We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Good bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #37 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location. Good bar.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a perfect spot. Closeby lots of great restaurants, bars, cafes. Easy and fast to get to the centre of Brisbane. I stayed in a King Suite which was very nice and had a large balcony that I couldn't use as the building opposite had a large air conditioning unit on full ball which meant I couldn't hear anything outside. A shame for the hotel.
So I suggest you ask for a high floor and quiet room. Otherwise very good and I would still go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie4333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear jackie4333,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane,

South Bank is a lovely location to be situated in Brisbane with everything at our doorstep. Our King Suites are a very good choice, spacious and well equipped.

It is disappointing to read you were unable to utilise your balcony because of the building opposite. Please accept my apology for this; hopefully on your next visit we will be able to allocate a room for you with views of the River and City.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    797
    325
    94
    55
See reviews for
346
566
95
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed at Rydges South Bank Brisbane for two nights leading up to Christmas. The room was clean and attractive and the concierge gave us a great tip for a nearby Turkish restaurant. We ate breakfast in the ground floor hotel cafe which was good, although service seemed slow on the Friday morning. You need to order breakfast at the bar, not wait at your table. The fitness centre was ok but a bit stuffy. There is a small pool in the hotel, the beautiful Streets Beach is a 5 minute walk away, and to swim laps, there is a nice pool and children's pool at Musgrave Park Swim Centre, 5 minutes in the other direction. Mirrored sunglasses are advised for pool-swimming due to the glare!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Sarah M,

Thank you for the comments in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane,

Streets Beach and the South Bank Precinct is a wonderful spot in Brisbane, great for all ages and occasions. South Bank has an abundance of restaurants and eateries within walking distance to the hotel, leaving our valued guests spoilt for choice.
It is disappointing to read that the service you received in the CBD Bar and Cafe has been slow, this is not indicative of the high levels of service Rydges is known for.

I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for an honest hotel with good amenities, service and location in Brissy then this would work for you. No real outstanding features and no real negatives. I liked being able to walk along south bank in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cangau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear cangua,

Thank you for the review from your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is great to read you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and our location. It is however a shame that nothing has been a standout for you though.
We have recently opened our new Podium Level equipped with Pool, Restaurant and Bar called Bacchus and certainly has some stand out features. If you did not have the opportunity to visit on this occasion I definitely recommend a visit on you next stay.

I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

If your looking for a great location motel with all the facilities at a good rate, I recommend Rydges south bank Brisbane. The staff were friendly and professional, the rooms spotless. Very good night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NathanG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear NathanG7,

Thank you for your recent review,

It is always great to read our guests have enjoyed their stay and I really appreciate any future recommendations. I shall pass on your kind words to the staff.

I hope I have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Excellent stay, room was great and the service from everyone top class. Breakfasts were a highlight and the conference dinner on the 12th floor was perfect. My only minor complaint was I didn't get my promised free newspaper one morning - and if that's my only complaint then that's really a hassle free stay. :)

Room Tip: Go above level 6 to get a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melway62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear melway62,

Thank you kindly for your review.

It is wonderful to read your excellent comments in relation to your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane. It is very pleasing to see the service you received was top class, quality customer service is one of the core ingredients we try to instil in our staff.

Bacchus has been a successful addition to the hotel, with the exquisite evening dining experience and the vast options available at the buffet breakfast; Bacchus is certainly making its mark on the Brisbane Dining scene.

My apologies on you not receiving your newspaper in the morning.

I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for our wedding anniversary and firstly received a room upgrade prior to our arrival - Bonus 1. We dined in the newly opened Bacchus Restaurant and the food was amazing....and so were the wines/cocktails/port which accompanied each course. - Bonus 2. Exceptional service, the staff went out of their way to explain each course in detail and recommend the meals etc and what drink to accompany it - BONUS 3. A big thanks to Tess, JB?? and Ra and also to Mike from Valet Parking! Definitely recommend Rydges and especially Bacchus Restaurant ( we actually have been back to Bacchus since this night)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gidget73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Tish73,

Thank you so much for the glowing review!

It is extremely pleasing to see you have enjoyed your special occasion with us here at Rydges South Bank. It is great to see the team has been able to offer a room upgrade for the occasion.

I find it personally rewarding to see reviews regarding our staff and their exceptional service, I hold a true passion for the hospitality industry and that is one of the reasons for doing my job.

Bacchus has been a wonderful addition not only to the hotel but also the Brisbane dining scene. Really appreciate the future recommendations.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

A terrific location if you are going to QPAC for a show....within easy walking distance. we took a Suite Indulgence package and enjoyed being pampered! The chocolate dipped strawberries were superb! We found the king bed really comfortable, and the in included Grand breakfast was very substantial. We will certainly use Rydges South Bank again for Brisbane trips.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Lyn R,

Thank you for the lovely review from your recent stay at Rydges South Bank,

The Suite Decadence is certainly a great choice if you are looking to relax and enjoy the breath taking views from the upper levels of the hotel.

All the beds within the hotel have been changed to the Rydges Dream Beds at the start of the year, the feedback has been fantastic.

I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, on your next trip to Brisbane.
Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#107 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#8 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing