We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable one night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #38 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comfortable one night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Registered as a priority guest member and booked a nite stay at the deluxe twin with river view with full buffet breakfast for $177. Family of 5 - 2 adults and 3 young children.

1. Check-in and services - Friendly and efficient service. We were upgraded to the King suite without requesting for it. Recieved half an hour of free internet service to do my flight check-in and printed out my boarding passes for free. There is also coin operated laundry service available but we did not try it.
2. Room - Comfortable king sized bed in the bedroom and an "OK" sofa bed in the lounge. TV in lounge room and bedroom. There's even a microwave oven.
3. Location - 15 mins walk to the city.

Negative: Upon check-in we were told that buffet breakfast was cancelled but we'll receive a credit of $25 per person to be used for food & beverages. (2A3C = $125.) Informed staff that we had to leave before 6am and he suggested that we can use the credit to order room service from the 24h menu. Upon check out, we were asked to pay for the room service. Staff on duty implied that no such allowance was ever made. After a short exchange of disageements, another staff intervened, pulled out a card that said something about the credit. And finally the room service was off-set.

Please make sure you clear things out when checking in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hana_Tay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
Dear ‘Hana_Tay,’

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I appreciate your comments all round and apologise for the confusion on check out which should have been rectified without issues as per the check in conversation; I was glad to see that despite the initial billing fault that this was corrected in turn. I was also happy to hear that you had a pleasant check in, enjoyed the upgrade and that you were able to take advantage of the business centre during your stay.

Thanks again; I hope to see you again at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    786
    324
    94
    54
See reviews for
342
558
94
686
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have stayed a few times at Rydges, the last time in late November. It's in a particularly handy spot close to the theatre, art gallery and Convention Centre.
The service is wonderful from the moment you arrive. The rooms I have stayed in are spacious and always well presented. Possibly the only negative thing I could say is the bathrooms are quite small, however they are always clean and in full working order. I am a Priority Club member and the benefits are very good.
I will definitely stay at Rydges again, I think is very good value for money and with excellent service.
Lots of good restaurants within a very short walking distance. The city centre is a nice walk across the river or short taxi ride away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineparadise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
Dear ‘sunshineparadise21,’

Many thanks for your review.

We really appreciate your return custom and such a great review. It is always nice to read of continued positive experiences especially when it comes to service. I appreciate your comment regarding the bathrooms; we are looking towards alternatives for a future refurbishment which will improve this section of our rooms.

Again thanks; we look forward to your next visit to South Bank.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Overnight stay at Rydges South Bank with wife and two children in a King Suite. Obtained a good rate from the Rydges web site through their free Priority Guest Membership.
The King Suite was smaller than the Queen Suite I had stayed in on previous stay but was still comfortable. Room had a partial view of river from balcony blocked by the Queensland Conservatorium and other buildings. The airconditioners for the Conservatorium are directly opposite the hotel and we found them to be vey noisy when we sat on the balcony or left the balcony doors open. There were only two chairs provided on the balcony so children sat on the floor.
The room was clean but a few scuffs on furniture and walls impacted on overall aesthetics. The king bed (as opposed to singles pushed together as seems prevalent in some other hotels in Brisbane) was very comfortable. However, the children were not overly impressed with the sofa bed - more than one night might have been to much for 2 children sharing the sofa bed.
Breakfast, temporarily being served on the 12th floor as they are renovating the ground floor restaurant, was ok - usual fare - nothing special.
Location of the hotel is great for tourists wanting to visit South Bank but there is a little walk into the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a room above level 6 for best available views of river and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear ‘George S,’

Many thanks for the review.

It’s nice to read hear that you were able to take advantage of our free membership program and booking a discounted rate for your stay with us. I appreciate your comments all round; regarding the great location and the notations regarding the improvements which we can work towards.

Thanks again for the review; I hope to see you again.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwell Point, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I have stayed many times at Southbank Rydges for both work and pleasure, and nearly everytime I have been happy with the service, room and location. I have stayed at many Rydges hotels around Australia and this is probably the best. I am a Priority Club member and couldn't be happier with the benefits you receive, basically for free, it's certainly worthwhile as a frequent traveller.
I have certainly observed an overall improvement in service over the past 2 years from all areas of the hotel, even when things do go wrong as they did for me recently. The manager personally emailed me, apologised, and provided me and my family with an upgraded room and complimentary breakfast in our next visit - what more could we ask for?
For me, this is the sign of a good hotel, striving to get it right everytime but if they don't doing something about it. Great place!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pointwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear ‘Pointwilliams,’

Thanks for the review!

Thank you for your return custom; it was great to read of your positive experience especially given the issue as noted from your previous stay. I appreciate your promotion of our Rydges PriorityGUEST program; it is indeed a really great and easy option for our guests to take advantage of with no fees and no commitments.

Thanks again for the review; I trust we’ll see you again.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel several times over the past ten years.
When in Brissie this is always our chosen hotel. We always ask for the same room and have been fortunate to have our request granted.
NYE is so special here as our room has a fireworks view.
The city is just a short stroll away as is The Gabba.
Southbank gardens are lovely with some amazing restaurants in the area.
Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tattyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear ‘Tattyadams,’

Thank you for the review and your continued custom.

It’s lovely to hear of your continued positive experiences with us especially across the NYE period which proves to be an ever popular event especially for the South Bank precinct. The precinct as noted is lined with some fantastic restaurants and cafes; this certainly adds to the life in the area and attracts many visitors.

Thanks again for the review; we hope to see you again in the coming future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

The title says it all, actually.

It's OK, in that it was a roof over our heads, but there are a million better three star hotels in this world.

It did what it said on the cover, but that is all. So I'm agreeing with most of the other TripAdvisor reviews. A bit tired, good location for the conference centre, overpriced, very ordinary.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilInOz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear “NeillnOz51,”

Thanks for the review.

It’s dissapointing to read your review; I appreciate your comments and we will take your thoughts on board moving forwards. Glad to hear that the location was a positive for you.

Thank you again for the review.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

I expected more from this place. Whilst in a great location, the fit out in the rooms were a bit cheap. Not much quality for the price paid.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeliverAsPromised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear “Deliver As Promised,”

Thank you for for staying and the review.

I appreciate your comments. The Brisbane accommodation market has been very strong this last year which has increased rates throughout the city; the city however is now approching a quieter trading period and there will be some very competitive offers in the market.

Thank you again for the review.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#112 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#22 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#50 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#25 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing