We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First impressions are important”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #37 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“First impressions are important”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Chamber maids need to realise that the moment guests enter a room, their impression is formed. To pay $20 for an upgrade (a suggestion made by the desk clerk), for a room with a better view, leads one to expect that the room will, in fact be "better". To enter that room and find it completely dark, with curtains right over the major window, and indeed one curtain "hanging" from a rail, does not make a guest happy. A pleasant concierge got up on a chair and re-attached the curtain but the moment had passed. A couple of old cigarette butts on the balcony didn't help either. Neither did the mismatched collection of glasses - two beer glasses and one wine glass - another was requested and brought to the room - yet another size! Is it so hard to expect that two guests need (hopefully) a glass each, the same size?

Rydges is in a great position for an overnight stay when one is doing a show at QPAC - it's also near the Museum and Southbank Parklands. Desk staff and concierges are very helpful, and car parking is cheaper than some hotels. We'll go back, but hope they sharpen up these small items.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diedre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    797
    325
    94
    55
See reviews for
346
566
95
697
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a lovely delux room with great river views. Comfortable bedding, great sized room and just across the road from Lyric theatre where we were seeing a show. We had buffet breakfast for 2 included and there was a great choice of hot, cold, cereal and fruit to choose from. A really nice surprise was the Bar on rooftop where we stopped in for a nightcap while they played great music. All staff were polite and helpful. We got bus in so cant comment on parking.

Room Tip: ask for a river view it may cost more but it is a memory that lasts forever
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getawaygirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear getawaygirlBrisbane,

Thank you for the 5* review!

It is great to see you have enjoyed your stay with us at Rydges South Bank. The deluxe rooms boast stunning views of the river and city and all have their own private balconies.
We installed new bed into all of our guest rooms this year which has proven to be a great success.

The South Bank location is one of the best in Brisbane, not only for the proximity to the theatre but for all the restaurants, walks and activities at our doorstep.

Bacchus, our new restaurant, pool and bar is a fantastic addition to the hotel. Hopefully on your next trip to Brisbane you will be able to dine in the restaurant, as it is definitely worth a visit.

Once again thank you for the review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Good location for the attractions of South Bank, Brisbane. Helpful and friendly staff but very tired and shabby accommodation. We stayed in a King Suite which is desperately in need to refurbishment. Disappointing and expensive - $289.00 for 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Portia01,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us Rydges South Bank.

South Bank is a lovely spot to be located in Brisbane; we are spoilt for choice with things to do. I really appreciate your kind comments in relation to our staff.

It is disappointing to read your feedback on the room. With the times and trends changing so rapidly, we are striving to meet all expectations of our guests. As you may be aware the hotel has now completed the 11 million dollar refurbishment of our new Podium Level, the transformation is truly amazing. Our rooms are no exception and will be a focus in the future.

I hope you will choose to stay again at Rydges South Bank and that I have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is right in the precinct of South Bank, with all the amenities of this attraction walking minutes of the hotel. Restaurants abound in this area so no need for cabs, ferries, trains are all within 5mins and city is a nice 15min stroll. Art gallery and Theatre right next door. Just a great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Have stayed here several times with work and this is the first time (level 3 room) that noise was really bad from a function downstairs. Hallway noise may bother some. However the location is so good it overrides the noise. Restaurant downstairs is great for a coffee in the morning and any take away needs you have - they were really very helpful.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on a higher floor away from the noise of their convention area - possibly f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jays4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear jays4,

Thank you for the lovely review,

It is excellent to see Rydges South Bank has become your preferred hotel to stay at when in Brisbane.

I couldn’t agree with you more about South Bank, I believe it is the best spot in Brisbane with everything at our doorstep. We have recently opened our newly refurbished Podium Level and the restaurant is quickly becoming the new hotspot in South Bank. It is definitely worth a visit on your next trip.

I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

I tend to stay at Rydges, but I did find that this one had especially eager and helpful staff. It's located in a great location and is close to a bunch of good value restaurants. Close to the city and nearby to business districts in Milton

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank cmbsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear cmbsoz,

Thank you for your review and kind words,

We pride our staff on excellent service and it is pleasing to read it is being received. South Bank is a fantastic spot to be located with everything in walking distance.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here (2 adults 2 kids) when going to a football match at Suncorp.
The room was very clean with the most comfortable beds I think I've ever found in a hotel.
The location is brilliant - just a few steps from all the activities and restaurants at Southbank.
Parking is valet only. You need to be sure to get everything you need out of the car as it's a bit of a hassle to access it once it's been parked.
Check in and out was very fast and staff were efficient and polite.
This is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSRabbitohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear SSRabbitohs,

Thank you for the wonderful review,

It was a pleasure to read the comments you have made about the hotel and our staff. I believe our location is one of the best in Brisbane with everything at our doorstep.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Thanks again

Scott Wright
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Rydges takes pride in providing good beds and the (queen size) bed we had was certainly very good. The room was average sized with a comfortable desk, desk chair and lounge chair, large screen TV and a kitchenette with microwave and sink, fridge and coffe and tea making facilities. The bathroom was smaller and a bit older looking than we are used to, with a bath with curtain and shower head, no mixing tap but two - unmarked - seperate taps. So getting the water temperature right takes some tweaking. Room and bathroom were clean and supplies like shampoo and tea were properly restocked when the room was made up in our absence.
Wired internet was free and has reasonable speed.
Elevators were a bit slow to show up, but we were told that one of the three had broken down.
The restaurant was closed as refurbishing was going on but the breakfast room on level 12 has a great view and a great breakfast buffet (english and continental). Prices are stiff though.
Meals were available from the downstairs bar, named CBD. A bit stark and noisy but with a friendly bartender and tasty snacks.
Staff was friendly and helpful and the concierges took care of parking and getting our car, moving the luggage and were well worth a tip.
The location is very convenient, both for the convention and exhibition centre, the theatre and shopping. Southbank restaurants are all within strolling distance.
Compared with the other six Australian Rydges hotels we visited so far: just a tad above average.

Room Tip: Higher level floors offer a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Henk T,

Thank you for your review of the hotel,

Rydges South Bank has installed new beds into all our guest rooms this year which has been and overwhelming success.
I can gather from your review you booked the special which incorporated the internet to the package, a very good choice. The hotel has invested $400,000 in upgrading its internet facilties, this will be rolled out in the coming weeks and will provide WIFI to all our guest rooms and majority of public spaces throughout the building.
The redevelopment of the Podium Level is set to open towards the end of this month. The new level will encompass state of the art function spaces, new pool, bar and restaurant called Bacchus.

I really appreciate your comments regarding our staff at the hotel.

I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you the hotel in the not too distant future.

Thanks again

Scott Wright
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#109 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing