We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southbank Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Southbank Delight”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel several times over the past ten years.
When in Brissie this is always our chosen hotel. We always ask for the same room and have been fortunate to have our request granted.
NYE is so special here as our room has a fireworks view.
The city is just a short stroll away as is The Gabba.
Southbank gardens are lovely with some amazing restaurants in the area.
Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tattyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear ‘Tattyadams,’

Thank you for the review and your continued custom.

It’s lovely to hear of your continued positive experiences with us especially across the NYE period which proves to be an ever popular event especially for the South Bank precinct. The precinct as noted is lined with some fantastic restaurants and cafes; this certainly adds to the life in the area and attracts many visitors.

Thanks again for the review; we hope to see you again in the coming future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    825
    328
    96
    54
See reviews for
355
587
99
721
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The title says it all, actually.

It's OK, in that it was a roof over our heads, but there are a million better three star hotels in this world.

It did what it said on the cover, but that is all. So I'm agreeing with most of the other TripAdvisor reviews. A bit tired, good location for the conference centre, overpriced, very ordinary.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilInOz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear “NeillnOz51,”

Thanks for the review.

It’s dissapointing to read your review; I appreciate your comments and we will take your thoughts on board moving forwards. Glad to hear that the location was a positive for you.

Thank you again for the review.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I expected more from this place. Whilst in a great location, the fit out in the rooms were a bit cheap. Not much quality for the price paid.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeliverAsPromised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear “Deliver As Promised,”

Thank you for for staying and the review.

I appreciate your comments. The Brisbane accommodation market has been very strong this last year which has increased rates throughout the city; the city however is now approching a quieter trading period and there will be some very competitive offers in the market.

Thank you again for the review.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My Husband and I stayed in a Queen Deluxe Suite for 1 night last week for the start of a romantic holiday. This was the worst accommodation we stayed in and we were so glad we had only booked 1 night here. The room is too small and feels run down. The bathroom is so small and poorly designed you have to step over the toilet to get into the bath, not suitable for showering together. The shower head could not be adjusted so you were hammered with a heavy stream of water and could not wait to get out. The air con did not work well enough, it seemed to flucuate during the night so we were hot then cold. We ordered room service and the food was only just warm and was not good quality. On the positive side, the buffet breakfast was exceptional and the service, in particular the valet service was also excellent. We appreciated the bottle of water left in the vehicle when we departed. Fortunately for us our other accommodations were much better for the same price we paid so would not stay with Rydges even again.

Room Tip: Another Hotel maybe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear “Narelle S”

Thank you for the review.

It’s dissapointing to read your review as we do at all times aim to maintain our standards. The shower head sounds like it was faulty, the airconditioning not quiet right and the room service temperature and quality not to our normal specifications.

I was pleased to read that the buffet breafast, the concierge service and the gesture in your vehicle were all well received.

Thank you again for the review.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

As I was attending a conference at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, this hotel was ideal due to its location. It also is within walking distance to everything on Southbank, which was fantastic, as we were travelling as a group, and it meant that we could walk everywhere.

In terms of the accommodation rooms, the decor is old and dated, the bed was hard and uncomfortable, bathroom is tiny and poorly layed out and the airconditioning barely worked.

Check-in was terrible - we arrived at 2pm and stood at reception for 15mins while the receptionist "organised our room" - and where then told that the room was not ready and do we mind waiting... we didnt get the key to the room until after 3pm.

All other aspects of the hotel were positive - there is a great function room upstairs which offers gorgeous views of Brisbane, decent breakfast buffet and nice bar downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling_princess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear “traveling_princess1”

Thank you for the review.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, our breakfast, CBD Cafe Bar and the Level 12 Function Room. I apologise for the delays on check in; we do aim to have all rooms ready for a 2pm check in and it is dissapointing to read that this was missed and that your issue was not resolved prior to departing. I appreciate your comments regarding the rooms and we definately take these comments on board with planning for future projects.

Again thank you for reviewing your stay.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We were staying here for a work do and extended our stay for a few days. We opted for a suite at AU$340 per night. This was the worst value $340/night I have come across. The decor was old and tired, the towels threadbare, the crockery was not clean. At first the AC did not work properly and it took several complaints to have this fixed.

The facilities at the hotel are limited. We were with a group of about 6 and returned on a Sunday evening at 10.10 and could not get a drink at the bar. (This may be becuase of the backward licensing laws in Brisbane rather than the hotel, but sums up the service.)

Spend your hard earned dough somewhere else.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel to get value for money. If you have to stay here, avoid the north side (ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EamonnanChnoic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear “EammonnanChonic,”

Thank you for the review.

I appreciate the time taken to review your stay; I apologise for the housekeeping oversights as noted and will be noting your experience to the department to review and rectify; similarly with the air conditioning as noted. With reference to the construction; the BCEC is due for completion soon with the bulk of the works remainig being internal fitout.

Thanks again for reviewing your experince.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Standard room with broken shower. Checkout more interested in charging for nuts than understanding broken shower. Queried why I didn't raise the issue - only used shower morning of departure. So felt like it was my fault. Nothing special but handy location despite lots of building work. No wifi in room.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuncJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear “DuncJohn,”

Thank you for reviewing your stay on trip advisor.

I apologise for the lack of empathy shown with reference to the room issue as noted; we do have checks in place to ensure our rooms are to standard and whilst the shower was missed greater care should have been displaced when the issue was brought up.

Again thank tour for reviewing your stay; I hope to see you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 157 in Brisbane
432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#109 of 157 in Brisbane
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 157 in Brisbane
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing