We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had a queen room. Smallish room. Good view over Southbank Parklands area. Excellent location as only over the river from the city. Easy access to public transport. Close to museum, conservatorium and local cafes. Basic services. 3.5 Stars. You seem to be paying for the location rather than what they offer. With so much competition, better deals out ther.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Etonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Etonbeach,

Thank you for the review in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel is very well located in the South Bank Precinct with all Attractions, Restaurants and the Parklands a stones throw away.

It is a little disappointing to read you have thought the hotel was expensive for what you had received. We have recently opened our new Podium Level equipped with Bacchus Restaurant, Pool and Bar which has been a fantastic addition for our guests and the hotel.

There are many packages available which have a variety of inclusions such as Valet Parking, Internet or Breakfast. Priority Guest Rewards is the hotel’s loyalty program, this is free membership and you will receive many discounts pre, during and after your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    825
    328
    96
    54
See reviews for
355
587
99
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have stayed here many times very handy to theTheatre basically a short 2 min walk The restaurant and lounge have been beautifully renovated very smart and comfortable more important the service was friendly and good The meals we had for lunch were very good.The side walk cafe is being renovated so was closed but I would rather the new bar lounge

Room Tip: Up high on the river side great view of the city at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bferguss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear bferguss,

Thank you for the review from your most recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The newly refurbished Podium Level equipped with 5 state of the art function space and Bacchus Restaurant, Pool and Bar has spared no expense. The Restaurant and Bar equipped with its lavish décor has added a new experience to the Brisbane dining scene and has been a welcomed addition to the hotel. It is great to see you have been able to enjoy the experience.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed a this hotel during a conference at the adjoining Brisbane event centre, Great location, food was of good quality, and the staff very pleasent and helpful. As this was the first time I atayed here I don't know what the other rooms are like but mine although very clean was looking a bit tired and in need of refurbishment

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, mine was a bit claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0HNXM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear J0HNXM2012,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is pleasing to read you have enjoyed the location and that our staff have been both pleasant and helpful.

We have recently completed a full redevelopment of our Podium Level which has brought to the hotel the exquisite Bacchus Restaurant, Pool and Bar and 5 state of the art conferences spaces. Our focus will now draw to the rooms in the hotel.

Thank you again for the review and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for new year, hired two rooms and 4 of us went to the level 12 function room, we did it last year and it was fantastic, this year it was completly awful and the service was really bad. The worst thing is it costs a fortune $1500 for 4 for the one night. so you would expect better service for that money. never mind would not return. Rydges charge for everything, parking and wifi is all extra, nothing is included, although you pay $315 per room per night,, I feel the least they can do to keep up with others is too offer free WIFI, they do in the downstairs for anyone, yet in the rooms where you have already paid a decent amount of money to stop they charge, this does not make sense to me, that you can walk in off the street and use it free, but if you pay to stay you pay for it. strange.The only plus for this hotel is its close to southbank but thats all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deagon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear deagon1,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your stay with us.

It was disappointing to read your review and the comments you have made. I am passionate about our guests’ experiences and take all feedback onboard to ensure I am able to make changes to improve for the future.

Accommodation packages are available which include the items you have mentioned. Please check the Rydges website for the latest offers. We also have our Priority Guest Rewards program which is free to join offering discounts throughout the stay.

I understand this stay has left a negative impact on you, but I do hope you will consider Rydges South Bank again for any future stays and that we have the opportunity to regain your trust.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

How can you beat this location. Amazing.
The hotel was nice and clean with very friendly staff.
Rooms need a little bit of work but all round not a problem.
Bacchus Bar pool side was lovely but drinks and food were $$$$$.
Bar staff at the Bacchus bar were slow and not always there.
All round I wood totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Join the FREE rewards club for extras and pay a little extra for the breaky and room with an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperEmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear TripperEmelia,

Thank you for the lovely review,

I could not agree more with your title regarding our location, South Bank has so much to offer to its visitors catering for everyone’s needs.

Priority Guest Rewards as you have mentioned in your tip is FREE to join, during your stay you will receive 20% off food and beverage when you dine in one of our restaurants for lunch and dinner along with many other discounts.

I am very grateful for any future recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent value as a mystery hotel @ $119 and beautifully presented rooms. South Bank is a great location - so many restaurants (but that's for another review). We stayed at the Rydges many years ago and were impressed then but the rooms have been fully renovated and are now even more comfortable. Staff were extremely polite and helpful. Only negative is the exorbitant valet parking fees (you can't park your own) $35.

Room Tip: Ask for a the highest floor and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiouslyrelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear curiouslyrelaxed,

Thank you for your wonderful comments in relation to your recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is great to see you have been able to enjoy the hotel and the South Bank precinct. We pride our staff on excellent service so it is pleasing to see this has been received.

The hotel does offer a full valet service, however if the space is pre-booked at the time of the reservation you will receive a discount. Other options for parking are the Brisbane Convention Centre which is attached to the hotel or the South Bank Parklands.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my nine year old daughter after a previous good experience. The hotel is well situated at South Bank near shops, restaurants, cinema and the south bank pool, which is great. Lovely pool and staff were professional. A couple of nice touches were not charging separately for proper coffee at breakfast and bottles of cold water in the car after pick up from valet. But....beware...as although I stayed on a bed and breakfast package I was charged $20 for my daughter's breakfast. When asked why I was told that the breakfast was only for one person per room. This is not clear on the website at all and in my experience is not common practice. I abhor hidden costs and this was a bad example. We were also initially placed in a room directly above the bar, which had a thumping open air music night happening - not sure of the wisdom of placing people with children in this room when there were other options. However to their credit this was quickly resolved and we moved rooms. Overall okay but I doubt I'd go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splash7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear splash7,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is sometimes the small things that make a difference, so it is great to see you have enjoyed the coffee and complimentary water on check out.

Generally when a reservation is made it will only include the breakfasts for adult as the prices for children are variable depending on age. There should have been a note on your confirmation email stating the rate was inclusive of breakfast for the adult. Please accept my apology if this information was unclear as we certainly do not wish to hide costs.

It is disappointing to read you have received a poor room allocation upon check in but pleasing to see the team have been able to rectify this promptly.

I hope if you change your mind you will stay with us again and that I have the pleasure of welcoming back.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 157 in Brisbane
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#109 of 157 in Brisbane
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 157 in Brisbane
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing