We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Massive Rooms”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Only staying one night but when checking in got an upgrade to a room with a kitchenet and 2 king beds. The room was massive. Lobby was very modern, but hotel corridors were a little dated. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, contained most of the mod cons. Hotel is located in a great location in South Bank with restaurants and bars outside the front door. City is a 15 mins walk away across either of the bridges.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear simm0_7,

Thank you for your feedback surrounding your recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I am happy to read you have found your room to be large and to cater for all your needs. We are fortunate to be located in the heart of the hustle and bustle that the South Bank Precinct offers with a large selection of restaurants, activities and entertainment at our doorstep.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    849
    332
    96
    55
See reviews for
364
597
100
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I live in Los Angeles but travel to Queensland almost every month for business. I've been making this trip for 25 years and have stayed at dozens of hotels and serviced apartments in Brisbane. Hands down, the best in Brisbane in my experience is the Rydges Southbank. Great location and a very well maintained hotel. But what sets them apart are the people. From the front desk to the concierge to the restaurant staff at the CBD cafe and the new, and possibly best restaurant in Brisbane, Bacchus, everyone on the staff makes being away from home that much easier. Rydges Southbank is my home away from home.
Tim R

Room Tip: best rooms are on higher floors facing the CBD - fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear trstar,

Thank you for the ongoing loyalty to the Rydges South Bank Brisbane and the excellent feedback in relation to your many stays.

It is pleasing to read you treat the Rydges South Bank as your “home away from home” as we could not ask for anymore. You have become a familiar face around the hotel and even supplying us with some delightful little pastries on occasions!.

Thank you again for the kind words in relation to our staff and newly opened Bacchus Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recently planned a night away for my wife's Birthday. We booked the Deluxe King Suite and the room had the most incredible views of the River and City. Check in was no problem, quick and easy and the staff were professional and friendly. Shortly after arriving in our room we had a knock on the door and a big plate of chocolate dipped strawberries were delivered!! We had dinner at Bacchus and WOW, it was AMAZING!

Overall we had a fantastic night and the staff made my wife's Birthday extra special.

I don't often write reviews but our night was so good I wanted to share :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robnlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear robnlex,

Thank you for your wonderful review and comments surrounding your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It was excellent to read that you found the hotel both friendly and professional, whilst being able to help celebrate your wife's birthday.

Bacchus Restaurant is unique in both ambiance and service, and it gives me great pleasure to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy this experience on such a special occasion.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here after a wedding. Great location, rooms were nice however we left disappointed due to the cafe in the hotel called cbd. We went down for a morning coffee/tea and waited about 15 mins to receive our drinks, which was fine as they were busy. When our drinks came mine had no milk and the rim of my husbands cup was covered in lipstick. He requested another one, so we waited again, the staff looked embarrassed but not apologetic. Overall soured our experience. Would stay again but not eat there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennyk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Pennyk87,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is disappointing to read that your overall stay was so heavily impacted by your experience in the CBD Cafe.

Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the issues raised, as this lackadaisical attitude is not a true representation of the service in which the hotel prides itself.

I do hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Such a comfortable stay, new beds, decor all refreshed , room service was excellent, love that you can order breakfast when you wake up and you can order individual dishes, I asked for a room with a view and was given a room with a fabulous view , the staff were so friendly and kind , ESP the valet parking and reception and room service. Very clean, great position, the priority rewards card is well worth getting gives you quite a few discounts Access to the convention centre could be easier those steps are a killer , very steep, pity there was no lift access , I want to take the bed home with me it's so fabulous !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view as the view is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Toni H,

Thank you for your fabulous feedback in relation to your recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

As you have mentioned the beds within the hotel are new and they have been providing a blissful nights sleep for all. If you were interested, you can go onto the Rydges website where you are able to purchase one of these beds.

It is extremely pleasing to read your kind words regarding our staff, they are much appreciated and will be passed on.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izegem, België
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

nice hotel, excellent breakfast. Rooms are clean and staff is friendly.
Valet parking is expensive but all other car parks in Brisbane are also expensive.
Its location on the south bank is ideal. many different restaurants and bars.
Brisbane city center is 10 min walk, but during this walk you will have a nice view of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear toke 123,

Thank you for the excellent comments in relation to your recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is great to see you have enjoyed your experience at the buffet breakfast in Bacchus which provides a fantastic selection of hot and cold items. It’s pleasing to read you have found the hotel staff to be friendly.

Like most inner cities, parking prices are high, however we are extremely competitive compared to others over the river.

The South Bank Precinct provides a great selection of entertainment, activities and restaurants and we are very fortunate to be in the heart of it.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I love this hotel as you can see from my previous review but unfortunately the love affair has gone wrong. The new Bacchus bar and restaurant is now in full swing at Rydges and this is the problem. Bacchus has entertainment around it's poolside deck with the theme of Ibiza comlete with guest DJ and thumping and I mean unit thumping doof doof music. The PAYING Hotel guests situated on the lower floors have no escape from a night in Ibiza which I find an insult. It seems to me Management is more concerned with providing a hip place to mingle for locals than considering guests. I managed to take it until 9.45pm and was told it would continue until 11pm and more or less suck it up. I love a party like anyone but doof doof vibrating through not just mine but other guests rooms does not work. I am not the first to complain about this problem and I guess would not be the last. Everything else about this hotel is great so this really saddens me, I feel cheated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear nettybrisbane,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is very disappointing to read that we weren't able to replicate your previous stay with the positive experiences that you wrote about in your initial review.

My sincerest apologies that the music and noise level effected your stay so greatly, however this was not the intention of the hotel.

I do hope I have the opportunity of welcoming you back, as this occurrence, as you have experienced and confirmed in a previous review, is a one off event for the hotel.

Kind Regards


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#20 of 160 in Brisbane
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 160 in Brisbane
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#109 of 160 in Brisbane
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#54 of 160 in Brisbane
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#50 of 160 in Brisbane
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing