We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel rocks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #37 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

When I read the reviews in order to help me choose a hotel in Brisbane, I was impressed how all of them mentioned the courteous and outstanding service they had experienced at the Rydges South Bank Brisbane hotel. With this recommendation I chose the Rydges and was not disappointed. I asked for an upgrade and was given a room with a lovely view of the river banked by Brisbane's downtown buildings. Throughout my stay, the staff responded curteously and efficiently with any need that came up. To add to this the location of the hotel could not be beat! A short walk away lays an art museum, the pier for day-cruise trips, and interesting markets just across the river. I look forward to staying at the Rydges South Bank Brisbane again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view: The spacious window framed a Ferris wheel, the skyline of Brisbane, and the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75SusanF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear 75SusanF,

Thank you for your wonderful comments surrounding your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I love the enthusiasm in the title, along with your kind words in relation to how we exceeded your expectations with our guest service and location.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,593 - 1,599 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Rydges Hotel in South Bank for 3 nights in April. The hotel is located around 25min from the airport via taxi. The hotel is in a fantastic location for both business and pleasure being connected to the convention centre and across the road from the South Bank Brisbane foreshore.
My check-in/check-out was easy with a very helpful staff member behind the counter. The staff in general were always helpful and friendly with a smile on their face.
I stayed in a Queen room which was spacious with a queen bed, ensuite with a shower over the bath. The room also included a little kitchen bench with sink, kettle, microwave and mini fridge. The room itself was stylishly decorated and clean with the most amazing bed and pillows.
I regularly travel to South Bank in Brisbane for conferences on at the convention centre and I make sure I always stay at this hotel for the ease of access to the convention centre, however I would also stay at this hotel should I every get the chance to travel for South Bank for pleasure. In my opinion this is one of the best hotels to stay at in Brisbane.

Room Tip: Request a room located away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacklebery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Cacklebery,

Thank you for your excellent review in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed all facets of the hotel, with a special focus on the location and the comfort of the room.

I do hope I have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon, to enjoy a little more leisure than business!

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This room/hotel was exactly what I expected. Nothing terribly fancy, but clean, spacious with all the amenities. Good value for money - especially since Brisbane hotels all seem to be on the expensive side these days. I liked the location - near a couple of public swimming pools by the river and easy access to the walk-over bridge if you need to get to the CBD. The swimming pool at the hotel was tiny though - don't expect anything you really want to linger and enjoy on that front. So, nothing fancy with the room here, but it was exactly what I expected for the price paid.

Room Tip: A higher floor is better as there is a train that passes right next to the hotel - would be noisy on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear UMH,

Thank you for your recent comments in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I am glad you were able to find the hotel excellent value for money, however it is a shame that after visiting our newly renovated "Podium" level, that nothing was a stand out for you.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location was great and the staff welcoming. It is a pity the administration let your product down. Even though we had complimentary parking with the wedding package, a $20 fee was charged. Breakfast was meant to be $30 each but $65 was charged.
It was embarrassing at the reception counter in front of wedding guests to negotiate reversal of these over-chargers.
Finally, I do not agree that I should have to sign a credit card for a $50 imprint fee on check-in. Overseas no signature is required. Also, you refused to give me back my signed Visa slip and I wait to see if the authorization is reversed. I paid in cash!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 10th floor facing west have thin walls and suffer from the glare of the Convention Cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawrenceH386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear LawrenceH386,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

My sincerest apologies that you felt embarressed whilst finalising the bill upon checkout. It certainly isn't the intention of the hotel to bring this upon you.

The hotel gains a signature upon check-in to ensure we have a signature on file. This is purely an authorisation and is released immediately upon checkout. It is then up to your bank to clear it into your available funds.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just spend three nights at this Hotel - chose it because of it's proximity to the railway station and the fact that it is in the heart of Southbank which is such a wonderful place to stay. We paid a little extra for a front-facing room and were so pleased that we did. The view was wonderful, especially at night with the big wheel lit up and the city bright with lights. The room was very nicely appointed, obviously recently refurbished to an excellent standard. The only gripe would be that the bathroom is very small and bit dated but then, how much time do you spend in the bathroom??? The bed was a.m.a.z.i.n.g. - would have to be the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and if we could have fitted it in our suitcase, room 1126 would now be without a bed! To us, a comfortable bed is the most important thing about a hotel room and this one was outstanding. Our room was lovely and quiet but we could enjoy the hustle and bustle of the outside with the slider open if we wanted.....this certainly proved that the double-glazed windows did their job. It would be lovely to see something decorative on the balconies. Maybe a pot plant or something similar, just to make it a bit more attractive. Excellent air-con which is a must for us Kiwis! The staff were extremely obliging and the service, impeccable. We used room-service for breakfast and were very happy with the food. The Hotel staff arranged transport for us to the airport at the end of our stay and the driver gave us an entertaining trip out there - great friendly service. Overall, this hotel ticked all the boxes for us - to be able to wander down to the river and catch a ferry and be in the city in 3 minutes is such a bonus!! Thanks Rydges - we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a river-facing room, it's well worth the money - the higher up the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Ali F,

Thank you for your lovely comments surrounding your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is great to see that you have made the spectacular view from our Deluxe Queen Rooms your profile picture here on Trip Advisor!

It gives me great pleasure to receive such fantastic feedback and I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is connected to the Brisbane convention center and within walking distance to Queen Street and the train. The rooms are comfortable and staff is very helpful. The food was good, although a bit pricey. The cafe near reception is so nice and the staff there is great as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triciajo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear triciajo44,

Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your stay here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is pleasing to read that the hotel's location was a stand out for you and was convenient for your needs.

I appreciate the fantastic feedback in relation to the staff here at the hotel, and in particular, our friendly staff in the CBD Cafe. I will be sure to pass on your gratitude.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We paid $768 for 3 nights stay & had a good view of the Exhibition Centre doors. The wife & I got sore necks from the pillows. We couldn't use the pool area one afternoon/night as there was a private function on. Isn't the use of the facilities what we pay for in our room rate? Breakfast is nothing to rave over. Same food everyday. The ripe wasn't ripe. Please check your bill as were we charged for breakfast that was already included in the package. Queried the lady at reception & she said that was right. Ask a man at reception the next day & said she was wrong. She nearly got us for $120. Room menu is expensive. We ate down the street for half the price. The four of us had to live off 2 cakes of soap for 3 days. Soap must be expensive also. I had to get maintenance there twice. TV remote was terrible. They need to change the aspect ratio on the Foxtel channels to suit widescreen.

Room Tip: Shop around first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Geoffjd,

Thank you for your comments in relation to your stay with Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is disappointing to read that there was nothing that stood out as a positive for you during your stay with us here at the hotel.

My apologies that you felt we have many improvements to be made around the hotel, however I feel this is out of the ordinary as we receive a great deal of positive comments regarding the areas of concern.

I do hope I have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel with a more positive result.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 169 in Brisbane
2,484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#55 of 169 in Brisbane
770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.5 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#20 of 169 in Brisbane
3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $113 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing