We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Felix(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$127
$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
The Point Brisbane Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$125
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
$166
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal On The Park(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$129
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Albert Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$124
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$79
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,258)
Filter reviews
2,258 results
Traveler rating
828
928
347
98
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
828
928
347
98
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth bankking suitebacchus restaurantcbd cafepodium levelthe rivergreat locationvalet parkingpool barconvention centerferris wheelroom serviceattending a conferencesouthbank parklandsvalet serviceart gallerybuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,795 - 1,800 of 2,258 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

From booking to checking out, everything was wonderful. We had never stayed here before but this won't be our last. We booked a Summer Special and were upgraded to a King Suite. We made use of the valet parking and we enjoyed how close the hotel was to everything. We had organised a cot for our daughter, which arrived after a 'reminder' phone call. I also prepurchased choc covered strawberries, which were confirmed at check in but never arrived. This wasn't a big deal, and we weren't charged for them. We ordered room service, and were quite happy with it all. Even the prices weren't too bad for a hotel. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and look forward to our next one.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liciparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear liciparker,

Thank you for your excellent comments surrounding your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Our latest package, the Summer Special has been extremely popular with a free upgrade to a King Suite, Valet Parking and Internet all inclusive.

My apologies that your chocolate coated strawberries failed to arrive, I will follow this up with our Room Service team to ensure we can improve.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Brisbane.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We registered for the free membership scheme during our booking and they treated us like rock stars! We weren't expecting much since we booked late but we ended up with a gorgeous suite overlooking the river. The location is great if you like South Bank; may not be the best for the CBD but it's only a 15 minute walk away. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Internationalista,

Thank you for your wonderful comments surrounding your experience here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Priority Guest Rewards is a fantastic loyalty program that is free to join up, and we always try to ensure every PGR member is rewarded with fantastic benefits, such as priority room allocation and depending on availability, a complimentary room upgrade.

It is pleasing to read that you were able to take full advantage of the South Bank area and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked with a special rate via "travelzoo".Upgraded to one bedroom king suite.Special location and all staff from front desk to cafe staff were friendly and helpful.Didn't try new restaurant,but heard from other guests that it is very good("Bacchus").
We travelled short distance to eat at restaurants in Westend.Excellent quality and variety and much cheaper than(mostly)overpriced eateries in Southbank.
Hotel is great location for Museums/Galleries/theatre and also accessible via short 10 minute walk across river to Queen Street mall and CBD.
Free small ferries run each 30 minutes from Wharf 3 at Southbank and is a fantastic free service for tourists.

Room Tip: If you find a special on a travel website,phone the hotel direct.They may match it as you are saving them commission.Request upgrade to Riverview room if possible.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear jrr53,

Thank you very much for the lovely review regarding your recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is always a pleasure to read our guests have been able to experience South Bank for all it has to offer. The hotel is ideally situated with everything in walking distance.

Our new restaurant Bacchus is a must when staying, hopefully on your next trip to Brisbane you will be able to have the full experience.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the rydges for the last night of a holiday spent staying at friends houses and hotels being such a treat, we were pleased with the choice.
The staff were friendly and there was a room available for us to check in at 1pm. We dropped our bags upstairs (there was a porter service but we didn't want to use it) and ran to see a movie but when we came back we requested our bottle of sparkling to be sent up (i imagine they'd already tried but we weren't there) and it came beautifully presented... We enjoyed it on the balcony overlooking the gorgeous views of southbank.
We didn't end up being able to use the pool as it closed by 8 which i thought was rather early given the pool at the hotel i used to work at was open until 9 or 10, but we were directly above the podium and it looked beautiful, not to mention the duty manager we ran in to on our way to the beach was happy for us to take some towels as long as we bought them back :p. We also had buffet breakfast and late check out in our city lights package but failed to wake up in time!! That was our bad we heard people raving about it as we were checking out.

The only faults i could find were the tiles on the balcony could do with a scrub, the shower gel was missing from the bathroom supplies and the biggest was the curtains being drawn when we arrived. I can only assume that is a standard practise to keep the rooms cool? However, it would have really added to that magic of walking in to a nice hotel room for the first time if it wasn't so dark and we could instantly see the amazing view we had!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have plans to stay here again for future visits to this absolutely beautiful city!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babblez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Babblez,

Thank you for your recent review in relation to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Given the guaranteed check-in time for the hotel is 2pm, it pleases me we were able to accommodate you early at 1pm.

It is excellent to read that even though our pool closed a little early for your liking, that we could provide you with some assistance when visiting Streets Beach, located in the heart of South Bank.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have stayed here previously & looked forward to this stay. Service at check-in (Victoria) was fantastic - very friendly, thorough, quick & extremely helpful - we even ended up booking a third night at a great rate. Valet parking is easy & our bags were delivered up at our room straight away. Room was excellent. Our Suite was huge but perfect for us (with our two kids). We had a separate bedroom with it's own TV & the lounge/dining area had a fold-out sofa bed for the girls to sleep on. Plenty of pillows & spare blanket. There was a sink area with a bar fridge (which contained mini-bar items but had enough room for our own things), a microwave & cutlery/crockery. Room was very clean. Bathroom has hair dryer & shower over bath with lots of hot water. The new pool is great, a nice small size for a quiet swim - love the whole new area - outdoor lounge chairs, bar etc. When the kids wanted a more 'fun' swim we just walked over to Southbank (just a couple of minutes) & they spent ages there. Heaps of restaurants nearby & a movie theatre too. It was a short walk (maybe 10mins) to cross the bridge & be in the Queen St Mall (shopping). We were extremely happy with our stay & will definitely be back - clean rooms & great staff - perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Blueysmrs,

Thank you for your excellent comments surrounding your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

You are correct in saying that our King Suite's are very large, but perfect for families! The location of the hotel is a unique selling point as it is in close proximity to Streets Beach and numerous restaurants.

I have passed on your comments to Victoria, who was ecstatic she was able to make such a positive impact during your stay.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews