We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a refurb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Ranked #26 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I spent one Saturday night at this hotel as my employer had scheduled a conference there.

The service level from the staff was high and the breakfast was excellent. I appreciated the free underground parking and the surprisingly good river view from my first floor room. The hotel is on a busy road but there was no traffic noise at all in my room.

The room itself however was quite a letdown, it was very large with a sofa in front of an LCD TV but the decor harks back to the early 1980's! I am sure it was all very grand back then but now it really needs some modern carpeting, furniture and drapes. It really seemed quite gloomy in the room, not bright and airly like modern hotel rooms!

With a refurbishment this hotel would live up to it's 4.5 star rating easily but at the moment there are more modern alternatives available in Brisbane for the same price or less.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneRiverview, General Manager at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thankyou for your review of the hotel and I am glad you enjoyed our service and breakfast. The hotel is about to a commence a full refurbishment and the intial designs have now been completed. We are hoping to commence very soon with a view to completion in early 2013.
Kind regards
Brett Whicker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 375 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Husband and I enjoyed a night in Brisbane before leaving first thing to Brisbane International Airport. Motel is close to airport and check in and check out was fast, efficient and first class. We dined at the motel restaurant that evening and could not fault service, food and presentation which was first class and a lovely experience. The room is perfect, large and inviting but the bathroom let down the first class room. Bathroom was dated and a little mouldy around bath. We did not enjoy our room being so close to the lifts and could hear the traffic but the lovely big room minimised this inconconveience. Would certainly recommend if travel to/from airport is on your agenda.

Room Tip: Would certainly recommend room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Upon arrival the staff were friendly and very helpful. The first impression of the room was the size, which included a lounge and table with chairs. The bathroom was slightly older but clean, however the toilet seat was already up. In the cupboard was someone else's pair of pants obviously the last guests. The bed was comfortable however the shower in the morning appeared to have a water saving device attached which affected the water flow. I had a drink from the minibar which appeared to be watered down. Upon checkout the staff were fantastic once again and upon the manager over hearing my comments about the room, I observed him immediately call house keeping to disuss these issues and record his disappointment. It was good to see hotel staff recognise issues which should not have occurred.I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank craigv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I have been staying at this property since it was first opened many years ago (20+?).. it has always been a nice place to stay. Recently I stayed on business for the first time in many years. Although the decor and bathroom definitely are showing signs of age, the whole feeling was of comfort. Plush drapery, thick carpet, soft and generous bedding etc. all add up to a nice room experience. I started to question the cold, modern, stark hotels rooms I usually stay in. The service was friendly and professional and I enjoyed the location (jogging along the river early morning was great). I will be back soon. My only quibble was the buffet breakfast experience, too confusing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PlasteredDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here and would be happy to go back again.
The experience starts when you are greeted by friendly and efficient staff and your luggage taken to your room. While the hotel is on Kingsford Smith Drive, it is surprisingly quiet and only a short walk from Breakfast Creek and Newstead Park. A good place to base yourself if you want to go to Albion Park Paceway,Eagle Farm Racecourse or Doomben Racecourse.
I would describe our room overlooking the Brisbane River as old world with plush curtains and dark furniture and carpets ( which look almost new ). The bathroom was however starting to show its age with some of the bathroom fittings showing early signs of deterioration.
The bed was comfortable and lighting adequate.
My main criticisms would be the lack of obvious power points and a desk at which to work if needed.
A plus is the free underground parking.

Room Tip: A room with a river view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schlepper1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Nice riverview, the location gives the chance to walk by the riverside. The hotel is nicely decorated with a very friendly staff. Would definitely stay here for the next trip to Brisbane. Good for business travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank UmitK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Great Staff and just a short walk to a lovely park on the River. I wanted to go Kayaing and the staff helped me find an adventure centre called Riverlife also eat at the Hammo Hotel and stay for fun

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.4 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,128 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alex Perry Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 168 in Brisbane
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
1.0 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
2.5 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#16 of 168 in Brisbane
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $112 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing