We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does Exactly What It Says On The Label...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Somewhere to Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somewhere to Stay
Ranked #82 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Does Exactly What It Says On The Label...”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Either Somewhere To Stay has undergone a dramatic improvement or several previous reviewers didn’t quite realise what they were booking themselves into.

I quit staying in hostel dorms years ago, but since I’ve gone back to studying again I’m not willing to pay hotel prices. A private room in a hostel such as this one is perfect for me. It was my first visit in a decade where I didn’t stay at the Astoria (see a previous review) and I can’t comment about the dorm rooms because I didn’t stay in one. I booked into a standard single room.

Location: Somewhere To Stay is not in the city. It is barely even next to the city. Once you’ve done the walk from the city to the hostel through the West End once you won’t want to do it again. If it’s raining, you will get wet and if it’s late (anytime after dusk) you’ll be accosted by locals asking for money or wanting to pick a fight with you. Do the walk in daylight and be careful if you’re walking around after dark because it doesn’t feel safe. Somewhere To Stay is, however, just far enough away from this area and in a quiet suburban Street that it seems OK. You will choose to stay here because of the right balance of cost, quality and location.

Transport: Realise now that you will use the hostel’s free shuttle bus to get to the city, I hadn’t planned to and the alternative is a train from Southbank station. The shuttle bus is quick, convenient, safe and easy. It only takes about 10 minutes to get you where you want to go. The train station is about a 10 to 15 minute walk away, the opposite direction to the West End along a main road and feels reasonably safe – there’s no cover though so if it’s raining you’ll get wet. If there are a few of you then a cab will be the easiest option and probably no more expensive than train fares.

Somewhere To Stay is a backpackers. It has a common room where there are always a half dozen or so people watching one of the many free DVDs available. It has a bank of computers where you can pay for internet (or hotspot) access and plenty of comfy chairs to sit and read a book in. The kitchen looked good and there is plenty of fridge space if you prefer to shop at the local Coles and cook for yourself – which, given the food on offer nearby, is going to be either much cheaper or much healthier than other options. There’s no McDonalds, KFC etc. anywhere nearby but plenty of pizza, burger and kebab places. The laundry looked fine and I met someone who has been living there (and working in Brisbane) for five months, so it’s all very functional.

Your room will be nothing flash. It isn’t air-conditioned but it will have a pedestal fan in it along with a desk, a chair and somewhere to hang your clothes. Despite a previous reviewer’s comments I saw no sign that Somewhere To Stay is a party joint. There are signs everywhere laying down the rules for when noise needs to stop and I had no issues with noise even though the walls are pretty thin. No problems other than the person in the neighbouring room who snored incredibly loudly and the token loud American who either didn’t realise or didn’t care that at 2:15am when she wants to have a shouted conversation with her friend in the next room that everyone can hear it – So, to be honest I didn’t sleep all that well but it’s nothing a pair of earplugs wouldn’t fix, I just kept forgetting to buy some!

The toilets and showers have seen better days and that part of the hostel probably needs looking at. Some shelving in the showers wouldn’t go astray and the sinks are in the toilets and very small, which makes shaving, brushing your teeth etc. a bit pokey and generally unpleasant if the previous user has left their 'brand' – so to speak.

Overall, Somewhere To Stay was perfect for my brief (3 night) visit. The staff are great. Very helpful and very friendly. I didn’t tax them with any touristy questions but I suspect they could answer most things. I chose to stay there this time because of the price... next time I will probably stay there because it suits me and I know what I'm in for - it is, literally, Somewhere To Stay

If this sounds like the sort of place you’d be happy to stay then I recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Breaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    39
    24
    19
See reviews for
2
37
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are searching for a clean place don't go there! Seriously it's nearly disastrous. But if you seek a cheap place to stay why not go there.

The personal is really friendly and happy to help you. There are free pick-up bus that go to south bank (public beach and easy access to the town) and the library (free internet access and wifi) between 8:10 am to 7pm. The hostel can also pick you up from Roma St Station.

Well I know that for now it don't really look bad, but wait, when I was there we got some BED BUGS in the room. Note also the kitchen is really small for the amount of guests (about 160) and there is only 12 gas burners. You have to pay a deposit of $3 for having your plate, cup, bowl and services which are all in plastic. Not bad for the plate-cup-bowl, but the cutlery (fork-spoon-"knive") are very old and look crappy (they are!). Also when i was there there was an out of order fridge ... So for all this I didn't recommend it if you have the choice to go elsewhere to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brisbane hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hostel because I was in a hurry, it was a last minute thing & it was the cheapest.
I stopped 2 nights as a stop over before heading to Sydney for the holiday season.

First of all I liked the hostel, it was different as it felt like a big house, not a hostel. The staff were really nice, very helpful.
The room I was in was decent, 6 man ensuite. The bed it self was nice, one of the best mattress I've slept on. The bathroom was decent, however the shower wasn't great.

The only issue with the hostel is the situation. It is miles from the city, & of you miss the free bus you have to walk which is a good 20 mins walk.

Overall I liked the place, but would look for a more central hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bane88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 9 nights and can't complain too much. For the price you pay you can't expect facilities of a top end hostel but those on other do the job. The hostel was clean but didn't seem it as its old and run down. The staff were friendly and helpful but the night manager seemed a bit uptight at times! Location was ok but a bit of a walk to the city centre but free buses from the hostel to the city help.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevethornton88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you are looking for just a bed, this hostel does the job. However, for the price, you can get a better location in the city centre. This hostel is located in the further side of the West End which has a few nice cafes and places to eat. Not ideal for walking back to the hostel solo at night though! They do have an hourly shuttle bus that runs until 7pm that takes you to the Art Centre free of charge, which saves you a walk or two during the day.
Staff were really friendly and helpful however, something else can be said of the rooms, toilets and shower rooms which were really run down! It looks like no one has maintained it for years, holes in the walls and some filled with toilet paper, shower heads barely hanging and dripping water taps which act as the 'shower'! And this is definitely a party hostel, there was no noise management during the nights!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanLi1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

At first I was worried because the hostel is not right in the city of Brisbane, however the West End was quite nice! A lot of cafes and places to eat, and only 10 minute walk from the city. The hostel itself wasn't anything special, a bit run down but no bad experiences to speak of. My boyfriend and I had a private room and were shocked with how big the balcony was! It was worth the money. The kitchen was very nice, great cooking facility. There are a couple of hammocks outside to lounge in, as well as picnic tables everywhere. I found that this hostel was a bit cliquey, and didn't meet a lot of people. The only negative experience we had was with the night time worker, as he was rude and kind of a jerk. There were quiet hours after 10 (because it was in a neighborhood) but the man working kept lurking over us and yelling at us for being too loud (when he was the one being loud). I felt like I was being babysat. Besides that the other staff was great and I really enjoyed being in the West End! Stay there for a day or two, but that is all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If your going to Brisbane, I would recommend another hostel!

This one is dirty and smelly. I slept in a 8 person dorm room, the room was too tiny, with really bad air. I leaved after one night, even though my plan was to stay for four days.
The staff did not charge me for the days I didn´t sleep there though, which was good!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceciny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.0 mi away
Somewheretostay Backpackers
Somewheretostay Backpackers
#86 of 127 in Brisbane
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gonow Family Backpacker
Gonow Family Backpacker
#109 of 127 in Brisbane
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
Brisbane Backpackers Resort
#103 of 127 in Brisbane
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chill Backpackers
Chill Backpackers
#98 of 127 in Brisbane
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aussie Way Backpackers Hostel
1.2 mi away
Brisbane City YHA
Brisbane City YHA
#7 of 127 in Brisbane
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somewhere to Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somewhere to Stay

Property: Somewhere to Stay
Address: Cnr Brighton Rd & Franklin St | West End, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Somewhere to Stay 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An amazing tropical style resort hostel. Dorms starting from $19 and private rooms from $49 pn. Situated 20 mins walk from Brisbane City, our hostel is located in the laid-back suburb of West End. An eclectic mix of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars are just a few minutes stroll from the hostel. Relax in our salt water pool or catch our free bus service to the city or Southbank and soak up the atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Somewhere to Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somewhere To Stay Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing