We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Oaks Felix(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$114
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Mantra South Bank, Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$147
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ibis Brisbane(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$128
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$93
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Brisbane(Brisbane)
$147
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Point Brisbane Hotel(Brisbane)(Great Value!)
$113
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$148
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$91
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
13
32
35
20
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
32
35
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain roadequipped kitchenwe booked a bedroom apartmentupon checkapartment was cleansouth bankthe riversouthbankshampoo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 122 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2006

We stayed at this location for 5 days found the accommodation met our expectation. Only two of us so chose a studio apartment. Cooking facilities consisted of microwave and two burner hot plate. Note no toaster as it can set of the smoke alarm, you can take you toast to the restaurant downstairs to be cooked, hardly think you would bother. Adequate cooking utensils for the few meals you would have in the room. Balcony was large. Found the road noise a bit intrusive but managed to live with it. Air conditioning was OK but could be better. Just a few minutes walk to the "City Cat" which is the best way to get around the river. A$7.80 for two people to travel up and down the river and get off where every you want plus the ticket can be used on the bus and train lines, great value. Take time to go to Riverside and visit the Sunday market. Room was clean and serviced daily. Property is in walking distance to "The Gabba", a good super market, hotels and restaurants. All in all we recommend this establishment but would book a room on lower floor next time as they have solid walls in front of balcony and they might just block out some of the road noise.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2006

We stayed there recently during a sports event. the room and everything else was clean tidy so no complaints there. But the whole experience was like sleeping in a dingy slum.

We booked and paid for (in advance) a 4.5 star room but when we checked in we got what appeared to be a 3.5 star. there was one double bed (we had paid for two in a separate room) and what we later discovered was a fold down couch. when we spoke to the receptionist about it she said that there must have been a mix up and that they may have given someone else our room (the place was full at the time).

not being able to find alternative accommodation we opted to stay but requested a refund for the difference and an apology, neither of which we received.

we stayed four nights and I can say that it was one of the worst experiences I have had in a hotel or motel. Late at night people were trying our door. There was washing hanging out on some balconies and going by the amount of crying etc there must have been a few children in the complex.

On the last night we stayed there was some kind of domestic going on in a near by apartment. When we called reception to complain they said it was none of there business . We left early the next morning but not before they tried to get us to pay for toll calls we had not made – the bill was clearly for an entirely different apartment under another name. We didn’t pay and when they realised the mistake they just let us go – again no apology or care taken. There is only one word to describe an establishment like that – PATHETIC!!

Stayed: June 2005
3  Thank Larry_limpbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2005

I stayed here in January 2005 and yes the complex is on very main road but we had no noise problems and the apartment was definitely above average!! We stayed in in the 4 and a half star part - the pool was a tad on the small side but to be fair we were almost always the only ones in it! We had no transport and found it perfectly easy to travel to Brisbane city centre -the bus stops RIGHT outside the complex and the ferry is a short walk away!! If you feeling very fit you could walk to town through the botanical gardens. The apartment was cleaned daily and the housekeeeper was a diamond gal. There was an extensive list of menus in the front room if you feel lazy and don't want to cook and the pineapple grill was a short walk away (2 mins). We were even blessed with a washing machine and tumble dryer so it was heaven to wash our clothes before hitting the hostel in Cairns!! Overall a pretty nice place - didn't blow me away but didn't give me a reason to complain!!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bluey1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2005

I agree with the previous review.
We stayed in the 4 1/2 star complex. The rooms were great and had excellent kitchens, bathrooms and comfortable beds.

The main problem with this accommodation is the traffic noise. It's constant.
It's located on an intersection of two major roads and you have to keep the doors closed.

We stayed there on two occasions during our travels to and from QLD. The first night we had a room on the second floor and we found it very noisy.
On our return trip we stayed in room 34, on the ground floor which has a concrete wall in front of it which leads to the pool. This blocked a lot of the traffic noise.

I found all the little signs in the room annoying. "Keep the door shut when having a shower or the alarm will go off and the fire brigade will attend, charging a $395 fee", "Keep bathroom door open when operating the dryer" Probably 10 signs in the room telling me not to do something.

I'd probably stay at Dockside in Kangaroo Point next time.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JetsetterinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2004

Stayed there in May 2003, we rented 2 apartments for 6 people for 4 nights. Apartments are reasonably clean and quiet, considering that you are near a main road that leads down to the Gabba cricket ground. Nothing special, functional but basic apartments that serve their purpose if all you want is a base for exploring Brissie. Have to drive back over the storey bridge to get to city centre, or you can walk 15 mins to riverside and take a ferry. Quite close to southbank parklands. Not really recommended if you do not have your own transport.

14  Thank darronmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews