We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area and really nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #34 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Kleppe, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful area and really nice hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent with short way to all the restaurants at South Bank, beautiful esplanade and a lot of museums in the neighbourhood. We had a room with balcony and wonderful view to city center. Delicious breakfast. Very helpful staff at reception og consierge. Would very much like to stay there again, but rather pricy.

Room Tip: If you can afford it - book a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marithbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear marithbk,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I couldn't agree more with your comments in relation to the location of the hotel. Everywhere you look, you are surrounded by restaurants and the influence of the cultural precinct.

The Deluxe Queen rooms offer an amazing outlook over the Brisbane River & City and are definitely worth that little bit of extra money.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    838
    329
    96
    54
See reviews for
362
591
100
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

When first arriving at Rydges our car was taken via valet parking, a great service provided. We then went to check in at 3:30pm an hour and a half after official check in and our rooms were not ready. We did recieve complimentary drinks in the bar but was still a little annoyed. The rooms were a great size but the lighting in the room was terrible on one side of the room as there are no down lights. Understand that this is for atmosphere but you should be able to have the option of turning them on if needed. The shower in one of our rooms was broken and therefore had to hold the nozzle while showering, too late at night to even think about getting it fixed. The rest of the stay was fine until we went to check out and was hit with a $35.00 charge per car per night for valet parking. There was no information given about the price of the valet at check in and if there was we would have considered not bringing a car and catching public transport. This was ridiculous that we had to pay this when the 2 rooms cost up to $500.00 a night. NOT HAPPY!!! Communicatio is key Rydges.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TegS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear TegS_13,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

My apologies that your room wasn't available upon check-in, however it is excellent to see that we were able to accommodate you in one of the hotel bar's until this became available.

Disappointing to read that your stay and this review was so heavily influenced by the price of the Valet Parking. We do our very best to communicate this with all guests, with two dedicated signs at the front of the hotel, information on our website and also it is communicated on the valet slip that the Concierge team give you upon receipt of your car being dropped off.

I do hope I have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights and 3 days at rydges hotel southbank.

great central city location with close proximity to all that the city has to offer.

exceptional customer service and the valet parking service is by far the best I have ever experienced.

clean spacious apartment which was serviced daily with excellent city and river views from the balcony.

rydges is a sophisticated hotel with an ambient vibe.

will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missm_ami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear missm_ami,

Thank you for your expressing your wonderful comments in relation to your stay here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is a pleasure to read that you were able to experience all facets of the hotel and the staff here were able to make your experience a unique one!

I will most definitely pass on your comments to the team to express your sincere gratitude.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Located right next to the Brisbane Convention and Exibition Centre, the Hotel is very convenient to access and to tour around the Brisbane city. The service they provided is also great. The only thing I feel not good is that it's a little bit too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinaLee-QD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We often stay here with our young family simply because it is the best placed hotel area that represents really good value. The service is always very professional and I have no hesitations in recommending it to others. The restaurant has recently received a huge facelift and is just beautiful... If you can manage to book a breakfast in with your stay, the buffet breakfast at Bacchus is seriously very good value. It must be said the rooms are starting to look and feel a bit tired. The beds are lovely, but the rest needs a revamping session! Also, there isn't a kids club or activity centre for them..maybe the hotel could consider this for the future. Either way, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlyfries76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear curlyfries76,

Thank you for the ongoing loyalty and the excellent feedback surrounding your recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The transformation of the Podium Level has been warmly received. Bacchus Restaurant present a lovely setting for the Buffet Breakfast each and it is pleasing to see you have been able to enjoy it to the fullest.

I appreciate your comments in relation to the rooms and since our renovation of the Podium Level is now complete our attention will draw to the rooms.

I do hope to have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Would not recommend. Room noisy, appliances didn't work; staff unhelpful about fixing non-working appliances; electrical points not work and hanging loose from wall very dangerous. Bed very hard. Breakfast very expensive by comparison with other similar hotels in brisbane.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - if there are any !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255068Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear 255068anonymous,

Thank you for the recent review of the Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is disappointing to read you have not enjoyed any aspect of your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the issues mentioned with the appliances, it is however unusual to read our staff were not willing to assist when reported.

Thank you again for the feedback.
Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was going to rate 2 (poor) because the room interior is rather basic and facilities such as TV, lighting, and bathroom are all out of date, I called maintenance/service every day of my three night stay. The room rate was also too high and incompatible to the physical facility, plus a high charge for wifi.. However, I am overcome by the excellent service and attitudes throughout my stay. I was also lucky to get a room that was away from the elevator and apparently with quiet guests in adjacnt rooms, so I did not experience the noise problem written by other reviewers. Plus the location was super convenient for me attending a conference in the convention center. I think the property should receive a 2, but my experiece could be rated a 4 thanks to the front desk staff and the attendant at the bar who delivered a pizza to me at the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear C C,

Thank you for the review in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.
It is disappointing to read that your stay has been affected by the maintenance issues within your room. Please accept my apologies for this.

The hotel has recently completed a full refurbishment of our Podium Level introducing 5 new state of the art function spaces, Bacchus Restaurant & Bar and the addition of a swimming pool. Our attention for the coming year will now move to the rooms and bathrooms in the hotel and will hopefully address the issues mentioned.

What is extremely pleasing to read are your comments surrounding our staff as we pride them on delivering exceptional service.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#20 of 159 in Brisbane
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 159 in Brisbane
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#53 of 159 in Brisbane
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 159 in Brisbane
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 159 in Brisbane
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing