We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #35 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Clean and comfortable rooms. Good value. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Valet parking was very handy. We puy the car away and welked everywhere as there are so many attractions within 15 mins walk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Ken G,

Thank you very much indeed for the review.

It is great to read you have enjoyed Rydges South Bank and the South Bank precinct. South Bank truly offers so much to its visitors, with everything a short stroll from the hotel.

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and rooms, they are very much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,721 - 1,727 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We're in the middle of our four-night stay here at Rydges. We are very happy with our accommodations. Comfortable, nice-sized room with a nice balcony. All staff we have encountered are friendly, professional and helpful. We got recommendations concerning the koala sanctuary and how to make a day trip to the Gold Coast.

The new restaurant and pool area is very nice -- they did an excellent job with the renovations. If I had to make one constructive criticism, it would be the need to update the bathroom --but with so many positives it's not a big deal.

The biggest plus is location. South Bank area is a lot of fun. We've enjoyed restaurant and cafe hopping! And today I had the most amazing Spanish hot chocolate with chili one block from the hotel. It made my afternoon! The 15-minute walk to downtown Brisbane is easy and beautiful as you cross the bridge by foot. very nice shopping area right there in downtown.

We're having a blast in Brisbane and Rydges is a big part of it. Thank you and cheers from the "American Invasion" :)

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Senior Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Frances D (aka American Invasion),

Thank you kindly for the glowing mid-stay review on Trip Advisor and posts on Facebook.

It is a pleasure to read you are loving your stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane. We pride our staff on exceptional service and it is extremely pleasing for me that we have delivered this.

Bacchus Pool, Bar and Restaurant is a fantastic addition to the hotel and it is great to see you have had the opportunity to experience it.

The South Bank location is one of the best Brisbane has to offer, with everything one could ask for at our doorstep. Whether a stroll through the Parklands or a trip to the Gallery, South Bank truly stands out from the rest.

I hope the remainder of your stay will be as memorable and enjoyable as the beginning.

I look forward to hosting any future “American Invasions”.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Senior Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in November 2012. We have stayed here before and returned because the property is consistently clean and is very conveniently located on Southbank. It is an easy 15 minute walk into the city and a 5 mnute walk to the ferry wharves on the river - another option for getting across to the city. The bed is very comfortable and i had great nights' sleep. Summary - great location on Southbank, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher levels at the front of the hotel have river and parkland views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylark24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear skylark24,

Thank you for your wonderful comments and continued loyalty to Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

We strive to achieve great consistency throughout the hotel to ensure our product is always of a high level. It is excellent to see that this culture is being carried through and we are able to consistently meet your expectations.

The hotel has recently had each guest room appointed with the "Rydges Dream Bed" which provides a comfortable and relaxing nights sleep.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Rydges have begun a refurbishment with the star being its new upmarket restaurant Bacchus. Our three-course evening meal was interesting and beautifully cooked and presented, the wine menu of a high standard and the staff enthusiastic, professional and attentive. The decor is glamorous. The prices are reasonable, the same as we would expect to pay at a mid-range upmarket restaurant in Melbourne plus, as members of Rydges loyalty program, we got a generous discount. At breakfast I was delighted to have a front of house person offer to take an order for "real" coffee for us and others: the very good latte, cappucino, and expresso Melbournites are used to rather than filter coffee . The restaurant is close to a small , attractive pool with seating for relaxation and for those who want a dip. Not a pool for lap swimmers. Our 11th floor room looked over roofs of performance venues to the Brisbane River a short walk away. At night the view was spectacular as these blank rooftops were lit with color. Our de luxe twin room was large with two queen size beds, a microwave, a sink and a refrigerator, and plenty of space for two people to hang clothes. The chest of drawers was useful, the furniture very dated but functional, the carpet looking worn. The balcony was large with two chairs but very austere, no table , no plant. The shower is old-style, ie, over the bath.The hotel CBD cafe is a good bar with only OK food. Of course, if you want a simple meal you are surrounded by dozens of inexpensive restaurants in this arts precinct. The service by all Rydges staff was friendly and expert, from the car valet person to the concierge, reception and including the CBD waitress. As mentioned in previous reviews, this hotel's biggest selling point is its location but more refurbishment is going to happen. In addition, we find Rydges service is always good. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Brisbane River with its ferries and other craft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear RoseFrances,

Thank you for your recent review relating to your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is lovely to see that after all of the diligence, hard work and inspired thoughts that the Food & Beverage vision is starting to come to fruition. I am extremely pleased to read that you were able to experience the full "Bacchus" concept.

I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times and are never disappointed. Reception staff are excellent as are those in the bar and restaurant. Ideal location for the South Bank, theatres and proximity to the city. Our first choice. Hotel for stays in Brisbane.

Room Tip: Queen doubles are more than adequate, but the king suites are worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Glyn J,

Thank you for excellent review and on-going custom to Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The staff of the hotel prides itself on it's ability to continue to go above and beyond expectations, even with our loyal guests.

It gives me great pleasure to read that after numerous return visits, we are still able to deliver a superb overall experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here when attending a conference. It's located in a great area with lots of restaurants and bars. It's a 10-15 minute walk from the main shopping area so not good for popping out for a quick shop at lunch time, but otherwise its a great place to stay. My room on the 3rd floor was clean and fresh. The buffet breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear debmac1,

Thank you for your recent review for Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

The hotel, whilst is in prime position in South Bank and the surrounding cultural precinct, the hotel is located on the other side of the river, but as stated in your review, only about a 10-15 minute for those guests wishing to venture into the city.

A lot of time has been spent on ensuring that our buffet breakfast experience in "Bacchus" is impeccable and I am pleased to read that you were able to enjoy this while at the hotel.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is located in a fantastic position. Our room on the 8th floor had a beautiful view over the river to the city. Check out the new restaurant Bacchus, beside the pool. It is a lovely space with great furniture, good food and service. Large twin room. Very quiet. The air conditioning is not very good. I like a very cold room and it didn't quite chill it down enough. First night all the tv's in the hotel stopped working. No bug deal. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shell123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Shell123_10,

Thank you for your excellent review for Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It is very nice to have our restaurant "Bacchus" operating in the hotel now and especially nice that we can boast to having a new pool for the coming summer months!

My sincerest apologies in relation to your television not working, but I hope that this was easily rectified during your stay.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 170 in Brisbane
2,519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#30 of 170 in Brisbane
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#56 of 170 in Brisbane
817 reviews
1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 170 in Brisbane
1,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#109 of 170 in Brisbane
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $118 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing