all our guests and I appreciate your comments regarding the staff across all departments of the hotel. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the room service menu, it has just recently changed so it is great to hear some positive comments.

I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had a conference at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition centre and the hotel is literally a staircase away from the BCEC doors (via Level P). However, for a very basic twin room on the first floor, with no nice view and terrible road noise if the door was open, over $300 a night was waaaay too much to pay. The shower tap was broken, the bathroom light which was hanging out was covered in (literally) inch-thick dust, the furniture and fittings including old shower curtain haven't been updated in a decade or two by the looks of it. Every time I tried to ring reception there was an extremely long wait for someone to answer. A couple of times I just gave up. Also, the queue to check out was ridiculous so I ended up ringing through. I think next time I would try the much-newer Mantra next door for a little extra.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Dannstar,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the oversights in your room. The Housekeeping team work hard to ensure every room is presented at a high level, so it is disappointing to read that this was not the case in your room. As the renovations of the new Podium Level are complete, our attention will now draw to the rooms and their facilities.

It was disappointing to read that you had experienced difficulties contacting reception throughout the stay. Check outs within hotels can often become busy during peak times, in a bid to streamline the process we offer an express check out service for guests in a rush.

The hotel has a convenient direct access to the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, making it the perfect location for conference attendees and I am pleased to read you were able to enjoy the convenience throughout your stay.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

On arrival till the time we left i cannot fault the excellant customer service friendly efficient and attentive well done, we were booked in withno fuss and were even given an upgrade which was a nice touch , we had breakfast in the foyer but thought not much of a choice of menu and the bacon was burnt andcoffee luke warm also just a observation when coming out of dining room the floor slopes away slightly and with very dark carpet for a sight impaired persons this could be a hazard only other complaint was that when we booked in at 11am there were dishes in the hallway from breakfast and when we went for dinner that night there were dinner dishes in the hallway from meals the disgusting thing is those same dishes were still there when we booked out the next morning as i took note as what was there and they had not been touched bit of a hygiene issue put me off a bit considring what we paid for our room would have expected a higher standard . Room ok but not much of a view have had better for price so for location and service fantastic but look around plenty to offer in this area

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear donna d,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Thank you for your comments regarding the level of service experienced during your stay. The team prides themselves on providing a high level of customer service to all guests so it is great to read that this is being recognised. It is also pleasing to read that you were able to enjoy a room upgrade for your stay.

The hotel has three dining options for breakfast, the Buffet Breakfast on Level P, Room Service as well as the CBD Café on the Ground Floor. It is disappointing to read that the CBD menu did not meet your expectations and that the quality of your meal was not up to standard. Thank you also for your comments regarding the potential hazard in the entry/exit to the restaurant, I will be sure to follow this up with our maintenance team.

I apologise for the lack of attention to detail regarding the room service trays in the hall during your stay, I will follow this up with the Restaurant Manager immediately.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Couldn't have a better place to stay for a work function at the Brisbane Convention Centre. The room was spacious and had a nice city view. Service was excellent, some works were being done on the front entrance, but access wasn't a problem. It is well situated close to everything.

The buffet breakfast was the best I have ever seen, with such a great variety of pastries, cereals, hot dishes, fruits, yogurts and toasts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear wkierle,

Thank you for the positive feedback in relation to your recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It was excellent to read you have enjoyed the variety at breakfast and both the space and view with your room.

The South Bank Precinct is a great place to be situated with a wide selection of restaurants, activities and entertainment all at our door step. It was pleasing to see you have enjoyed the hotels convenient access Brisbane Convention Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#50 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.5 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#25 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing