We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
Ranked #48 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent value and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Unlike a previous poster, I think the Travelodge offers more than "basic accommodation." The beds are excellent, the room offers a kitchenette with microwave, there is a lounge and desk area and anything you need is available at the huge Garden City shopping mall next door.
Everything is easily accessible to older people and those with limited mobility ( level entrance, good lift, no step to access shower). In fact , we were asked if we would need assistance in case of an evacuation.
This Travelodge is much quieter than the one at Sydney Central, possibly because the tour groups here are mostly middle-aged to older Asians, whereas in Sydney they tend to be American teenagers.
Buffet breakfast is available, but rather overpriced with the mall next door.
The only minor issues we had were being issued with the wrong keycard for one of the rooms, and the room not being serviced before we returned from shopping in the early afternoon.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor which was quiet. No problems with which side (we had two rooms opposite eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozziegiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

All comments made are greatly appreciated not only by me but also my team.

Your reflection of your time at Travelodge Garden City does reinforce our hotel mantra of clean, tidy, value for money and friendly service.

I am pleased we have not only met your expectations, but exceeded them.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    317
    122
    40
    12
See reviews for
173
156
62
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Located adjacent to the Westfield Mall (Garden City), this hotel offers basic, no frills accomodation which is comfortable, clean and with pleasant service. Suited to business travellers who need to be in this part of Brisbane - the hotel has everything you expect for a short stay. The rooms are spacious and comes with a small kitchenette (with fridge, microwave, crockery & utensils plus a separate kitchen sink). There is a work bench/desk as well as a sofa bed.

There is a dining area that serves breakfast but with the Garden City Mall next door, you are better off walking over for your meals (or calling in one of the many delivery food drops which the reception desk will recommend). There are no recreational facilities & there are PC's with internet facilities which are coin operated ($2 for 20 min - so very reasonable). We noticed that the hotel caters to large tour groups which drop off their group in the evenings and depart around 8 to 9 am. So avoid the lobby area or reception desk at this time as its complete mayhem & reception staff can be a little frazzled! Otherwise its quiet and peaceful!

All in all - a pleasant stay and provides what you need for a short stay.

Room Tip: Walk over to Westfield Garden City Mall for shopping & restaurants. Coles & Woolworths are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpioshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

All comments made are greatly appreciated not only by me but also my team.

We strive to not only meet guest’s expectations but exceed them and your comments truly validate our mantra to provide a clean, tidy, friendly and helpful experience.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

If you are looking for a room that is clean and tidy and close to public transport this is the place to stay in Brisbane good prices but really good service and advice and for me that's important. Not much more to say but they make me put 200 character Sorry

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking time to review your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

The team and I strive to not only meet guest’s expectations but exceed them and we are very happy to hear this was achieved during your stay.

Should you be travelling this way again, I look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I did enjoy my stay at the Travelodge and would happily be back as its just around the corner from work and its an excellent price.

But apart from a room it doesn't have the usual hotel features and there were one or two annoying issues.

Cons:

>There is no place for lunch OR dinner. They only serve breakfast. So no room service, bar, etc.

>There is no mini bar. Though the vending machines downstairs sell everything from panadol, to iphone charges, to memory sticks, ice creams, etc.

>So given that why do they charge you $100 on your credit card even though the room has now been paid in full?

>I'm not a fan of a blanket - that doesn't get washed between clients - sandwidge between two sheets.

>The iron is of terrible quality. No place for water. Thus failed to iron my shirts well each morning.

Pro's:

>The mattress is superb together with a good choice of pillows.

>Soundproofing is excellent. Didn't hear any noise from the room next to me.

>It's a great price.

>Staff are really friendly, professional and helpful.

>Cleaning is top notch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleepy_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

I appreciate all comments made; this not only assists me but the whole Travelodge team. I have reviewed a couple of comments made regarding minibar and irons. We do offer steam irons, with most rooms been replaced as needed, while alcoholic beverages are available from reception.

I am pleased that we have met your expectations and your stay was an enjoyable one.

I look forward welcoming you back to the hotel when next you travel.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

You dont't go to this hotel for frills, but for a modest tariff I slept in a comfortable twin room, that was spotlessly clean. The shower runs a bit hot n cold, but the room otherwise covered all the basics well. The foxtel stations were good, ad we made good use of the ice machine and other amenities. The location is great for shopping, cinema, and cheap restaurants. Car park s also handy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sangii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

The comments made do reflect the mantra of our brand, clean, tidy, value for money and friendly team. I am pleased we have met your expectations and your stay was a positive one.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Let me first say that this hotel is about 15 min drive from Brisbane CBD. I had a rental car and wanted a hotel with a free parking. Most of the Brisbane hotels charge $20-25 per might of parking. This hotel has a large parking lot in the front of the hotel and its free. Hotel is right off the freeway.
Otherwise, the hotel is what you would expect from Holidays Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MINIMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

All comments made are appreciated by both myself and team.

I look forward to welcoming you next time you travel this way.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September while in Brisbane to see my daughter. It's not a terribly fancy hotel but has all the amenities you need. My room was on the second floor and was very clean. The bathroom, although dated, was scrupulously clean, and everything worked perfectly. Bed was fine, I slept well, and then went down to breakfast which is served in the small dining area right next to the reception area. At a cost of $16.50 it's a little pricey but offers both hot and cold choices. I initially booked for 2 nights but upon realising that I would need a third, the man in reception was most helpful even though the hotel was nearing capacity. All in all it was quite a pleasant stay and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimandgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

All comments are valued by both myself and team, as we strive to exceed our guests' expectations at all times.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back when next you travel.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
7.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
1.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#59 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
7.8 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#56 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
7.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
7.8 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane

Property: Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
Address: 18 Macgregor St, Brisbane, Queensland 4122, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brisbane
Travel Lodge Brisbane
Mt Gravatt Travel Lodge
Brisbane Travel Lodge
Brisbane Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing