We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yellow Submarine Backpackers
Ranked #127 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This was one of the cheaper Brisbane hostels to stay at and is decent in terms of cleanliness, accommodation and cost. It is located right behind the main strip of hostels you see on Roma Street - if you want to save a few bucks then I would recommend it. The place is definitely older and a bit run down - but cozy and charming nonetheless. Stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm that was fairly large and clean. Front house staff weren't super knowledgeable. Only issue was that I used my own sleeping bag and staff actually took it off my bed because I wasn't supposed to be using it. Seemed like many of the backpackers were long-term residents which made the place feel more secure and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iaseto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 70 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

Its quite a quirky place but has too much against it for the price. Whole place is pretty worn and grubby. There's few facilities/advantages compared to other nearby options (though they all seem overpriced too). Its right by the metro and you get the noise as the trains pass.

We did arrive there on Sunday which seems to be their free dinner day which was tasty and appreciated that. Also the owner had a few tips for us regarding onward travel.

I think the owners need to either lower the price and be the 'homely' budget option, or modernize to join the local competition.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missinglouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Upstairs bathrooms - one had no light and no hand soap, the other had no hand soap. You have to go downstairs to use the girls bathroom for hand soap. The girls bathroom has no locks and you can't even close the door while taking a shower. Did not feel safe. The kitchen closes 10 p.m. and does not open until 7 a.m. No free internet. No lounge area. The hostel is very close to the rail lines and you hear trains passing every 15 minutes. There are many hostels in the area, I would recommend another. The front door staff was not knowledgable - there seemed to be at least 3 new girls training. Preferred to get information from the i-site. Nearby supermarket and cinema.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lianelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

This is by far the worst hostel in Oz. Nothing positive to say about this place other than its walking distance to the XXXX brewery.
I honestly dont know where to start. The rooms are unclean, small and unsecure.
The beds are uncomfortable and the linen is old and worn. The carpets havent seen a clean in a long, long, time. The toilets are awful and full of bugs. The showers are rubbish. The kitchen is the size of a store cupboard and everything is dirty. The eating area is outdoors so there are fag ends everywhere. The pool is filthy and hasnt been cleaned in a long time.
The hostel is so run down and unloved. I think a lot of the guests are long termers and they just sit around, smoking and drinking and being loud and have no respect for any true travellers. The police turned up one night looking for one of the long termers, makes you feel so unsafe and worried about your belongings.
This place should be closed as a matter of a health and safety hazard let alone all of the above. If I had a 'Worst Enemy' I would not even tell them to stay here....its that bad.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesCollinsWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

i think the title is a good resume, it's an average hostel, nothing else to say about it .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croissantcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

While the young backpacker working reception was extremely helpful to us, this place can't escape the fact that is it a DUMP! It is at the end of a long row of hostels near Roma Street Station and a quick glance lets you know it is the worst of all of them. Our first room had a hole in the wall into the room next door (they tried to cover it up with packing tape ) and our second room had a door frame that had been broken so many times that it no longer shut or locked properly. The trains loudly rumble right by the open windows all night long, making it even more difficult to sleep on the lumpy matresses and stained bed linens. We woke one morning to find all the toilets and several sinks filled with vomit from the loud partying from the night before. They should hire some extra staff to do some cleaning once in a while! There are so many other backpackers in the same vicinity that are less expensive- choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASonginmyHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

The Yellow Submarine is a great hostel to stay in to discover Brisbane. The staff are friendly and helpful, the hostel a sweet place to meet other travels and I can't say enough good things about my time there. Love the swimming pool and the proximity to Southbank.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ananda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Summer House Brisbane
Summer House Brisbane
#75 of 139 in Brisbane
45 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gonow Family Backpacker
Gonow Family Backpacker
#121 of 139 in Brisbane
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#71 of 139 in Brisbane
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Somewhere to Stay
Somewhere to Stay
#97 of 139 in Brisbane
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Bird Backpackers
Big Bird Backpackers
#116 of 139 in Brisbane
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Base Brisbane Uptown
Base Brisbane Uptown
#76 of 139 in Brisbane
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Submarine Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Submarine Backpackers

Address: 66 Quay St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range: $11 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellow Submarine Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Yellow Submarine Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing