We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and handy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brisbane International - Virginia
Ranked #45 of 170 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I recently stayed here overnight so I could attend the P!NK concert. From the moment we arrived we noticed the grounds were clean and tidy and the staff polite and friendly. They organised a taxi and all for us. The room was spacious and very clean. For the little time that we used it we were very comfortable. We also had breakfast in the restaurant that was extremely beautiful. Would happily stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Michelle D

Thanks for the great review. We hope that you had a sensational time at the P!nk concert, from all accounts she wowed the crowd and put on a fabulous show.

Your kind comments have been passed on to our staff and they are thrilled that they could make your stay so enjoyable and carefree.

We’d love to have you back again, make sure you check out all the fantastic upcoming concerts at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre.

Kind Regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 651 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

rooms are typical of motel style room, but there is a full mini bar and the buffet breakfast was amazing, i found the staff and the cleaning staff to be pleasant and accommodating, i felt the price was a bit too high but over all it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juleswhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Juleswhite

Thank you for taking the time to review Brisbane International Virginia.

We’re pleased that you enjoyed the amenities on offer at the hotel including the minibar and the great buffet breakfast.

Your kind comments regarding our staff have been passed on, recognition for a job well done is always appreciated.

Thanks again for taking the time to post a review.

Kind regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a very tidy Hotel. Very large complex but very expensive for what you get. Minimum foxtel. Comfy double bed. Cold dark bathroom. Ideal location if needing Brisbane north. Continental breakie was included in price but very limited and so upgraded to full breakfast which was well worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Tillobilla

We’re glad you enjoyed the location of Brisbane International Virginia, we are very convenient to many Brisbane north side locations such as the Brisbane Entertainment Centre, Chermside Shopping Centre and many other facilities.

Many of our room rates do include the continental breakfast which includes cereals, fresh fruit and preserved fruits, toast, muffins, Danishes and croissants, yoghurts as well as meat and cheese selections, so I am disappointed that you felt the choice was very limited, however as you said our upgrade to a hot breakfast is very good value.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Tidy and neat. Cheap TV absolute minimum foxtel. Premium price for b grade offering. Heat pump would not work because battery flat in controller. The service desk but would not change batteries even though he brought replacements because he managed to start it but could not adjust temp. Price includes breakfast but extra charged.Desk guy said yes thatthat's to be the way it works here. Only been here a short time and I will be gone as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Rexgibbs

I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. As you are aware the night you stayed was the 2nd State of Origin Match, which was being held in Brisbane and accommodation was quite scarce. Our hotel, unlike others does not see this as an excuse to push our prices upwards and we offer the same priced rooms as we would on any other night of the year. The room you stayed in was a Spa room and is offered at a slightly higher premium price than our standard rooms.

Upon check-in I believe you advised that you would be leaving the hotel too early to enjoy the continental breakfast that was included as part of the package you had purchased and therefore our check in staff did not issue you with your voucher. I apologise that you were charged when you decided to stay on in the morning and enjoy breakfast in the Rocklily Restaurant. As soon as this mistake was realised your credit card was reversed and an email was sent to you to advise of our error and that we had fixed it.

I am sorry that you were unable to get the heater to work in your room and that we were not able to suitably rectify the situation. It is very unlike our staff to be unable to assist our guests in a friendly and helpful manner.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Brisbane International is comfortable but without a car it isn't easy to get around. Train stations are a long walk from the hotel, and a taxi ride into town is expensive. We upgraded to a one-bedroom apartment which was clean and spacious and had a good kitchen where it was easy to prepare a meal.
The bedroom was large but the bed wasn't all that comfortable - we both found it too soft. There was a fair bit of noise from other guests who like to congregate outside to smoke and drink, but fortunately they didn't make noise all night...
Unfortunately we ordered a meal from the restaurant via room service one evening and it was very disappointing - almost inedible.
Staff are friendly enough and the grounds are large and pleasant to walk around. There is a small store and a good selection of take-away food stores across the road from the hotel.
The Boondall wetlands are not too far away but without a car it is a long walk to get to them.
Overall, this hotel was just okay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main roads if you can - traffic noise can be quite intrusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear DarrenRu

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Brisbane International Virginia, we are very appreciative of all the feedback we receive.

We’re glad you enjoyed the space and facilities that the one bedroom apartment offered but unlike most of our guests it was disappointing to hear that you found the bed a bit too soft for your liking.

We do ask all of our guests to be mindful of others when standing outside of their rooms, and in the case that noise does get a bit loud we welcome calls to our 24 hour reception and we will quite gladly ask other guests to keep the noise down so that everyone can enjoy their stay.

I was particularly concerned to hear that your room service meal was disappointing, I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your order. Had you let us know at the time we could have had the meal prepared again and sent to your room with our sincerest apologies.

We are located centrally to 3 train stations, all of which are 20 minute walk away or a 3 minute taxi ride and we have a bus stop directly across the road which goes to the city very regularly making getting around Brisbane and the surrounding area relatively easy.

Again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Kind regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Clean if dated rooms, I was in the area over the back in the 60's, probably when they were last updated!
Nice evening meal but breakfast was almost inedible dry food left out too long! Thank god for cereal an toast!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chambo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Chambo66

Thank you for taking the time to review Brisbane International Virginia.

We’re glad you enjoyed your evening meal in Rocklily Restaurant and I hope that you had a chance to try one of our Chef’s specials. However I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your breakfast and your feedback has been passed on to our restaurant team. Our Rocklily breakfasts are highly regarded amongst our regular guests so your comments are worrisome and will be followed up accordingly.

Again thank you for taking the time to review Brisbane International Virginia and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

On Saturday we held our wedding and reception at this venue. Louise was instrumental in helping us plan and execute the event. She was a massive help and am grateful to her for all her hard work. All the staff on the day, no matter what their role, were exceptional and couldnt do enough for us. The food was wonderful too and our guests all seemed to enjoy their meals immensely. I wouldnt hestitate to recommend this venue to anyone holding a function or like us a wedding. We couldnt have been happier.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Glen B

We are absolutely thrilled that we could help to make your wedding day so special and enjoyable for yourself and your guests.

Your feedback has been passed on personally not only to Louise, our Wedding Coordinator, but also all the staff that assisted on the day. We find that our bride and grooms really do appreciate being able to deal with one person who assists them from their first visit to our venue right through to the big day – we aim to personalise our services as much as we can possibly can.

We hope to be involved in many more happy celebrations in your future.

Kind Regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
3 mi away
Essence Serviced Apartments
Essence Serviced Apartments
#94 of 170 in Brisbane
151 reviews
5.6 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Northgate Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#40 of 170 in Brisbane
2,256 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aabon Apartments & Motel
Aabon Apartments & Motel
#82 of 170 in Brisbane
141 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ibis Brisbane Airport
Ibis Brisbane Airport
#87 of 170 in Brisbane
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane International - Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane International - Virginia

Address: Cnr Sandgate & Zillmere Roads | Boondall, Brisbane, Queensland 4034, Australia (Formerly Virginia Palms International)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#42 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $90 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisbane International - Virginia 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north side of Brisbane, Brisbane International - Virginia is a four star property set amongst 10 acres of lush, tropical gardens. A variety of accommodation is available from a hotel room to a fully serviced one or two bedroom apartment... whatever your accommodation needs, there is something to suit you. We are located only 3 kms away from the Brisbane Entertainment Centre, perfectly situated for the next time you're in town to see your favourite perform in concert. Brisbane International and Domestic Airport are also just 15 mins away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brisbane International - Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Palms International Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing