We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #34 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here for one night on business recently. Basically good hotel, some renovation work still in progress but should be okay when finished.

The location is great, close to town and with more resteraunts to choose from than you will ever need within easy walking distance. The room was good and the price reasonable given how close to town it is.

A couple of issues from the renovations, there is currently no signage, so the place was a bit hard to find. The resteraunt is currently closed so breakfast was served in a makeshift function room upstaires, this was not great, expensive and we ended up leaving without managing to get a coffee. Also there is currently no wireless Internet in the rooms, I think this is being fixed but annoying at the moment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Mark D,

Thank you for your review of the hotel,

We are very fortunate to be situated in the South Bank precinct, as you have mentioned we have everything at our doorstep.

The current renovations are drawing to a close, scheduled for the end of this month. Please accept my apologies for the difficulties experienced in located the hotel, the facade of the hotel is now completed.

The hotel has currently invested $400,000 to upgrade its internet services; the upgrade will encompass faster speeds and wireless throughout the property. The new service will be available in the coming weeks.

Thanks again for the review,

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    822
    328
    95
    54
See reviews for
354
585
99
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights when in Brisbane for a show at the exhibition centre. In terms of location you definitely can't get any closer. The staff were excellent and could not help us enough, when asked for suggestions of where to eat we were given a heap of choices by the ladies working in the CBD bar. These same ladies checked how we enjoyed everything the next day when we came down for breakfast, that is a 10/10 in my books. While it is on the more costly side, you get what you pay for and we got excellent service as well as a worry free weekend away.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Kate H,

Thank you kindly for the glowing review.

It was a delight to read your review of the hotel and our staff. Rydges South Bank is known for its excellent service and attention to detail, so it is pleasing to see the staff encountered on your stay have represented us well.

The South Bank location is one of the best in Brisbane, not only for its ease to the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, but also for the parklands, restaurants and cafes.

I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you again

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

i was here for work. i wouldn't usually pay so much for a room. but it ended up being good value.

the cafe (CBD) is good, room service has a range of options (flavour wise and price wise) and the staff were friendly. i still can't understand why hotels don't have free wifi in all rooms, but the free wifi in the lobby was good. the in room internet was expensive but for skype etc... i paid the extra.

concierge was especially helpful. gym was okay. and they are building a pool apparently to open in september (but i stayed to the 29th of september, still no pool). had there been a pool this rating would have been even higher.

location is great too. so close to cafes and the river. i recommend the point restaurant as a reasonably priced dining option.

Room Tip: half of the rooms look out on the river. the other half on a more industrial site. not sure which si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homeperm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear “homeperm”

Thank you for the review from your recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank.

It is a pleasure to read we have exceeded your expectations. The CBD bar and cafe located on the ground floor spills out onto grey street, whether you are sitting having a coffee or choosing from the great selection of items on the menu ,the CBD is a great place to pass time.

The in-room internet is currently being upgraded and will be rolled out in the coming weeks, please watch this space
.
The hotel, as you have mentioned, is installing a pool. The estimated finish date is the second half of October.

I will pass on your kind comments to our Concierge team directly.

Once again thank you for the review, I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Scott Wright
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

With a fantastically comfy bed, great room-service breaky, and a terrific location, what's not to love?? We've always enjoyed staying at Rydges Southbank, it's one of our faves and we'll be back the next time we go to a show at QPAC.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy_Craddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Lindy_Craddy,

Thank you for your excellent review regarding your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

As stated in your review, our location is envious and our dream beds are the perfect way to wind down after a day out in Brisbane.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had originally booked elsewhere but due to complications i ended up at Rydges. Im so glad i did. The rooms and the view were great !!!! Room service was a treat with the view i only went out for dinner once during my 5 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Aaron J,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

It gives me great pleasure to read that the Rydges South Bank has a great chance to be your preferred hotel when travelling to Brisbane.

I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a great night away at Rydges - we were going to a show and Rydges South bank is very close to QPAC. We had a nice meal in their busy street-side cafe and walked the couple of minutes to the show. The location is great - walking along the river walkways and so many bars and cafes to choose from!

The service was wonderful from start to finish - they were doing major renovations but this didn't spoil our mini break at all! We had a room upgrade package with a view of the river - the breakfast buffet and service was also a treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Solnamara,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

From reading your review, it sounds like you had a lovely evening here at South Bank and I am extremely happy that we were able to provide fantastic service accompanied with excellent food before your short walk to QPAC.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next venturing to Brisbane.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Convenient location and CBD cafe great place for drinks and food. However, room internet rate is expensive even with 50% loyalty card discount - when they don't apply the discount...well why bother with the hassle of a loyalty card?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyAmelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoelGordon_SouthBank, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear LucyAmelie,

Thank you for your recent review in relation to your stay here at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Our location in the heart of South Bank is certainly a selling point for the hotel and I am pleased you were able to take full advantage of this during your stay.

Our loyalty program Priority Guest Rewards is beneficial in a fact that you do receive 10% off the best available rate when you book online, along with 20% off your Food & Beverage when you show your card upon the bill being presented. Please feel free to call me directly to maximise all benefits of the Priority Guest Rewards program.

I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Rydges South Bank Brisbane in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Joel Gordon
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#111 of 157 in Brisbane
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 157 in Brisbane
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing