We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick of the bunch on the North side???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brisbane International - Virginia
Ranked #35 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pick of the bunch on the North side???”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Room good for a $160 deluxe queen. Definetly pay the extra $9 for hot buffet b/fast. Free WiFi is a bonus. TV sits on a low stand & is small, thus can't watch in bed and no lounge to sit on either - just a lounge chair. Motel should have wall mounted large TV's etc for the prices they charge. Mini bar had no OJ & was "on the warmer side" with the drinks not really chilled. Even though a restaurant is on site you can't get fresh milk for your coffee either. No where to walk to, thus we drove 20 mins to Breaky Creek Hotel for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Brad290

Firstly, thank you for your review and constructive feedback.

We are currently midway through a project to update all the televisions in our rooms to full HD digital models with larger screens and where possible, wall mounted.

Your comments regarding the minibar temperature and choices have been passed on to our housekeeping team to rectify and I offer apologies that the drinks were not cold for you to enjoy.

When and where possible we are always happy to help with fresh milk for use in tea and coffee. It can be supplied anytime that our restaurant is open by either dropping into reception or the restaurant itself.

We’re glad you enjoyed the hot breakfast upgrade option and the free high speed internet. We do hope that you will stay with us again in the future and if you need some alternative ideas for services in the local area we would be happy to offer suggestions, just ask our friendly team at reception.

Kind regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    259
    94
    22
    11
See reviews for
160
168
37
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The dining experience at the Hotel was fantastic, food quaility was very good, but what topped it off was the friendly, professional service from Julie.
Julie has a great personality and made the night what is was.
I would definitely recommend the experience

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Carlos P

Thank you for taking the time to review Rocklily Restaurant at Brisbane International Virginia.

It is very encouraging to hear such great things said about our staff and your comments have been passed on to Julie and the rest of the Food and Beverage Team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another great restaurant experience.

Kind Regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersby, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My first stay here on business in SE Qld area. I would start by saying front desk was helpful and friendly with a map supplied to my room as it was a fair way from reception. I had a room at the back of the motel so road noise was minimal (Sandgate Rd very busy) but the walls were about as thin as i have had anywhere with talking & coughing clearly heard from either side. Also very noisy when doors nearby are opened and closed and if cars arrive/leave outside.
The room has been obviously renovated to try to modernise it, is clean and the bed reasonably comfortable. The bathroom was fairly clean and the shower OK (watersaver head). Cable internet is free and works well with a cables at reception if required. I ordered take away from the indian across the road (awesome indain feed and great value) and had it delivered as the restaurant prices were quite expensive, especially with $$ added to menu prices for room service and the menu very limited.
Overall a decent short stay but if you like quiet and more modern apointments maybe look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms well away from Sandgate road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HorseLoverBDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear HorseLoverBDM

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

Great to see you found our staff fantastic, providing friendly and helpful service during your stay.

We always to try to accommodate our guests where possible with a room that suits their needs, either somewhere quiet, or close to reception or the restaurant – please just ask at check in or let us know when you make your reservation.

We’re happy to provide free internet to all of our guests and we’re glad you were able to make use of the service.

We also have recently built one and two bedroom apartments that offer quiet and modern appointments, please let us know if you’d like to book one of these rooms as an alternative to our standard hotel rooms when you next return to Brisbane International Virginia.

Kind Regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very clean and spacious apartment. Nice staff at the restaurant. Only stayed one night, bit expensive but you get what you pay for if you know what i mean. Self contained apartment was fresh and very welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad088_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Brad088_12

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay in our apartments. They are very spacious and definitely come in handy when travelling with the family or you just need some extra space.

Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel and I do hope we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back when your travels bring you this way again.

Kind Regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyanup, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A great place to stay
we had an overseas trip planned and were staying here when we got back for 3 days Called them to ask if we could leave our excess and unneeded luggage there while we were away for a week and they couldn't be more helpful.
when we arrived back in the small hours we were met by a helpful staff member who made the transition effortless. the place has great amenities and even better staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Kevin L

Thanks for your great recommendation to other travellers on Trip Advisor.

We are always more than happy to help where we can and our 24 hour reception certainly makes life easier for travellers, such as yourself, arriving in the middle of the night.

Thank you for you comments about our staff, I believe they are our most valuable asset, I will ensure that they all get to see your comments.

Kind regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The room was ok but rather cold. It was equipped with both fan and a/c, but a heater would have been much more useful.

Restaurant and food good, but a bit expensive.

Gym is quite small, with modern cardio equipment but only a rather dated multigym and no free weights.

Pool is very small, also very little space around it.

The hotel is much further from the airport than I had expected, with a taxi ride costing £40.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not_so_Old_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Not_so_old_Nick

Thank you for reviewing Brisbane International Virginia.

We’re glad you enjoyed our Rocklily Restaurant, we take great pride in our Chef Ashleigh’s great menus and fantastic kitchen crew.

You’re comments about the room being cold surprise me as all of our air conditioners are reverse cycle systems and offer both heating for the cooler months and cooling for the summer months and are individually controlled from the rooms. Had you called our friendly reception team we would have been more than happy to come down and show you how to set the air conditioner to heat.

Our property is only 12kms (15 mins) from Brisbane International/Domestic airport but taxi prices are unfortunately something that we do not have any control over.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Glenn Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here with kids in room 19. (room 19 is HUGE!). We were made so welcome, everywhere was clean, lovely pool, kids loved the play equipment with the flying fox. Food was good including a kids menu. The staff in the restaurant were so accommodating and friendly. The accommodation is opp eagle boys, 7/11, burger place, Thai place and other shops plus down the road from bottle shop. The kids were competing at Brisbane Ent centre and the accomodation is perfect distance. We will def return. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WACheerleaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BneIntl, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear WACheerleaders

Thank you for taking the time to review Brisbane International Virginia on Trip Advisor.

It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback. I know our team will be delighted to read it. Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back for next year’s tournament, if not before.

Kind Regards

Glenn Barnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
5.6 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Northgate Airport
3.0 mi away
Essence Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Novotel Brisbane Airport
Novotel Brisbane Airport
#36 of 160 in Brisbane
2,151 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 160 in Brisbane
1,085 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kingsford Smith Motel
Kingsford Smith Motel
#12 of 160 in Brisbane
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane International - Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane International - Virginia

Property: Brisbane International - Virginia
Address: Cnr Sandgate & Zillmere Roads | Boondall, Brisbane, Queensland 4034, Australia (Formerly Virginia Palms International)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisbane International - Virginia 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north side of Brisbane, Brisbane International - Virginia is a four star property set amongst 10 acres of lush, tropical gardens. A variety of accommodation is available from a hotel room to a fully serviced one or two bedroom apartment... whatever your accommodation needs, there is something to suit you. We are located only 3 kms away from the Brisbane Entertainment Centre, perfectly situated for the next time you're in town to see your favourite perform in concert. Brisbane International and Domestic Airport are also just 15 mins away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane International - Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Palms International Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing