We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
Ranked #47 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value and good experience”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I have stayed at Travelodge properties elsewhere in Australia and they are all of pretty good standard. This one is located SE of Brisbane city, about $7 away by the express busway (highly recommended way to travel) or $35 for a cab. It is therefore a bit 'out of the way' for some, but for those who need to be near the city, but necessarily in it, this property offers a good alternative to inner city stays which can often be very over-priced for what they offer. It was correspondingly pretty quiet when I was there. The room was quite well appointed, modern and clean. The queen bed was comfortable and the overall comfort level high. The restaurant and buffet breakfast are not flash, but offer reasonable value. There are good evening eating venues not far away by car/cab, and the Westfield shopping centre is a short walk away (and Officeworks is even closer for those who indulge in stationery browsing!) Staff at reception and in the restaurant were friendly and courteous.
In short, a well priced good alternative to inner Brisbane stays.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canberra_no_mad_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Comments whether they are positive or constructive assist us with training and further enhancing the guest experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    327
    126
    40
    13
See reviews for
181
162
65
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This is a very basic hotel despite the price tag. Completely no frills. Would be good to have some more facilities and services. It's located close to a bus station so if you are drawn to staying there because you have a function in the area, I recommend getting something of better value closer to the city and using the bus network to get around. Was however clean and comfortable with good parking.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimble26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

Travelodge Garden City offers value, clean and friendly service to all guests and I appreciate your comments.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My work put me up here for a week recently (cannot comment on value as they paid for the trip). Stayed in a double room with a queen bed and ensuite.

Pros:
-Location. Very close to Garden City.
-Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
-Room cleaned/linen replaced daily (unless you put the 'do not disturb' sign up). My washing up was even done for me!
-Comfortable, clean, attractive room.
-TV with several Foxtel channels (Fox8, Fox Sports 2, Max, I think 2-3 more, but I can't remember).
-Microwave, Sink, Bar Fridge, Kettle with tea, coffee, and milk in fridge.
-Iron + Ironing Board.
-Good shower/ensuite.
-Comfy couch and a coffee table. Little dining table for 2.

Cons:
-No other kitchen items. There's really no room for a stove or anything, but I would've liked a toaster for breakfast. This might be fire safety tactic though.
-WiFi is expensive ~$20/day I think.
-There is a breakfast buffet downstairs which did look good but it is also expensive, about $16 or so. With Garden City so close there's plenty of better places for a feed.
-No outside area/balcony. Not really a big deal as being close to Logan Rd would make a balcony somewhat dull anyway. The view isn't really what you stay here for.

That's about it. Overall I enjoyed the stay very much and would recommend it to others. Not sure how well it would go for families though, there's not really anything in the way of activities for kids and the double room I stayed in wasn't terribly large. Probably best for business, or couples looking for a nice place to stay close to shops.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garion046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

All feedback whether positive or constructive is welcomed and valued not only by myself but by the whole Travelodge Team.

I am please you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I chose this hotel primarily on price and the reputation of Travelodge for decent accommodation and Garden City came through for me. The room was clean and comfortable, had a sink and fridge, and air conditioning controllable by the guest. Oddly, the room had two narrow beds, only 36" wide. It was comfortable and I had a great sleep, and wasn't really a problem, but it was so narrow!

Breakfast was tasty and had good variety, but I'd appreciate more fruit options to go with the fruit cocktail and yoghurt. Like all of the other hotels and AUS and NZ that I've stayed in, this hotel charges steep prices for internet access. In the digital age, charging for wifi is like charging for TV or for shower soap.

Overall I enjoyed my stay and found that I received good value for my money. I would be willing to stay here again on another trip to Brisbane

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Guest

I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

All feedback whether positive or constructive is welcomed and valued not only by myself but by the whole Travelodge Team.

I am please you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you again in future travels.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We just traveled for the first time with our 6 month old daughter and the staff at Travelodge made it so easy for us. We had hired a portacot from them which they had already assembled and made up for us when we arrived and they gave us an extra large room because they knew we had a baby. ALL the staff were lovely and friendly, the room clean and tidy, and the beds comfortable. The 24 hour reception also makes it very covenient. We were very happy with our stay. Thank you :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Guests

I appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback from your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

I am pleased to hear that we not only met your expectations but exceeded them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
115 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Was working at Griffith University Nathan Campus and remebered this hotel from a previous visit. In serious need of refurbishment. although had booked sometime ago was out in a "disabled" room. As I am not disabled the facilities all being at wheelchair height made it very awkward. Room clean but very uninspiring decor. No on site restaurant and as I didn't have a car told to "go over to shopping centre where there's a food court" Goodness knows where you go if it's not late night shopping! Breakfast very basic. Will look for somewhere else in the future

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StargazerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Guest

I appreciate you have taken the time to review your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City. While I am quite surprised by your comments, I respect everyone is entitled to their own tastes and preferences.

Our property has always only offered a breakfast service, however there are restaurants that deliver and restaurants in both walking and driving distance (non Food Courts). We also offer a food option for the hotel rooms.

I hope this information assists you when next planning to travel.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Have stayed here three times.

PROS: Only 6 or 7 years old, near Westfield Garden City Shopping Centre and the South East Busway station to downtown Brisbane, adjacent to Australian Tax Office premises (if on business), Foxtel cable TV, good beds, fridge, 4 star finish, very clean, reasonable rates ($130 AUD incl tax approx), quiet. Good access to M1 freeway to Gold Coast (45 mins) and to central Brisbane if driving (20 mins).

CONS: No on site bar or restaurant (except a breakfast room), a 10 minute dimly lit walk at night to restaurants at Garden City mall and to busway station, No issue if you drive. No mini bar so BYO for fridge. No covered parking but it's free.

PS Lots of pensioner bus tours use this hotel due to its value.

Room Tip: For best rate check the hotel's own website for best price and compare with on line sites like w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Guest Guest

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel, when next your travelling.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
7.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
1.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#63 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
7.8 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
Best Western Plus Hotel Diana
#33 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
9.4 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
7.0 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane

Property: Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
Address: 18 Macgregor St, Brisbane, Queensland 4122, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brisbane
Travel Lodge Brisbane
Mt Gravatt Travel Lodge
Brisbane Travel Lodge
Brisbane Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing