We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Brissy. Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #34 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best location in Brissy. Nice hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

How can you beat this location. Amazing.
The hotel was nice and clean with very friendly staff.
Rooms need a little bit of work but all round not a problem.
Bacchus Bar pool side was lovely but drinks and food were $$$$$.
Bar staff at the Bacchus bar were slow and not always there.
All round I wood totally recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Join the FREE rewards club for extras and pay a little extra for the breaky and room with an amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperEmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear TripperEmelia,

Thank you for the lovely review,

I could not agree more with your title regarding our location, South Bank has so much to offer to its visitors catering for everyone’s needs.

Priority Guest Rewards as you have mentioned in your tip is FREE to join, during your stay you will receive 20% off food and beverage when you dine in one of our restaurants for lunch and dinner along with many other discounts.

I am very grateful for any future recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    838
    329
    96
    54
See reviews for
362
591
100
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent value as a mystery hotel @ $119 and beautifully presented rooms. South Bank is a great location - so many restaurants (but that's for another review). We stayed at the Rydges many years ago and were impressed then but the rooms have been fully renovated and are now even more comfortable. Staff were extremely polite and helpful. Only negative is the exorbitant valet parking fees (you can't park your own) $35.

Room Tip: Ask for a the highest floor and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curiouslyrelaxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear curiouslyrelaxed,

Thank you for your wonderful comments in relation to your recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is great to see you have been able to enjoy the hotel and the South Bank precinct. We pride our staff on excellent service so it is pleasing to see this has been received.

The hotel does offer a full valet service, however if the space is pre-booked at the time of the reservation you will receive a discount. Other options for parking are the Brisbane Convention Centre which is attached to the hotel or the South Bank Parklands.

Thank you again and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my nine year old daughter after a previous good experience. The hotel is well situated at South Bank near shops, restaurants, cinema and the south bank pool, which is great. Lovely pool and staff were professional. A couple of nice touches were not charging separately for proper coffee at breakfast and bottles of cold water in the car after pick up from valet. But....beware...as although I stayed on a bed and breakfast package I was charged $20 for my daughter's breakfast. When asked why I was told that the breakfast was only for one person per room. This is not clear on the website at all and in my experience is not common practice. I abhor hidden costs and this was a bad example. We were also initially placed in a room directly above the bar, which had a thumping open air music night happening - not sure of the wisdom of placing people with children in this room when there were other options. However to their credit this was quickly resolved and we moved rooms. Overall okay but I doubt I'd go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splash7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear splash7,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is sometimes the small things that make a difference, so it is great to see you have enjoyed the coffee and complimentary water on check out.

Generally when a reservation is made it will only include the breakfasts for adult as the prices for children are variable depending on age. There should have been a note on your confirmation email stating the rate was inclusive of breakfast for the adult. Please accept my apology if this information was unclear as we certainly do not wish to hide costs.

It is disappointing to read you have received a poor room allocation upon check in but pleasing to see the team have been able to rectify this promptly.

I hope if you change your mind you will stay with us again and that I have the pleasure of welcoming back.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We spent the last night of our 4-day SE Queensland tours in Brisbane and conveniently checked into this hotel under its "welcome back program" rather late at about 8.30 pm due to long travelling time from Noosa National Park. We were still able to take a night CityCat river taxi to cruise right up to the New Farm and explored the Valley at night. When we later requested for a late (12 pm) check-out to better match our Auckland flight at 2.25 pm the next day, we were told that the computer system has already put us on late check-out at 1 pm. Similar to the Rydges we previously stayed in Christchurch, this hotel has the best strategic location being surrounded by various venues of cultural and artistic interests. It is just one bridge (Goodwill Bridge) from the Botanical Park and one bridge (Melbourne Bridge) from the CBD and Queens Strreet. We were housed on a 6th floor room with balcony and a fabulous view of the River promenade. The room is well maintained, clean and cosy and the staff being very helpful . We were also given the option for express check out by simply leaving the room keys at the reception and head off to the airport. My wife and I simply wished that we checked in much earlier in the day. Kudos, Rydges.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WithinThe4Seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear WithinThe4Sea,

Thank you very much for your kind words,

I am passionate about the hospitality industry and our guest experiences so it is very pleasing to read review such as yours.

It seems you have been able to achieve a great deal in the short time with us, the South Bank location is one of the best in Brisbane. South Brisbane is home to the South Bank Parklands and well known Streets Beach. Our guests are spoilt for choice when it comes to restaurants and activities in the precinct.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I booked through a deal on Wotif. I had tickets to a performance at the Queensland Performing Arts Centre. The hotel is right in the middle of all the action at Southbank. 3 minutes walk to QPAC same to restaurants , museum, patrolled beach/pools. 5 minutes to supermarket. The room turned out to be a suite with separate lounge, microwave, sink and verandah. Very comfortable. River views. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank putney10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear putney10,

Thank you for all the positive comments in relation to your recent stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

South Bank is one of the top spots in Brisbane for all the reasons mentioned in your review. I am glad to see you have enjoyed your accommodation in one of our spacious King Suites.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempsey, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel has a restaurant night club on the pool level and if your room is on the level above it is ridiculously noisy. It is an open air affair. Don't think that you will sleep at night till late.
We were not warned that the room was so close to a night club. They really should close these rooms down the nights that the DJ is on and the nightclub is happening.
I'd never recommend anyone stay here without checking which room you are to stay in and proximity to the nightclub.
We had to turn the tv up loud to watch it. Even then we couldn't hear it.
The staff are friendly, the room clean and quite spacious. Great comfortable bed but bring your earplugs!
I'll be reviewing elsewhere I am so upset.

Room Tip: Do not stay here on a night when the night club bar is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Michelle D,

Thank you for your comments in relation to our staff and rooms.

It is extremely disheartening to read the remainder of your review. To have your stayed and opinion of the hotel soured by the noise from our Restaurant & Bar is very disappointing.

Could I please ask for you to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss the matter further.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed there for 3 days conference. Nice buffet breakfast. Nice big room overlooking the river, city and Brisbane wheel. A street across from the Southbank river promenade makes a great way to explore and stroll along the riverbank to the art precinct of GOMA, cross the bridge to the CBD, take the river taxi and cruise up or down the river.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Victor K

Thank you for your review of the hotel,

We are extremely fortunate to be situated in the South Bank Precinct with a large portion of the entertainment, restaurants & activities Brisbane has to offer at our doorstep.

Our newly refurbished Podium Level is home to our stunning restaurant Bacchus. The reinvented buffet breakfast offers a vast array of choices for our valued guests. It is a great to see you have enjoyed your experience.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel on your next trip.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#20 of 159 in Brisbane
463 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 159 in Brisbane
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#53 of 159 in Brisbane
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 159 in Brisbane
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 159 in Brisbane
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing