We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay after a night out at the theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
Ranked #35 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed for a Saturday night on the 'Wicked' package on this occasion, and have stayed here on several other occasions for a night out on the town. The hotel is well situated to to the Southbank restaurant and theatre preciinct. The buffet breakfast is very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myoc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear ‘myoc2001,’

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and your continued business.

I glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the ‘Wicked Package’ in conjunction with your booking at QPAC and that you enjoyed your stay and the package inclusions.

Thanks again, we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,862 - 1,868 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

The location of this hotel is great if you are planning on going to a show at the Lyric Theatre or vising the museums and state library. Out the door and South Bank is right there with all its restaurants and attractions. A quick walk across the bridge to the city centre as well. The city cat is right on the doorstep as well for access to others areas of the city.

Hotel itself has had an upgrade and is very presentable. Worth $350 - $400 a night mid week? - I think not but for a weekend getaway 'special' rate is is good value. The hotel rooms are nothing out of the ordinary but clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent, lots to choose from and all kept hot and fresh.

Our check in time was 2pm. Late enough for a weekend away but when we arrived we found that our room was not ready. We finally got in just before 3pm (after sitting in the lobby waiting). While the reception staff were very polite and apologised this was not a good start to our stay. The next morning we found the cleaners camped outside our room waiting for us to check out. Not good enough for a supposed 4.5 star hotel. Rydges, you need to do much better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear ‘Relal,’

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I apologise for the two concerns regarding housekeeping; firstly with the room delays and then with the cleaners awaiting your departure. We do at all times organise as best as possible to have all guest rooms available from 2pm and for me it was disappointing to read no attempt by the team to resolve the waiting time issue as noted.

I appreciate the time taken to describe our location and the ease of moving to and from the city’s attractions; South Bank is a fantastic area in Brisbane for all guests of all walks of life. I’m also pleased to read of your experiences from Breakfast.

Again thank you for the review; I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Reception is always accommodating, the comp fruit platter makes you feel welcomed, rooms are well fitted out with all necessary comforts to make staying with children so easy, immaculately clean and housekeeping staff are always extremely polite, unobtrusive and efficient, and the professional concierge boys would always have a way of making us all laugh.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear ‘RuthNoosa,’

Thank you for reviewing your very recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I appreciate your glowing review; as a team we pride ourselves on our service, product and delivery and it is always great to see it when these core values shine through in a guest’s experience.

Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you on your next return to Brisbane.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed at Rydges as it was close to QPAC for a theatre night. The front office staff were polite and competent to a point. They asked what newspaper we wanted in the morning and then proceeded to bring the wrong one....

We were able to secure a room on a high floor. However it was not much of a view - we were on the train line side!! We weren't bothered by the noise though. The room was clean and of good size. The bed was comfortable and there was enough pillows and extra blankets.

One thing we didn't like was the bathroom. There wasn't an exhaust fan (as far as we could tell!!) and the steam from the shower was almost unbearable. It steamed up the mirror and would not dissipate even when the door was open for some time. Only minor thing really but a bit annoying when you need the mirror for makeup etc.

No wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salman_QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2011

Dear ‘Salman_QLD,’

Thank you for reviewing your very recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I’m glad to hear that you had an overall positive experience and that your interactions where memorable with the team. I apologise for the oversight with the newspaper delivery in the morning and appreciate your notation regarding the vent in the bathroom and the difficulty clearing the steam as noted.

I hope this glitch doesn’t deter you from considering us as an accommodation option moving forward and I hope to see you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have stayed in a few rydges here in australia all seem in desperate need of renovation or ... something ... anything... and have pricey meals (adelaide = dire all round) (sydney = smelly smiking rooms, expensive and bad restaurant, bathrooms awful, canberra = nice foyer shame about the rest) - but - i enjoyed rydges southbank. a la carte breakfast was reasonable, the room was clean - including the bathroom. very comfortable bed. staff at checkin and concierge were friendly and professional. easy location to wander around. only downsid es are the parking is prohibitively pricey and the walls are thin - i could here TV half the night from the person in the next room. so - for a rydges its amazing but in general terms its very good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcbcgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Dear ‘jcbcgb,’

Thank you for reviewing your very recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I’m terribly sorry to hear of your past experiences at a selection of other properties in the Rydges group; as a company we all take great pride in our product, its presentation and ensuring our standards are high throughout all of our properties.

With relation to your stay with us I was definitely glad to read that we performed on the hole to your liking with our staff, breakfast, location and room cleanliness getting a good mention.

Thanks again for the review; I hope to see you back at Rydges South Bank Brisbane in the future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Booked here to attend a conference and found the location to be perfect for going to the Brisbane Conference Centre. There is a walkway through to the centre which takes 1 minute.

Room Service and Food very good. Rooms are clean although quite tired but staff are pleasant. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigiTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Dear ‘gcbarnum,’

Thank you for reviewing your very recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I’m glad to hear that the location, room service and staff attitude were up to your expectations and that overall your stay was positive.

Thanks again for the review; we hope to see you back soon.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights as I was attending a conference at the Convention Centre. Walls are thin, and the rooms are in need of an update. My room was at the back of the hotel. There was noise from construction work all day the first day, followed by loud bass noise from the band at a conference dinner that night until late (ironically the dinner I left early to try and get some sleep). Was also woken by housekeeping staff in the service room next to mine during the night. Coffee and breakfast in the cafe on the ground floor was fine. reception and concierge staff were very helpful.
I wouldn't stay again. If the Mantra was too pricey - which it was on this occasion - I'd stay over the river and walk or use cabs.

Room Tip: Fonrt of hotel as far as possible from convention centre construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BozD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Dear ‘BozD,’

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I do apologise that your stay with us did not meet your expectations; the noise issues both internal and external are disappointing to hear. I do appreciate your room tip; our rooms on the front of the hotel are of a superior level than our entry level rooms and offer larger living spaces, balconies and some offer amazing views of the city, South Bank and the river.

Again thank you for taking the time to review your stay; I hope you will reconsider us as an accommodation option following the completion of the adjacent building.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#32 of 168 in Brisbane
1,213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Menso at Southbank
Menso at Southbank
#103 of 168 in Brisbane
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#19 of 168 in Brisbane
582 reviews
0.5 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#13 of 168 in Brisbane
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: Rydges Southbank 9 Glenelg St | South Brisbane, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#37 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#46 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $136 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing