We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Oaks Casino Towers(Brisbane)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Sapphire Resort(Brisbane)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,242)
Filter reviews
2,242 results
Traveler rating
820
922
346
98
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
922
346
98
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth bankking suitebacchus restaurantcbd cafepodium levelthe rivergreat locationvalet parkingpool barconvention centerferris wheelroom serviceattending a conferencesouthbank parklandsvalet serviceart gallerybuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,618 - 1,623 of 2,242 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Recently stayed as Rydges Southbank, whatever you do don't stay on a Saturday night as the Bacchus Bar on the lower level of the hotel has music blaring until the early hours of the morning. Reception advised the music would stop at around 11.30pm, but that was not the case the music continued well into the early morning, I finally feel asleep around 1.00am. Advise reception the next day and they kindly moved us to a different room and we were advise that the music is suppose to stop at 11.00pm (NOT THE CASE THIS TIME). Reception staff very helpful and friendly, bed very comfortable, rooms a bit run down and in need of a makeover. Would think again about staying.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Martina A,

Thank you for the recent feedback in relation to your stay with us here at the Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is disappointing to hear your stay was largely affected by the music from the Bacchus Restaurant & Bar, generally music will cease at midnight, however please accept my apology if it continued on until later. It is excellent to read the team were able to move you to a new room for the remainder of your stay.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our reception team they are much appreciated and will be passed on directly.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

stayed here with my family of 3 boys plus my wife. The location was great for a graduation from QUT and the hotel is ok but nothing special. Bathrooms are small, the rooms are tired and dont be late because the elevators are horrible. The GYM is nothing special. Bed's are great !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Brianfromboston60745,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Rydges South Bank.

The hotel is located very conveniently and it was great you were able to take advantage of this during your stay.

It is disappointing to hear you didn’t feel the hotel was up to standard. Since our renovations of our new podium level are complete, our attention will now draw to other aspects of the hotel including the rooms and bathrooms.

I am glad you were able to enjoy the Rydges Dream Beds, they really are divine!

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a business function at a South Bank and Rydges is extremely convenient. Only stayed because I managed to pick up a discounted corporate rate. Rack rate is simply to expensive.

Quantity spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tannaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe L, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Tannaby,

Thank you for your feedback surrounding your stay at Rydges South Bank.

It is great you were able to enjoy the convenient location of the hotel and all it has to offer.

If you are looking to stay again in the future, I recommended joining our loyalty program Rydges Priority Guest Rewards which offers room discounts starting from 10% as well as special rate promotions.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Zoe Lewis
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a nice place to stay and it is very central to all places at Southbank. You can easily get to Southbank for a stroll and have a swim in the hugh pool. There are lots of restaurants close by as well. The rooms are very spacious and depending on the level a great view both in the evening and morning over the city of Brisbane. The rooms aren't too noisy and the staff are great. Overall our stay was very pleasant.
For those who don't use the sauna don't read the following.
The only problem is the spa and sauna area there are no lockers to put your valuables in while you use the sauna. There is no timer or temperature gauge in the sauna so you don't know how long you have been there or how hot it is. Your watches shoudn't go with you unless waterproof. All your gear gets hot and wet especially when you go in for a shower as there are no secure lockers. I hope they fix it up for our next visit. I know that not all of us use the saunas but they should be correctly fitted out if you have one.

Room Tip: If you go to the sauna don't take any valuables with you like watches, phones or credit cards as there is no where to put them in lockers. Also the sauna has no internal timer (like an old fashion egg timer) and no temperature gauge.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear olie293,

Thank you for your comments and subsequent feedback in relation to your stay here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I appreciate the fact you were able to enjoy your stay at the hotel, we have a real focus on ensuring the utmost guest satisfaction.

I can understand the frustration with your personal belongings in the spa/sauna area. This is something we can look at integrating in the near future.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here on 28/6/13 for one night. Great spot. Walked to Southbank for Friday night markets. Lots of restaurants and wine bars to choose from. Room was good. Parking, I thought, was expensive for one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Faith01,

Thank you for the feedback in relation to your stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

We are very fortunate to be located in the South Bank Precinct for the all the reason mentioned in your review.

It is pleasing to read you have enjoyed your room at the hotel. The cost of valet parking can be reduced by $10 if pre booked at the time of making the reservation.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews