We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and relaxed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Bender Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banana Bender Backpackers
Ranked #61 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I spent a few weeks at this hostel while doing some work in Brisbane. Very laid back and friendly. Everything is cleaned daily and there is a nice deck to socialize and eat. Good sized rooms and no squeaky beds here(they are welded) so nice quiet night sleep. Beer is cheap from reception for 3-4 dollars although its not a party place its cool to meet people. Easy walk into the city and supermarket and bars and cafes are very close by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mulder255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
25
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed there for two days during my visit to Brisbane. I have stayed in hostels in Sydney and this one was really relaxed. The dorm only had 4 beds which as great! Very trusting. The showers weren't great, but a shower all the same!

Could do with lockers in the room, and our room only had one outlet, however there are outlets for charging phones etc in the main communal area. The only thing I would say would be that the bathrooms could do with paper towels as there was nothing to dry your hands with.
Apart from that, we had a friendly welcome, and it is definately worth paying that extra couple of dollars to stay here. Small and friendly, and pretty respectable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie_W_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My partner and I needed somewhere reasonable to stay as we were relocating from overseas. Having stayed the previous year whilst backpacking I knew that it was clean, quite and friendly which is just what we needed as we were both working.
We were delighted to find that they had separate 1 bedroom apartments. The first night we stayed in a private room which was clean and everything you expect for a backpackers, it was a little cold and they had no trouble supplying me with an extra blanket. The only small thing I found that I like my cup of tea before I go to bed and the kitchen closed at 10, but I do suppose this is for safety and noise consideration and I was only there for one night so I survived. Note that the kitchen was always clean and the other residents were very respectful and helped keep it clean.
Ben took us to see the apartment before giving them a definite answer that we wanted to stay. The apartment was a little dated (lick of paint maybe) but otherwise clean and had everything basic you needed, including a proper oven! It also had a TV with a DVD player (just near coles is somewhere where you can hire DVD's) This place was perfect for us as we had alot of stuff! You do have to do your washing up at the hostel but that was never too much of an issue.
All the staff were so helpful, originally we were only supposed to stay for 2 weeks (min stay 2 weeks) but as our flat was not ready to move into we had to keep extending, we had no finite date, and once extended at the last minute. There was never an issue and they made our relocating so stress free!
The location is also fantastic short walk to a Cole's, cinema, restaurants and a pub! 10-15min walk to Roma street station (a main station) taking you into the city in a matter of minutes.
Overall our stay was pleasant and would send any of our friends there and if we were ever to relocate all over again (although i hope not) we would stay there again.

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights, 2 nights in a private bedroom and 2 nights in a 4 share.
Keep in mind, last time I stayed in a backpacker was 15 years ago...
While it is an old hostel, it is cleaned on a daily basis (twice daily, I believe, for the kitchen).
The 2 older (sorry mate! ;)) Aussie guys that run the shop were very friendly, and they also keep everybody in check so there was no anarchy and they kept good vibes going.
Even if the hostel was at full capacity, I never had a problem using the facilities (I didn't use the kitchen at all, so I can't comment on that).
The outdoor area is very good (nice views!) and it makes it easy to have a chat with other fellow travellers. I found out there was quite a few people that stay there for months so they must do something right.
There is a Coles supermarket at less than 3 minutes walk and also a fair amount of shops/bars/restaurants in the vicinity. It's 10/15 minutes walk to the city.
The shuttle from the airport to the door of the hostel is $20 (it's not called Skytrans by the way), the ticket office is just out of the airport, near the Virgin 'departure' sign.
Wifi is $5 a day, $7 for 2 (there is also a weekly rate), and it's quick and thru the hostel.
If I go back to Brisbane I will stay there again, as I heard some horror stories about the other hostels.
It's more of a 'grown up' hostel than a party place and that what I was looking for.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alavotre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Great outdoor areas, chilled out vibe and good setup! Our room smelt a little bit moldy but the vibe of the place and the people made up for it. Rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade but it is a backpackers afterall. Would definetly recommend banana benders to fellow travelers over other hostels in Brisbane.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breezeinnbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had searched online looking at various hostels throughout Brisbane from the UK as we were flying shortly after and needed a place to stay for a while. We really liked the look of Banana Benders, as well as the prices, so decided to give them a shout to ask them a few important questions.

The main question we had was if they allow late check ins as our flight actually arrived early hours of the morning in Brisbane, which is common and difficult to overcome on such long trips. We sent a message via email and had a very bold and rude prompt response which basically said 'No we don't do late check ins you'll have to find elsewhere'. This is a disgraceful attitude towards potential customers, so we have chosen to avoid this hostel due to its lack of customer service.

Perhaps others will meet better staff but being welcomed into another country is of utmost importance. So be aware!

Room Tip: Contact the hostel before you book to ask questions and make sure you are getting the right welcome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesDude86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBenders, Manager at Banana Bender Backpackers, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Sorry WalesDude86 but Banana Benders has been unable to find any record of our email exchange. We are particularly surprised someone would consider the wording of any email that Bananas would sent to potential customers as a "disgraceful attitude" - reading your post , you were obviously disappointed that we were unable to assist with your accommodation needs at that time. Please try again next time you're in Brisbane - you won't be disappointed (7.00-23.00)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I have stayed in many hostels all over the world, and also many hotels. I stayed in Banana Benders hostel for a period of three months in total.

Overall most of the staff were friendly but there were a few acceptations. There are two managers that run the hostel, I found that one minute they’re friendly, and ten minutes later they’re quite confrontational. They regularly have backpackers and family working at the reception that always seem to do a good job.

The rooms were generally fairly good. Some were tiled and some are carpeted and they were always kept clean. They are generally spacious. I only stayed in four dorms during my entire stay.

The kitchen seemed to always be cleaned. It was shut for a few minutes a day for a full clean. It was fully equipped with a fair amount of room to store your food. It needs a bit of extra room, but only when the hostel was very busy.

Despite some of the reviews claiming there were not enough toilets, I found the amount to be adequate enough. They were always kept clean and were checked several times a day.
The terrace has good views and there are normally plenty of people to talk to on the terrace. They also have a T.V. room with a wide range of films and digital T.V.

Overall I found this hostel to be one of the cleanest I have stayed in. I could find little room for improvement. Coles is only a three minute walk away. And Roma Street station is probably ten minutes away.

Room Tip: A four bed is the better option, and there is no price differance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Albanian_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
0.2 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#9 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#72 of 133 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#25 of 133 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chill Backpackers
Chill Backpackers
#102 of 133 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#103 of 133 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bender Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bender Backpackers

Property: Banana Bender Backpackers
Address: 118 Petrie Tce, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Banana Bender Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing