We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kangaroo point holiday apartments” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments
Ranked #106 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Kangaroo point holiday apartments”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for three nights with our two three year old children. The position was great, easy walk to the gabba, shops and restaurants. It was too far for the kids to walk into southbank, and the parking there was expensive, however they could just make it to the ferry stop.
Very small place to stay with children for a long period of time as there was no outdoor area or balacony for them to play on and the pool wasn't heated!

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back as it is on a main raod.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    33
    20
    21
See reviews for
44
17
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

For the same price as a single hotel room close to the Convention Centre, we got two, two-bedroom units and shared them amongst the four of us. Much better financially and much more fun (multiple dinner parties throughout the week). The rooms are a little cold (all tile everywhere), and the pool looks way better in the photo than it does in person. Also, the street noise is pretty loud and the windows don't keep the noise out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AcademicTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozelle, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

There are two options at the hotel, deluxe and non-deluxe. We stayed in the non-deluxe. The apartment was large enough for 3-4 people. The apartment is not brand new but had a good kitchen, average size bathroom and two bedrooms. There was also a balcony. There was guest parking. The apartments are on the main road, so you get a lot of street noise (although ours was at the front of the block). The pool filter is also really noisy but the staff didnt really care when we brought this to their attention. The city of Brisbane is about $15 cab ride away but there is a bus stop out the front. There is an IGA (24hr) nearby along with a pub (good food), KFC and McDonalds across the road. Would possibly stay here again if on a group weekend away, but not luxurious.

Room Tip: Try and get at the back of the block far from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydcarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Overall the accommodation was really good. We stayed for 4 nights & was very nice.
It's quite central, walking distance to the Gabba & the Woollongabba bus exchange. Very quick bus ride to the city. We took a taxi to & from the airport, worked out to be about $50 all together, which we shared between 3 of us so worked out cheaper than the air train. Also within walking distance are some great eateries & awesome little shops & antique stores. Across the road is a MacDonalds & KFC. Down the road is a subway, pharmacy & little grocery store.
We had a 2 bedroom apartment, 1 bedroom had a double & single, the other bedroom had 2 singles. There was also a fold up bed in the wardrobe, although frankly, I don't know where anyone would fit it.
There was a small kitchenette with a microwave, cutlery & crockery. There was a laundry on site, although our room had an iron which was handy. The bathroom was small but clean & there was a hair drier in the cupboard.
There is a pool, which we didn't use as it was quite cold weather & lots of off street parking which is always a plus.
The service was great & the staff were always friendly & willing to help out. They held on to our bags for us after we had checked out to go shopping which was really nice of them.
My only criticism is that the light was quite dim & it could get a little hot, but there was a pedestal fan, which we didn't end up needing. The other thing to keep in mind is that there is no kitchen on site & thus no restaurant as such, but there are some great ones only a 5-10min walk down the road!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talise_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Really close to the GABBA which is great if you want to see a game. 15 min walk to Southbank and only a 5 min cab ride to the city. The place is on a main road so can get a little noisy. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was quite small but had everything we needed and had a queen and single in one bedroom and two singles in the other bedroom. But they also have bigger apartments if you want more room or have a large group. Don't have your expectations too high because it is not 4 - 5 star, the TVs are small and the furniture is outdated but we knew it was cheap and was perfect for the couple of days that we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JAMIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

This place is about as close as you can get to the GABBA. Whilst it is on a busy main road, the double glazing dulls the noise. We had no problem sleeping which is a miracle because we live in a region that has very little street lighting and no through traffic!

The TV could have been bigger. Fortunately the creepy crawler for the pool was only on during the day so the noise generated by it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marigold g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was more of a 3 star experience than a 4 star "delux" one! Will not stay here again.
PROS:
- Southbank restaurant services were only a 15min walk away (only saving grace)
CONS:
- Security door into the complex was left unsecured frequently!
- Accommodation facing Allen St sounded like the traffic was running through the bedroom. Got woken up every morning round 0530 (no sound proofing)
- Some lighting & exhaust fan fixtures not secure
- Curtain in main bedroon had small holes and did not cover the window completely
- TV signal kept dropping in and out
- Oven cleaner residue left behind form previous clean (toxic)

Room Tip: If you want a decent amount of sleep request apartments facing away from Main and Allen Streets. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
The Sebel South Brisbane
The Sebel South Brisbane
#99 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wellington Apartment Hotel
Wellington Apartment Hotel
#73 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Hillcrest Apartments
Central Hillcrest Apartments
#97 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gabba Central Apartments
Gabba Central Apartments
#34 of 133 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Cross Motel & Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
Quest Woolloongabba
Quest Woolloongabba
#1 of 133 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments

Property: Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments
Address: 819 Main St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments Hotel Brisbane
Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing