We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Ranked #35 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We stayed at the Riverview hotel for just 1 night on our way back from the Gold Coast, for an early morning flight from Brisbane airport.

Booked their weekend saver package which was around $165 for a night - nothing included. Check in was exceptionally fast, complimentary parking appreciated, and the room was nice.

The view was not of the 'riverside', but rather the pool and racecourse, however, sound proofing of the room was exceptional. The rooms are decorated in quite an antique style which makes a nice change from most Brisbane hotels.

Room size adequate, and the queen bed was comfortable. A fairly good deal for a Saturday night in Brisbane.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2traveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 377 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2007

We stayed at the hotel as guests of QantasLink, as our flight was unexpectedly cancelled - on the runway - until the next morning.

Our room was, understandably, not one with a river view, but an interesting view over a racecourse and a glimpse of the palm-fringed pool area. Enjoyed the 'royal' touch decor - the flocked wallpaper, the royal blue carpet with fleur-de-lis pattern, very comfortable bed, and fluffy white bathrobes. Nice selection of toiletries.

The pool area is lovely, with a waterfall and spa (too much chlorine though, not recommended) and sauna; pool towels supplied.

We ate early at the ZigZag, a very good pizza which would have been even better with a sour cream-type dipping sauce, and a fried fish dish which was sadly mediocre.

After dinner, we took our courage in hand and crossed the very busy road to the riverside walking path, and enjoyed a lovely stroll along the Newstead Park area with the Rivercat purring along the river and a rather out-of-context gondola seemingly transplanted direct from Venice.

The room-service breakfast was excellent, and arrived promptly at 5 am with a lovely cheerful waitress.

Have checked prices for our future reference, as we often travel thru Brisbane airport - Wotif has Exec Rooms @ $160 per double, which would be excellent value, but if paying the hotel's advertised Exec Room rate @ $340, we would probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FerryTyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2006

Was very happy with the room and service for Hotel. Except when it came to eat at the Zig Zag resurant. The staff didn't like us to arriveing at 8.30pm, Meal was excellent! service very poor.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lynelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2004

The room had a comfortable queen sized bed and was nicely furnished. The air conditioning worked well and a nice touch not found often was that it was already on at a comfortable temperature when I arrived in the room. There was an underground parking garage. It was close and convenient to the airport. I was just passing through so I'm not sure if it is convenient to any attractions.

11  Thank giantsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Gallogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Richtung Flussblick ist relativ ruhig
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birgit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vue sur la Brisbane River bien sûr
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony C, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.4 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alex Perry Hotel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 169 in Brisbane
1,208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Spicers Balfour Hotel
Spicers Balfour Hotel
#6 of 169 in Brisbane
658 reviews
2.0 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#42 of 169 in Brisbane
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $111 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing