We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose wisely- choose somewhere else.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellow Submarine Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
Ranked #120 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Choose wisely- choose somewhere else.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

While the young backpacker working reception was extremely helpful to us, this place can't escape the fact that is it a DUMP! It is at the end of a long row of hostels near Roma Street Station and a quick glance lets you know it is the worst of all of them. Our first room had a hole in the wall into the room next door (they tried to cover it up with packing tape ) and our second room had a door frame that had been broken so many times that it no longer shut or locked properly. The trains loudly rumble right by the open windows all night long, making it even more difficult to sleep on the lumpy matresses and stained bed linens. We woke one morning to find all the toilets and several sinks filled with vomit from the loud partying from the night before. They should hire some extra staff to do some cleaning once in a while! There are so many other backpackers in the same vicinity that are less expensive- choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASonginmyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    12
    15
    25
See reviews for
Families
0
28
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

The Yellow Submarine is a great hostel to stay in to discover Brisbane. The staff are friendly and helpful, the hostel a sweet place to meet other travels and I can't say enough good things about my time there. Love the swimming pool and the proximity to Southbank.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

This was the greatest hostel out of the many I stayed in whilst travelling around South East Asia./ Australia in 2007/ 08. Dont get me wrong this is a no frills hostel and is quite basic but the staff and atmosphere of the whole place is amazing. The manager Judy is an amazing lady and the whole place is run very well and kept much cleaner than other hostels I stayed in.
There is a free Sunday lunch for guests and if you have a working permit the staff can find jobs for you in and around brisbane. The Kithen is fully stocked with equipment ( no having to hire plates and cutlery) and is all kept clean and safe. Lastly most importantly ( for me anyway) as this hostel does not have a bar guests are free to bring in thier own alcohol saving some mony for the rest of your trip!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jj7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

We found this place from the Lonely Planet Australia guide. It had rave reviews. So we went there and did not enjoy our stay...

The place is a dark and shady. Our room did not look clean. The kitchen is very small, so preparing something during lunch time or diner time is quite an adventure.

The only good point of our stay there was the staff who were very helpful.

I would recommend going to another hostel. There are plenty nearby that are the same price but way cleaner.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdarsigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

I stay in Brisbane for 1 week and this hostel was very nice for me. The workers were able to tell me many things about brisbane and help me get where go. Is a nice hostel, well cleaned. Nice pool, kitchen, very helpful and friendly people.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabien1g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Tatty condition. No air con and can't leave window open due to possums. Had to eat out and waste food brought as no room to cook in tiny kitchen. Even if there was room - no plates, knifes, forks or pots and pans or room to sit when busy. No room in fridges, set up for long term stayers. Reception did not want to help with these issues when brought to their attention. Owners should spend a bit on the place rather than just take take attitude. Been in Aus 2 months and worst place I've stayed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

I booked into this hostel for a couple of days an ended up staying for 4 months!! if your up for a good laugh and meeting lots of really nice people then this is the place to be. The owner and staff there are also very helpful when it comes to finding work. Not to mention the great parties every sat!!

  • Liked — the rooms are spacious, and the hostel has a very homely feel to it.
  • Disliked — kitchen is slightly on the small side but you soon make friends and start to cook for each other so even thats not a problem!!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GillybeanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Chill Backpackers
Chill Backpackers
#102 of 133 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#103 of 133 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Bird Backpackers
Big Bird Backpackers
#104 of 133 in Brisbane
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summer House Brisbane
Summer House Brisbane
#78 of 133 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Some Rooms Backpacker
Some Rooms Backpacker
#95 of 133 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#60 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Submarine Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Submarine Backpackers

Property: Yellow Submarine Backpackers
Address: 66 Quay St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellow Submarine Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yellow Submarine Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing