We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here as we were going to Fright Night at Movie World. The staff on duty were wonderful. We were able to check in early, use the computer and printer with no charge to print our tickets. Also we received no unusual looks from the staff when we walked through reception in our scary costumes.
The room was huge with a balcony. The beds and bedding were so comfortable, so a good nights sleep was inevitable.
Breakfast was also great. The staff were so friendly, and the food was beautiful.
Upon checkout, a taxi was ordered which was quick to arrive.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we would definitely stay here upon our next trip to Brisbane.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neree85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    141
    34
    12
    3
See reviews for
38
148
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We used this hotel as an overnighter after/before flying in/out of Brisbane. The room was clean, one of the single beds was very uncomfortable, but enough room to put the mattress on the floor. A few choices of restaurants within walking distance, a 7/11 close by too and if you want a novel way to go into the city the city cat is very close and a nice way to see different things. The shower is old, but ok.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed at the riverview for 1 week in November 2011 for work. My room had a living area with a separate bedroom, no door separating the 2. The bedroom area had no air cond, so I relied on the air conditioner in the living area to work overtime to cool the place down. Rooms are getting a bit old & tacky, lighting was very poor, just lamps. The bathroom is old, with carpet in the area with the wash basin & mirror. Room service was pretty average, expensive & nothing exciting. Pretty average stay, no drawcard to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I'd read through everyone else's reviews prior to my stay, so had a good idea of what to expect. I'd certainly agree with some statements - if you miss the turnoff when coming from the airport, things could get very messy! Luckily I didn't, but it wouldn't be a good experience for a visitor.
The hotel is on a busy road, and the traffic noise - especially in the morning - was pretty bad, even on the 7th floor. Earplugs a must for the light sleeper here. Internet access was steep - how does $24.95 per day sound? Room service wasn't cheap, though the one meal I had was quite good, and the service prompt and friendly.
That's the negative stuff out of the way. On the positive side, all the staff I met were friendly and efficient. My riverview room did indeed have an excellent view. The room itself was big and comfortable, with only the bathroom showing a few signs of wear and tear. The bed was VERY comfortable, there was a two-seater couch, dining table with two chairs, and a writing desk. Good-sized flat-screen TV as well.
The hotel also had easily-accessed underground parking, plus a pool and gym. (Didn't get to use either of the latter). It's very close to the famous Breakfast Creek Hotel, one of Brisbane's best-known watering holes - and for good reason! Also close to the Albion Park Raceway (horse racing, that is) - that being said, if your room faced that way, the floodlights from the night racing would be pretty off-putting. There're also some other eateries beyond the Breakfast Creek Hotel. If you wanted to do any kind of self-catering, or wanted to check out other eateries/cafes etc, you're in for either a quick drive or a longish walk. Your best bet is back towards the airport, in Racecourse Road in Hamilton. Pretty much anything you'd want there, including a supermarket, restaurants, cafes, pharmacy etc.
Overall, I'd be happy to stay here again, but I'd make sure I packed my earplugs!

Room Tip: Higher rooms would have less road noise. Elevators seemed a bit noisy when travelling in them, so ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had this trip arranged for an overnight before making a very long journey to US to visit our daughter. The staff were indeed very helpful, thank you Dennis. The big dissapointment began with the poor lighting inside the room, very difficult to see our 'bill' we had a view of the racecourse not the river and for pensioners on a budget we found it to be very costly to get to the airport when we thought there would be a free shuttle bus, the majority of hotels charging these prices would offer that service. Wi-fi was not somethign we needed thank goodness I wouldn't ever pay a ridiculous price like that, who charges for wi-fi anyway???? The bathroom was very shabby, splitting from the bottom of the frame of the door and the tub had no finish left on it and looked a little dodgy. I don't think this would bear repeating, hugely dissapointing to spend all this money on one night when so much was lacking.

Room Tip: Pay more????
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blossomNSW_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Value poor. River view a misnomer. No free wi fi, expensive, difficult to get to if you miss turnoff, 1.5 percent for credit card. My room next to lift well, heard lift go up and down continually.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I came to Brisbane overnight for a getaway and decided to stay somewhere outside of the city. The Riverview Hotel was our choice and it was a good one.

Very friendly staff and clean, large rooms with very, very comfy beds. The room service was a bit pricey and unfortunately no in room wifi and the prices for broadband Ethernet use are too high.

Other then that it was a great stay and I'll definatley come back and I'll also try their Sydney and Melbourne counterparts.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimorphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
2.4 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
1.2 mi away
Rydges Fortitude Valley
Rydges Fortitude Valley
#8 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#26 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mantra Richmont Hotel
Mantra Richmont Hotel
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
3.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
Swiss-Belhotel Brisbane
#18 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Property: Brisbane Riverview Hotel
Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing