We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #35 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the Deluxe Queen Room with a river view. It was a beautiful room and view. The service was great, room spotless and clean and one of the comfiest beds ever. Wish we could have stayed longer! It was a great treat!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahRandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear HannahRandal,

Thank you very much for your kind words surrounding the staff and your stay here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is extremely rewarding to see the service you had received whilst at the hotel was great. The hotel recently installed new beds into all of our guest rooms, the feedback has been sensational.

I hope on your next visit to Brisbane you will be able to spend longer with us and that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 2,199 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great location just near the convention centre and a short stroll to the cages and restaurants of Southbank. The rooms are very large and I had a huge balcony overlooking the river looking back to the city. Friendly service. My only complaint was the the swimming pool is much smaller than it appears on the website so OK for a cool off but way to small to get any real exercise.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the river
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank larabe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear larabe6,

Thank you for your lovely comments in relation to the hotel and the surrounding area.

We are very fortunate to be surrounded by a number of restaurants, entertainment and activities in South Bank which provides a great variety to our guests.

It is very pleasing to read you have enjoyed you room and the river views, the front facing Deluxe Rooms are an excellent choice when staying at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I found the staff here helpful, the facilities adequate+ and at the right price I would stay here again. As others have mentioned the area has lots of cafes and you get some great breakfast options better and cheaper than the hotel. My single room was comfortable, I was attending a conference at the next door Conference Centre, and all that I needed. Although the "Business Centre" is just a desk in the lobby with 2 computers it is still useful, on a 1st in 1st serviced basis. Bed comfortable. Room clean. On the other hand there is the noise from that building others mentioned if you are facing the river. I was on the 9th floor and was still distracting, seems to be a concert centre. The fees for the Internet are the usual rip-off, and the DoCoMo Intertouch TV is an absolute piece of junk. Rydges really ask us to wait "15 seconds" after turning it on before there is any reaction, then every time you change channel you wait 5 seconds for any response. It makes you want to smash the controller through the TV, I'm sure that's happened. The boffins in Rydges who inflicted DoCoMo on their guests obviously live in some kind of parallel universe!

Room Tip: A high room if you face the river, to avoid the racket from the moist building between the hotel and...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank walteradamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear walteradamson,

Thank you for the recent review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane,

It is pleasing to read you have enjoyed your stay and that the staff you encountered have been of assistance.

South Bank has an abundance of entertainment, restaurants and activities to cater for all its visitors making it a prime location in Brisbane.

The hotel is excellently located for those attending conferences at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre. We are also very fortunate to have direct access from the hotel on our Podium Level across to their Plaza Level.

My apologies on the issues you have experienced with the television in your room, we certainly do not wish to inflict any difficulties on our guests.

Once again I would like to thank you for the review and feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed as an overnight stop over and found it to be a nice place to stay, reception was welcoming and attentive and they explained things well. Room was 1025, a good position and well appointed but seemed equiped for the disabled which made some of the plumbing fixtures a bit quirkey for those who are able bodied.

Found the surrounding area to be full of places to eat and drink but this would depend on the time of day of course. Suggest to head out the front door towards the river and just walk along the bank, you're sure to find somewhere nice to stop at for a refreshment or two.

Taxi was easily available the next morning for the airport, just see the concierge. Cost to the A/P was about $50 AU so not bad and ask to take the airport link tunnel, there is a fee but it saves time and any other way is false economy.

Pity I was not here longer to sample the resaurant etc but sure it would have been of equal quality to the areas I sampled.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear jason t,

Thank you for your excellent comments surrounding your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is in the perfect location for easy access to excellent restaurants, not to mention our newly developed Podium Level which showcases our new restaurant "Bacchus".

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for conference at Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre. From the moment we arrived the reception was just top quality. Staff here are extremely polite and friendly from the reception staff, concierge to porters. Room was spacious..2 queen beds and bench with fridge, sink, microwave, cups etc in room - great to fill the kettle from a sink other than in a bathroom. Bathroom average size but shower was fantastic..hot water straight away. Large wardrobe and in room safe. Breakfast served in restaurant was usual hot cold fair but served in really quaint ways eg smoothies in shot glasses. Quick efficient check out and due to large numbers of people leaving from conference they had a system set up to store bags etc. Valet parking service was well managed. Proximity to Southbank added bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Ozstars,

Thank you for your excellent feedback in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It gives me great pleasure to read that you were able to enjoy all facets of the hotel and each experience exceeded your expectation.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I was the recipient of awesome service on my recent stay at the Rydges South Bank in Brisbane even after I checked out!
Brendan, a concierge, promply checked and stored my 2 bags, retrieved both 90 mins later, escorted me to a lobby seat, offered and delivered a complimentary bottle of water, provided a few moments of great conversation, then loaded my bags into the car when my ride arrived. The little things count!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Doug H,

Thank you for your kind words surrounding your experience here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

We share a genuine passion to go above and beyond guest expectations and it is pleasing to read that Brendan and his team were able to make your stay a wonderful experience.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A very nice hotel with the highlight being the restaurant up on the 12th (top) floor - great spot for all meals staring out over SouthBank precint towards the Brisbane CBD sykyline. Lots of restaurants to chose from downstairs and along SouthBank and a reasonable stroll into Brisbane CBD (or get the CityCat ferry across). Good for business and better for families to enjoy everything that SouthBank precinct has to offer, including a great 'beach' and waterpark, and craft markets.

Room Tip: Get an upper level north (river) facing room for the views (and quieter) - south-facing rooms may ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Andrew N,

Thank you for your recent comments in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Since you had stayed in August, we have relocated the restaurant down to our Podium Level which is now called "Bacchus". This new development is a wonderful space, eye appealing and has a gastronomic menu created by the hotel's Executive Chef, Dominic Rose.

I look forward to having the opportunity of inviting you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
1,281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 169 in Brisbane
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#111 of 169 in Brisbane
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#60 of 169 in Brisbane
834 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#57 of 169 in Brisbane
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: 9 Glenelg Street | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $124 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing