We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all about location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #37 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's all about location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

South bank is a great place to stay so many eating and drinking options and a great morning walk along the river. Stayed in room 516 for business for one night. The hotel is good without being great. The room was a little tired and the bed lumpy but clean. There was no view from this room but after having breakfast on the 12th floor I recommend asking for a room higher up. It did have a balcony which looked at the building across the road. The staff are friendly and accommodating. I know Brisabne doesn't have daylight saving but the rest of the country does so can you start your breakfasts and dining options a little early.

Room Tip: Higher up facing the river would give a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rstanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear ‘rstanden,’

Thanks for reviewing us.

Glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay; particularly the South Bank precinct and the staff service. I second your room tip; our deluxe rooms with guaranteed views give a great aspect of the river and city.

Thanks again; I hope to see you again at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    785
    324
    94
    54
See reviews for
341
556
94
685
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I spend just one night with Rydges at Southbank and found it absolutely wonderful in every way. We have our premature born granddaughter at the Mater Hospital close by and this was a welcome reprieve from the stress of our situation. The room was booked through wotif so we did not expect to get city views, however we had a lovely room with the best views and a lovely big balcony to watch the sunset.
The room was exceptionally well equipped and had everything you could possibly want together with a lovely comfortable bed, which we are terribly fussy about and the bed usually does not meet our expectations.
All staff were great, but particularly on check out when we were greeted by the receptionist with a lovely smile and very professional, together with concierge who glanced at our chit to collect our car and before we knew it, it was there for us. Well done.
All in all a great place to stay and we would definitely go back there if we were looking to stay at Southbank again, although we are hoping our granddaughter will be transferred to the Gold Coast very soon, she has already been there for 9 weeks. But we find Southbank a lovely escape for a night away so I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzagoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear ‘kezzagoldcoast,’

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I really appreciate the rating and it was really nice to hear that your Rydges South Bank Brisbane experience was the reprieve you needed.

We wish you and your family all the best and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We (2adults+2kids) just spent three nights at this hotel. Our main reason for travelling was to see Mary Poppins at Qpac so we chose this hotel for its convenience. Even though it was busy when we arrived, check-in was fast & friendly. We pre-booked our parking for $20 per night (it was $30 if you didn't pre-book) & it was valet parking. Our room was a King Suite. It was massive. King size bed in a separate bedroom (with TV) & the sofa in the main area folded out to a double bed for the kids. Room had a table + 4 chairs, 2 additional lounge chairs, TV also in main room, bar fridge & microwave. Also a long balcony with a couple of chairs & small table - good view of the area. Shower/bath was decent & water was always hot. Everything was clean. Just as we settled into the room, there was a knock at the door & we were delivered a plate of fresh fruit (I guess this was part of our deal - it was just the perfect snack we needed after a long drive). The breakfast buffet was extremely busy but there was no real delay & the staff were run off their feet yet still very helpful & friendly. We were able to request poached eggs & they were made fresh (took 10 mins but they said it'd be 15 so very happy with that). The hot food part of the buffet was fairly basic but the range of cereals, breads, pastries, yoghurts & fresh fruit was excellent. Oh & the pancakes were great. We had room service one night & it was fast & tasty. During the day you could hear nearby trains & building works but it wasn't loud & certainly didn't interrupt our sleep or anything (& we slept in very late). You cross the road & you are in the South Bank area. Spent two days swimming & eating over there & it was very relaxing. Just a short walk across the bridge to the shops too. Any staff we came across during our stay always had a friendly hello & were helpful. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have just spent 2 nights at the Rydges. Booked the $177 special which included breakfast, which is very important when travelling with kids, it make life so much easier than trying to find a cafe.
The rooms were very nice and clean, staff friendly. Valet parking was easy.

My only gripe was the revolting music they play at breakfast, I felt like I was shopping in a mall with annoying music blaring out of shops ! Please could you just play some nice classical music.
The hotel could also do with some new reception area furniture as it is a bit stained and worn and cheap. Not a great first impression.

Everything else was great.
The hotel is in a great location especially for kids and the easy access to South Bank. My kids had their scooters. The South Bank water park is great for the hot and humid days in Brisbane.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicki p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear ‘nicki p,’

Many thanks for your review and feedback.

Glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the Summer Sizzling Special which has proven ever popular over the last couple of months; great to hear that the rooms and our staff were in line with your expectations. I can definitely appreciate your comments regarding the foyer furniture; with our renovations underway we will be stream lining our foyer and furniture in the coming months which will without doubt improve on our current settings.

Again thanks for the review; we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Ive stayed at the Rydges on Southbank a number of times now and have found it to be a great location for doing business in Brisbane CBD and handy to some of the city's best eateries and bars.

Rooms are contemporary and comfortable and there are no real issues there. Beds are comfortable and the general standard of cleanliness is good.

As this hotel is not new anymore, expect a few marks on the carpets and corridors.

Great breakfast to be had downstairs in the bistro/bar off the main lobby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonynNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear ‘TonynNadine,’

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your return custom and thank you for your comments. The hotel is in a great position with the perfect mix of proximity to the CBD with the South Bank location; this proves ever popular for our guests whether staying for leisure, conference or corporate reasons. I acknowledge the comments regarding the hotels finish; we have a busy 24 months at the hotel which will see improvements all around the business.

Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent New Year's Eve at Rydges amd enjoyed one of the best nights ever. The Dinner function on the 12th floor was world class and the views of the midnight fireworks absolutely unbeatable. What made it even better was being able to catch the lift to our room afterwards and enjoy a peaceful nights sleep

Room Tip: High floor balcony rooms have great views over Brisbane river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dp191244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear ‘dp191244,’

Thank you for reviewing your Rydges South Bank NYE experience.

We’re really glad to hear that you enjoyed the Level 12 Black Tie Event this year; a lot of effort went into ensuring all facets of the event went to plan and it is great to know that this effort really paid off through your experiences.

Thanks again for the review and spending this memorable night with us; we look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges South Bank Brisbane in the coming future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Arrived at 7.30AM and although they could not check us in immediately they did this by 11AM (before the 2AM standard check in). Very nice friendly, helpful staff. The rooms were nice, very large, clean, good balcony, not bad views. Its not the ritz but still does what is says on the tin. Would certainly consider staying here again next time in Bris, especially given the very fair price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear ‘Ben H,’

Thank you for reviewing your Rydges South Bank Brisbane experience.

It’s nice to read of your overall positive experience; the early check in, friendly staff and the notes regarding the rooms. We’re definitely working on the ‘Wow Factor’ at the moment as we are all pleased that our Podium Level development is underway which will unleash a brand new Restaurant Concept along with Function Facilities and a Pool come September / October of this year.

Thanks again for the review; we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#50 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#25 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing