We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip 2 - 7 Mar 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip 2 - 7 Mar 2013”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Good location convenient to both City and convention at BCEC that I attended. Rooms are well serviced and the location is close to bars and cafes on Southbank. Would not stay here if you were doing business in the CBD and you didn't like walking.

Room Tip: Good if you are doing business on the Southbank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PADraber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear PADraber,

Thank you for your comments in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I agree that we are in an excellent location here in South Bank with a great selection of restaurants and only metres from the Brisbance Convention & Exhibition Centre.

It is a shame that the city is a 15 minute walk away and we don't have that convenience, however, South Bank provides that wonderful inner city feel without the hustle and bustle.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    850
    332
    96
    55
See reviews for
364
598
100
747
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Really good room with a great view. Free wi fi.....logging on could be easier. The Restaurant is excellant. Good room with excellant facilities.The grandchildren did not rate the pool! Excellant location . Close to the River , the Eye and the "Beach" Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatmanandrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear thatmanandrobin,

Thank you for your excellent review and subsequent feedback in relation to your stay here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It gives me great pleasure to read that we were able to help you and your family enjoy your time here in Brisbane and be your "home away from home".

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

As a regular visitor to Brisbane I would like to think I have a fairly good idea on what's on offer. I have stayed at the Rydges South Bank a number of times in the past due to its proximity to the Convention Centre where we often hold events. For the last couple of stays I decided to spend the extra dough and book a "Deluxe Queen with River View". You can expect to pay upwards of an extra $50 per night for the privilege. On my first stay I was placed on level 7 (out of 12) and was quite disappointed with the so-called views. Probably 50-60% of the view of the CBD and South Bank foreshore was obscured by the building in front of Rydges, which is a particularly ugly kind of building indeed! Figuring that this was just bad luck, I tried again on this last stay and the same thing happened again. Perhaps higher floors have better views, but it's pot luck according to the duty manager. Further, my requests to be either provided a room with a decent view, or to have the rate reduced to a standard room (which I have stayed in many times before and have the same views!) were ignored. In fact the duty manager seemed quite uninterested to do anything to resolve the situation at all. Couple the above disappointment with quite run of the mill (run down?) rooms and it's hard to argue that this one is worth the money. Mantra across the road is a better bet.

Room Tip: If you want a view you have to get on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olwaze_on_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Olwaze_on_the_Road,

It is extremely disheartening to read your review of the hotel. As you were a current guest in house when you posted the review, I had sent a letter to your room asking for you to contact me to discuss the issues you have noted in the review. Unfortunately you did not take me up on this offer.

With any hotel, availability and occupancy play a crucial part in room allocation. Taking your current situation into hand, the hotel was 100% for this weekend therefore limiting movements and the opportunity for room moves should they be required.

The Duty Managers at the hotel have a unique passion for our guest experiences so it comes with grave disappointment to read your comments in relation to them. Unfortunately as the hotel was at full capacity there was no option for you to move to a different room or level. As you have mentioned you had previously stayed at the hotel on a similar level but made no mention of your disappointment.

My offer is still valid for you to contact me to discuss your concerns personally.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the Deluxe Queen Room with a river view. It was a beautiful room and view. The service was great, room spotless and clean and one of the comfiest beds ever. Wish we could have stayed longer! It was a great treat!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahRandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear HannahRandal,

Thank you very much for your kind words surrounding the staff and your stay here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is extremely rewarding to see the service you had received whilst at the hotel was great. The hotel recently installed new beds into all of our guest rooms, the feedback has been sensational.

I hope on your next visit to Brisbane you will be able to spend longer with us and that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location just near the convention centre and a short stroll to the cages and restaurants of Southbank. The rooms are very large and I had a huge balcony overlooking the river looking back to the city. Friendly service. My only complaint was the the swimming pool is much smaller than it appears on the website so OK for a cool off but way to small to get any real exercise.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the river
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank larabe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear larabe6,

Thank you for your lovely comments in relation to the hotel and the surrounding area.

We are very fortunate to be surrounded by a number of restaurants, entertainment and activities in South Bank which provides a great variety to our guests.

It is very pleasing to read you have enjoyed you room and the river views, the front facing Deluxe Rooms are an excellent choice when staying at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I found the staff here helpful, the facilities adequate+ and at the right price I would stay here again. As others have mentioned the area has lots of cafes and you get some great breakfast options better and cheaper than the hotel. My single room was comfortable, I was attending a conference at the next door Conference Centre, and all that I needed. Although the "Business Centre" is just a desk in the lobby with 2 computers it is still useful, on a 1st in 1st serviced basis. Bed comfortable. Room clean. On the other hand there is the noise from that building others mentioned if you are facing the river. I was on the 9th floor and was still distracting, seems to be a concert centre. The fees for the Internet are the usual rip-off, and the DoCoMo Intertouch TV is an absolute piece of junk. Rydges really ask us to wait "15 seconds" after turning it on before there is any reaction, then every time you change channel you wait 5 seconds for any response. It makes you want to smash the controller through the TV, I'm sure that's happened. The boffins in Rydges who inflicted DoCoMo on their guests obviously live in some kind of parallel universe!

Room Tip: A high room if you face the river, to avoid the racket from the moist building between the hotel and...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank walteradamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear walteradamson,

Thank you for the recent review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane,

It is pleasing to read you have enjoyed your stay and that the staff you encountered have been of assistance.

South Bank has an abundance of entertainment, restaurants and activities to cater for all its visitors making it a prime location in Brisbane.

The hotel is excellently located for those attending conferences at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre. We are also very fortunate to have direct access from the hotel on our Podium Level across to their Plaza Level.

My apologies on the issues you have experienced with the television in your room, we certainly do not wish to inflict any difficulties on our guests.

Once again I would like to thank you for the review and feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed as an overnight stop over and found it to be a nice place to stay, reception was welcoming and attentive and they explained things well. Room was 1025, a good position and well appointed but seemed equiped for the disabled which made some of the plumbing fixtures a bit quirkey for those who are able bodied.

Found the surrounding area to be full of places to eat and drink but this would depend on the time of day of course. Suggest to head out the front door towards the river and just walk along the bank, you're sure to find somewhere nice to stop at for a refreshment or two.

Taxi was easily available the next morning for the airport, just see the concierge. Cost to the A/P was about $50 AU so not bad and ask to take the airport link tunnel, there is a fee but it saves time and any other way is false economy.

Pity I was not here longer to sample the resaurant etc but sure it would have been of equal quality to the areas I sampled.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear jason t,

Thank you for your excellent comments surrounding your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is in the perfect location for easy access to excellent restaurants, not to mention our newly developed Podium Level which showcases our new restaurant "Bacchus".

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 160 in Brisbane
517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 160 in Brisbane
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#108 of 160 in Brisbane
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#54 of 160 in Brisbane
691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 160 in Brisbane
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing