We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, expensive, but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #37 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old, expensive, but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had a conference at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition centre and the hotel is literally a staircase away from the BCEC doors (via Level P). However, for a very basic twin room on the first floor, with no nice view and terrible road noise if the door was open, over $300 a night was waaaay too much to pay. The shower tap was broken, the bathroom light which was hanging out was covered in (literally) inch-thick dust, the furniture and fittings including old shower curtain haven't been updated in a decade or two by the looks of it. Every time I tried to ring reception there was an extremely long wait for someone to answer. A couple of times I just gave up. Also, the queue to check out was ridiculous so I ended up ringing through. I think next time I would try the much-newer Mantra next door for a little extra.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Dannstar,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the oversights in your room. The Housekeeping team work hard to ensure every room is presented at a high level, so it is disappointing to read that this was not the case in your room. As the renovations of the new Podium Level are complete, our attention will now draw to the rooms and their facilities.

It was disappointing to read that you had experienced difficulties contacting reception throughout the stay. Check outs within hotels can often become busy during peak times, in a bid to streamline the process we offer an express check out service for guests in a rush.

The hotel has a convenient direct access to the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, making it the perfect location for conference attendees and I am pleased to read you were able to enjoy the convenience throughout your stay.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    797
    325
    94
    55
See reviews for
346
566
95
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

On arrival till the time we left i cannot fault the excellant customer service friendly efficient and attentive well done, we were booked in withno fuss and were even given an upgrade which was a nice touch , we had breakfast in the foyer but thought not much of a choice of menu and the bacon was burnt andcoffee luke warm also just a observation when coming out of dining room the floor slopes away slightly and with very dark carpet for a sight impaired persons this could be a hazard only other complaint was that when we booked in at 11am there were dishes in the hallway from breakfast and when we went for dinner that night there were dinner dishes in the hallway from meals the disgusting thing is those same dishes were still there when we booked out the next morning as i took note as what was there and they had not been touched bit of a hygiene issue put me off a bit considring what we paid for our room would have expected a higher standard . Room ok but not much of a view have had better for price so for location and service fantastic but look around plenty to offer in this area

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear donna d,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Thank you for your comments regarding the level of service experienced during your stay. The team prides themselves on providing a high level of customer service to all guests so it is great to read that this is being recognised. It is also pleasing to read that you were able to enjoy a room upgrade for your stay.

The hotel has three dining options for breakfast, the Buffet Breakfast on Level P, Room Service as well as the CBD Café on the Ground Floor. It is disappointing to read that the CBD menu did not meet your expectations and that the quality of your meal was not up to standard. Thank you also for your comments regarding the potential hazard in the entry/exit to the restaurant, I will be sure to follow this up with our maintenance team.

I apologise for the lack of attention to detail regarding the room service trays in the hall during your stay, I will follow this up with the Restaurant Manager immediately.

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Couldn't have a better place to stay for a work function at the Brisbane Convention Centre. The room was spacious and had a nice city view. Service was excellent, some works were being done on the front entrance, but access wasn't a problem. It is well situated close to everything.

The buffet breakfast was the best I have ever seen, with such a great variety of pastries, cereals, hot dishes, fruits, yogurts and toasts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear wkierle,

Thank you for the positive feedback in relation to your recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It was excellent to read you have enjoyed the variety at breakfast and both the space and view with your room.

The South Bank Precinct is a great place to be situated with a wide selection of restaurants, activities and entertainment all at our door step. It was pleasing to see you have enjoyed the hotels convenient access Brisbane Convention Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Spent 3 nights here for a conference in the convention centre next door (accessible only via poorly signposted 3 flights of stairs, no lift). Was given a noisy room on 1st floor ovelooking the roof of the bar below, and was assured at check-in that it was a deluxe queen. Old fashioned bathroom - cold water tap over sink fell apart when first used, no plug for sink. However worst feature was the large number of cigarette butts (>200 I would guess) on the roof just over the low balcony railing, plus soft drink bottles and other rubbish, despite signs everywhere stating Rydges is a non-smokinh hotel. Could have easily been swept/ vacuumed up in 5 minutes. Also room telephone would not work until I untangled several cords and disconnected the nearby modem. TV remote impossibly slow to change channels, AM radio didn't work. Breakfast buffet fairly ordinary and overpriced. Overall, really not worth the (supposedly discounted) cost compared to other hotels in Brisbane. I frequently travel and have stayed at various hotels in every capital city in Australia and this would be the worst ever in my experience.

Room Tip: Not room 116!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear JBDownunder,

It was extremely disappointing to read your recent review surrounding your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I have checked your reservation and the room type booked, and can confirm that you had booked a Superior Queen and received this room type. I apologise if this had been incorrectly communicated to you.

What is most concerning is your comments relating to the roof outside from your balcony, this is completely unacceptable and has been dealt with directly, please accept my sincere apologies.
Rydges South Bank is a non smoking hotel but unfortunately it appears restrictions are not adhered to.

The maintenance in your particular room appears to be lacking, the issues have been recorded and our maintenance team are resolving them.

I appreciate the feedback as there is certainly issues that can be improved on. I hope that if you did choose us to stay with again I can personally welcome you for a more positive stay.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My two daughters and I stayed at Rydges for 1 night when we went to see "Grease the Musical". Room was basic, but we weren't planning on spending all our time in the room anyway. Bathroom had what we needed, hot water, flushing toilet, bath and shower. All staff treated us with kindness and respect and reception staff were quick and efficient. CBD menu was a little disappointing, but that was only my taste. View from our room at night was breathtaking, lights from the city and southbank were just amazing. Will stay again, I can't wait to take my husband. Thank you for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Floor 7 on the city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pswerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear pswerner'

Thank you for the recent feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is excellent to read you have enjoyed the view from your room of the South Bank Precinct and the City Lights of Brisbane. Please accept my apology the CBD menu was not to your liking.

I look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moree, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The facilities and services were the best I have experienced. The valet parking was a bonus. Location was superb and within walking distance to all activities experienced.
I will recommend to friends and family and will definitely stay again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Shannon M,

Thank you for the excellent feedback in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The South Bank Precinct is a fantastic part of Brisbane and has so much to offer its visitors, we are very fortunate to located in the heart of it.

Thank you for your comments regarding the facilities and services at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and appreciate any recommendations to your friends.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The location of Rydges can't be faulted whether you are seeing the sites of Brisbane or are attending the conference centre. The hotel adjoins the conference centre making it very convenient, and just across the street are the cafes, bars, shops etc of South bank.

We had a suite overlooking the river which gave fantastic views. Room was a bit stark and basic for the price, although perfectly adequate. You get a microwave and kitchenette, but there are strangely no knives, forks or spoons (other than teaspoons). Only 6 hangars in the closet - not nearly enough ofr 2 people staying 5 nights. Room service bought us some more with out any trouble.

Internet wifi (free) was patchy and didn't work at times. Don't bother with the cable, because although the info says you can plug it in to use the internet, you can't. It's been decommissioned.

The bar and pool are beautiful for a drink.

Restaurant buffet breakfast was disappointing. A fairly meagre selection of fruits and cereals with very tiny protions and most things in small containers, e.g. orange juice in tiny bottles. Makes it a juggling act to carry everything back to your table.

The downstairs bar serves reasonable pub grub - I had a freshly cooked pizza which was fair value.

Negatives - the hotel is a bit soulless and noisy from the street and bar at night on the river side. Suspect that the opposite aspect (i.e. away from the river may be much quiter).

Staff - mostly OK, very nice cleaning lady (saw her in another room carefully cleaning the inside of the drawers which I though was impressive), good valet parking service, some of the reception staff a bit young and clueless.

Room Tip: River side for views, but some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
The hotel is located in the heart of the South Bank Precinct, making it a good base for both business and leisure travellers alike.

The king suites area great option for an extended stay with the separate living dining area providing more space to work or relax. I apologise that some amenities were missing from the room, it is great to read however that the room service team rectified the problem hastily. The hotel has changed to an all Wi-FI system, so I will make sure the information regarding use of a cable is removed from the rooms.

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy the buffet breakfast. Had there been something extra you required, the restaurant staff are always there to help when needed. Thank you for your positive comments regarding both the other dining outlets.

The hotel endeavours to provide a high level of customer service across all departments and it is pleasing to read that most staff you encountered were friendly and helpful. Your feedback relating to the front desk staff will be followed up without delay .

I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#107 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#8 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing