We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downright dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
Ranked #131 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The place is run down, ill-managed, kitchen and especially the bathrooms very dirty with bad smell. People were very friendly, and there are a lot of longterm habitants staying there. Very welcoming. There is a pool, a place to hang laundry, washing machine, and an outside sitting area where everybody comes together at night. Location is fine, price for a double is extreme compared to other places.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yootje73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

Brisbane was a great city and a good choice to stay with yellow sub. I met heaps of fun people and went kayaking and rockclimbing in the city, pretty cool! also the city now is truley international and you can dine out in heap of cool places

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank henry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This was one of the cheaper Brisbane hostels to stay at and is decent in terms of cleanliness, accommodation and cost. It is located right behind the main strip of hostels you see on Roma Street - if you want to save a few bucks then I would recommend it. The place is definitely older and a bit run down - but cozy and charming nonetheless. Stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm that was fairly large and clean. Front house staff weren't super knowledgeable. Only issue was that I used my own sleeping bag and staff actually took it off my bed because I wasn't supposed to be using it. Seemed like many of the backpackers were long-term residents which made the place feel more secure and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaseto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Its quite a quirky place but has too much against it for the price. Whole place is pretty worn and grubby. There's few facilities/advantages compared to other nearby options (though they all seem overpriced too). Its right by the metro and you get the noise as the trains pass.

We did arrive there on Sunday which seems to be their free dinner day which was tasty and appreciated that. Also the owner had a few tips for us regarding onward travel.

I think the owners need to either lower the price and be the 'homely' budget option, or modernize to join the local competition.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missinglouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Upstairs bathrooms - one had no light and no hand soap, the other had no hand soap. You have to go downstairs to use the girls bathroom for hand soap. The girls bathroom has no locks and you can't even close the door while taking a shower. Did not feel safe. The kitchen closes 10 p.m. and does not open until 7 a.m. No free internet. No lounge area. The hostel is very close to the rail lines and you hear trains passing every 15 minutes. There are many hostels in the area, I would recommend another. The front door staff was not knowledgable - there seemed to be at least 3 new girls training. Preferred to get information from the i-site. Nearby supermarket and cinema.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

This is by far the worst hostel in Oz. Nothing positive to say about this place other than its walking distance to the XXXX brewery.
I honestly dont know where to start. The rooms are unclean, small and unsecure.
The beds are uncomfortable and the linen is old and worn. The carpets havent seen a clean in a long, long, time. The toilets are awful and full of bugs. The showers are rubbish. The kitchen is the size of a store cupboard and everything is dirty. The eating area is outdoors so there are fag ends everywhere. The pool is filthy and hasnt been cleaned in a long time.
The hostel is so run down and unloved. I think a lot of the guests are long termers and they just sit around, smoking and drinking and being loud and have no respect for any true travellers. The police turned up one night looking for one of the long termers, makes you feel so unsafe and worried about your belongings.
This place should be closed as a matter of a health and safety hazard let alone all of the above. If I had a 'Worst Enemy' I would not even tell them to stay here....its that bad.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesCollinsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

i think the title is a good resume, it's an average hostel, nothing else to say about it .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croissantcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
1.1 mi away
Somewheretostay Backpackers
Somewheretostay Backpackers
#96 of 143 in Brisbane
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
0.3 mi away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#78 of 143 in Brisbane
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Gonow Family Backpacker
Gonow Family Backpacker
#118 of 143 in Brisbane
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Some Rooms Backpacker
Some Rooms Backpacker
#84 of 143 in Brisbane
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Bird Backpackers
Big Bird Backpackers
#123 of 143 in Brisbane
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Submarine Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Submarine Backpackers

Address: 66 Quay St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: $12 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellow Submarine Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Yellow Submarine Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing