We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Base Brisbane Uptown
Ranked #88 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

All right my overall experience here has been fantastic. The staff are super helpful and all of them are really friendly. The people that stay here are all really friendly as well and I made a bunch of new friends. They cleaned the place every day. The kitchen did get messy some times in the evening but that was from everyone cooking and it was cleaned by the staff the next day. The location itself is great, the value is great, and the bar was good at having different things going on and having deals for people staying at the hostel. There isn't any alcohol allowed in the hostel but I like that because I found there wasn't too much loudness going on so I was able to sleep. The rooms were a bit tight squeezed but it was fine. The only main complaint that I would have is that there needs to be more plug ins in the rooms. Beyond that my stay was great and I extended it even.I plan on staying here when I come back to Brisbane.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    65
    51
    47
    39
See reviews for
6
37
112
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Apart from the kitchen, the rest of the hostel is clean with a great little bar below it however they just try to squeeze too many people into each room! There is barely any room for luggage (or to swing a cat!) I'm sure if they took out at least one bunk from each room it would be a much nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingteacher87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Traveled over for State of Origin Game III July 4th 2012. I have to say my wife did all the research for accommodation for 7 of us family members. She chose well because 1. we didn't want to waste a lot of money on expensive hotels we saved $$$ staying there which was spent on other things like gifts to take home. 2. Excellent location to everything,Suncorp,CBD,Transit. ,Subway, KFC, restaurants ,shops & cafes all round us very short walking distance. 3. The Tin downstairs was awesome great meals & beverages at reasonable prices. Game night we met up at the Tin with all our families from Brisbane going to the game. Convenience for after drinks from the game & just head upstairs to sleep. From my experience staying there I thought it was great. Our room was good slept well, but then we didn't do a lot of that was out exploring the city. Internet & WiFi was cheap. The staff were friendly & very helpful because our niece arrived from Perth into Brisbane early as we were checking in late and they checked her in & gave her directions to everything around her. We appreciated it as they went out of their way to look after her. We arrived at 11pm and was greeted by Matt at reception who was friendly & settled us in. I enjoyed my first time stay at a backpackers and recommend anyone to go stay there even if it's just for 1 night. The transit is just outside the door. Well done Tinbilly!!

Room Tip: We stayed on level 4 room nice & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luvsen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

First time travelers to Brisbane from NZ for State of Origin Game III. (7) we booked for 3 nights 8 dorm. I searched & checked out most of the hostel's in the area on the internet & chose Tinbilly because of the cheap room prices & location it was close to everything just walking distance to CBD,Suncorp,Transit & also because of *The Tin* downstairs. We basically just needed somewhere to sleep & keep our luggage while we checked out Brisbane. The staff were great & helpful, Room was pretty good and clean & I slept well. On suite was cleaned & rubbish removed everyday. The Tin bar staff were kind and friendly we ate there every night awesome yummy food. We didn't use the kitchen & lounge room but it looked okay so I can't really say much there. I would recommend Tinbilly's & definitely stay there again..it is what you make of it, your paying pennies for good accommodation. Instead of finding little things to complain about get over it!! LOL!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niue_made
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Travelled to Oz 5 times in last 5 years, and stayed there everytime I was in BrisVegas! Aslong as you meet the right people/or travel there with right people, it's amazing. I've seen it change since 2004, and it's a good location. A lot better than most backpacking places in CBD

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iangeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

big kitchen and large common area, easy to meet people however, very big hostel. in front of peterpans travel agency = free wifi thats always cool. very helpfull staff. i would goo back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vansi1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed one night in a four bed dorm with partner ahead of catching an early bus out of Brisbane
The Good
Location is right opposite transit station and very close to all the things in CBD. Definitely good if you need to catch an early bus
4 bed dorms were reasonable size and have ensuite of comfortable size attached.
Have a lift

The bad
Only have one kitchen was cramped with one large fridge and half the hobs not working while we were there. Not enough utensils for everyone cooking in there
Did see a few cockroaches in the room and generally not the cleanest hostel we have stayed in

Stay again? Possibly if needed to be close to town centre/catching early bus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGosrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer D, Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I wanted to say a big thank you for taking the time to review our hostel it is much appreciated.
I just wanted to let you know our kicthen is back in full action and the reason a few hobs were not working on your stay was due to the fact we were waiting on a part to arrive. We were as eager as all the guests to finally recieve it! The kicthen has been fully stocked with utensils too! We do a weekly kitchen check so I'm not sure why you were missing some pots but I do apolgize.
Regarding cockroaches we have just had a complete service of the building but were unable to find any but we do apogize again if you did we have a strict procedure on this and take it very seriously.

I hope you have a great remainder of your travel in oz!!!
Again thank you for the review I have taken in everything you have said and really appreciate hearing feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbey On Roma
Abbey On Roma
#106 of 157 in Brisbane
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
1.0 mi away
BUNK Brisbane
BUNK Brisbane
#26 of 127 in Brisbane
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#13 of 127 in Brisbane
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banana Bender Backpackers
Banana Bender Backpackers
#60 of 127 in Brisbane
111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Base Brisbane Embassy
Base Brisbane Embassy
#103 of 127 in Brisbane
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Brisbane Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Brisbane Uptown

Property: Base Brisbane Uptown
Address: 466 George St | Cnr Herschel & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Tinbilly Travellers)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Brisbane Uptown 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from a great range of dorms or private rooms, all fully ensuited, air-conditioned and sound proofed! We will help you go out and explore wonderful Brisbane or if you prefer catch up on some emails enjoy our common area with Foxtel TV, cook in the kitchen or pop downstairs to the Tin Bar & Grill, make friends, go for a drink and see where the mood takes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Brisbane Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinbilly Travellers Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing