We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service fantastic- views awesome- little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #35 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service fantastic- views awesome- little dated”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I had one night, catching up with a friend for a treat night, as in delux twin room, river view, lovely touches. However quite a bit of construction currently in view. Room was nice however for price a little dated, and for me not exactly 5 star, however again service from staff from reception and especially valet was awesome. Could not do enough.

And for a girls weekend, close to shops/2 mins from markets and two minutes from the art gallery and you feel like you are in the centre south bank was awesome.

Room Tip: Definetly do get a river view, with balcony was pretty special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou0833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thanks ‘Loulou0833’ for reviewing your stay.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the view, the staff and the service; your tip regarding booking a View / Balcony room is a very good one. The River and City view rooms are always in high demand and booking in advance will avoid disappointment.

The construction as noted in both of the Convention Centre (completion due any day now) and the ABC building in South Bank; both of which are low rise extending no higher than then level 2 of our accommodation floors. As is with much of Brisbane at the moment the construction is making way for better facilities and attractions moving forward.

Again, thanks for the review; I hope to see you and the girls back in the future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    812
    328
    95
    55
See reviews for
352
582
97
711
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived in Brisbane visiting from Coffs Harbour on the 3rd September 2011. We were pleasantly greeted by the concierge who was waiting out on the footpath to direct us into the hotel. The car door was opened and greeted with a 'Welcome to Rydges, can I help you with your luggage.' The car was taken away and our luggage brought inside, very swish!

We walked into reception knowing we had booked a Wotif Superior Queen room with a buffet breakfast in the morning. However the receptionist told us we had been upgraded complimentary to a King Suite! We stayed on the 4th floor facing the river, however we were a bit low to get a decent view.

The room was very nice, clean, comfortable, we had a separate bedroom from the living area and bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and was nice to be able to watch T.V before going to sleep. The entire room, contrary to other reviews seemed to be quite modern with all stainless steel appliances, new carpet, new flat screen TV's etc... However the couches were a 70's plum color.

The buffet breakfast for two the next morning was fantastic. I've had buffet breakfasts at Novotel in Coffs, however Rydges South Bank was leaps and bounds ahead.

So all in all a 5 star experience, and how much was all this.... $179!

Thank-you to the kind team at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, we'll be back soon!

Room Tip: Pay the bit extra and get a King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaundd89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear ‘Shaundd89,’

Thanks for the review and the 5 stars across the board!

We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the stay; the service, the room, the breakfast and the price. We do at the moment have some really great weekend offers which include breakfast, parking and accommodation and really represent great value for our product and location.

Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for the 2011 Brisbane Festival Sunsuper Riverfire weekend. I have to say that this hotel has the best location, right on South Bank and within walking distance to everything!

We were very happy with our stay here and the staff are very helpful and polite.

I do have to confirm as other guest to Rydges have found – this hotel could do with renovating its rooms. Yes the bathroom fills up with steam – most likely that the exhaust vent / return air ducts in the bathroom look like they have never been cleaned - there is so much dust clogging up the vent there is no way any air will get through them!

Also don’t try and have the room A/C on and use the hair drier – it blows the fuse for the room. Pulling the key in and out of the switch fixes the fuse but the room A/C still doesn’t work very well and often turns off by itself.

The restaurant food was good however not much variety on the breakfast buffet menu, the toaster doesn’t brown the bread even when set on dark. The carpet is so old, in sections it is stuck down with tape and does anyone know what the chief was cooking that is now splattered on the ceiling over the buffet?

As confirmed by other guests, I also attempted to get Qantas Frequent Flier points for my stay and was told that the rate I was staying on doesn’t qualify !

All that being said I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelhappy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear ‘Travelhappy88,’

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and joining us for this years’ Riverfire festivities! The night was a big night for the hotel, South Bank and Brisbane.

I acknowledge your concerns regarding the bathroom and have made our Housekeeping team aware of the issue. I also acknowledge the renovation comments and can confirm that we are about to start a multi-million dollar renovation of our boulevard level which will incorporate a new restaurant, extended function facilities, pool and leisure area; in the mean time the concerns regarding the marks adjacent to the air-conditioning vent will be resolved in full.

The power notation is not typical of the rooms at the hotel and I would like to have the opportunity to investigate this further.

Again thanks for the review; glad to hear you will consider us for a return stay as we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2011

A very enjoyable stay and a good Gym , food service allround. Very helpfull front of house staff also.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear ‘tony s,’

Many thanks for the review.

Glad to hear of your enjoyable stay; especially with regards to the front of house service as noted. Many thanks for the rating; I hope to see you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
227 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed here this year and I have found it to be a very comfortable hotel, close to station, theatre, galleries and restaurants as well as the convention centre. Much better than staying downtown.
Breakfast is expensive in the Parklands restaurant, but you can eat at the CBD cafe quite reasonably.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConstantTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear ‘ConstantTraveller77,’

Thank you for using Trip Advisor to review your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

Thanks for your return custom; we’re glad to hear that you enjoy the hotel’s location. Being nestled in the heart of South Bank definitely offers our guests a different experience when coming to Brisbane; the attractions, the culture and the relaxed nature are a welcomed change. Thank you for the note about breakfast; whilst we still offer the traditional buffet we have really made a push with our breakfast offerings in our cafe to both entice in-house and external guests into the venue.

Thanks again for the review; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was a fine hotel in a great location for conventions. It's right next to the Brisbane Convention Centre. 

However a hotel should be rated on all of the experience, including the way customers are treated relating to hotel offers and reward programme points, and sadly for me (a keen frequent flyer where point redemptions are important) this hotel fell well short of the mark. 

The hotel refused to award Qantas frequent flyer points based on some illegible small print that, despite Rydges marketing themselves as a Frequent Flyer Partner, says my room rate was not eligible for points. 

You can't have it both ways! Hotels should either be a partner & award points, or not advertise they are part of the programme. 

Sadly this post hotel stay experience has soured my feeling towards this hotel. 

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wicked_Indulgance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear ‘Wicked_Indulgance1,’

Thank you for reviewing your November 2010 stay with us.

I’m glad to hear that your hotel experience, whilst at the hotel, was good and that you enjoyed the location.

I appreciate your comment regarding the Qantas Frequent Flyer eligibility of your stay; without knowing the particulars of your stay we, as do all Rydges Hotels & Resorts, have reservation restrictions with reference to the issuing of points. As is noted on the QFF website we advise guests to contact the hotel prior to your stay to confirm eligibility; for us rate value and booking method formulate our criteria.

I apologise that the QFF issue has soured your view of the hotel; I hope to see you back at the hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We are regulars at Rydges South Bank and really wanted to leave a review to say thanks to the entire team! As Rydges members you get the whole package of a late checkout and welcome back drink which is nice - but have also had upgrades as well. Breakfast is always good value here whether in room service or the buffet. Location is fantastic right in the middle of Southbank for eating, drinking and cultural events. They ahve good deals with sows plus room as well. Parking is expensive - but that's Brisbane! Close to cross river ferry to get around Brisbane. We styaed once the night before a cruise and the ship was delayed until alte in the night and they let us have the room till 7pm with no extra charge! Staff all friendly and overall a great value for money with spacious rooms and balconies.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandSMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear ‘PandSMadison,’

Thank you for reviewing your stay and a special big thanks on the rating; much appreciated!

Glad to hear that all round you have been experiencing a high level of service and satisfaction which keeps you coming back. As Rydges PriorityGUEST members there are definitely some good savings to be had and we’re glad to see our active members taking advantage of their benefits!

Again, thank you for the review; we’ll see you back at Rydges South Bank Brisbane in the future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#17 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#113 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Property: Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#45 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing