We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Brisbane

“Beautiful food, slow service”
Review of Stokehouse Q

Stokehouse Q
Ranked #111 of 5,552 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Went here with work on a Thursday night. Gorgeous venue. Food was beautiful, everything I tried was delicious. However the service was so slow. We waited for too long to be served. Once we eventually ordered, the food came pretty quick. The same thing happened when it came to ordering dessert. So all in all fab food, but almost spoiled by the slow service. And verrrry pricey!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Roisin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokehouse B, Manager at Stokehouse Q, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Roisin F,

I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our fabulous location and excellent food.
Whilst we do encourage our staff to let their guests take the time to enjoy a relaxed fine dining experience with us we certainly wouldn't want the perception to be that the service is slow. I am sorry to hear this is how you felt and I am so relieved it didn't spoil your evening. Thank you for taking the time to send us constructive feedback.

Many thanks,
StokehouseQ Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2020

We have enjoyed taking interstate and overseas visitors to this restaurant in the past. It provides iconic views and excellent service
However, I wish to draw attention to some recent glitches, which if not rectified will affect my own preferences as well as those of my colleagues and people who read trip advisor
*The thrice cooked chips were soggy or stale on the last two occasions. Thrice cooked suggests that they might be crispy. Were they made with Deb-packet mix? The flavours were rancid perhaps due to aged oil or butter.
*the kangaroo saltbush pastie (labelled pie) served today was a culinary disgrace. It was not awful but the pastie was non-descript and a miserable serving.
With respect to paltriness i.e. miserliness, adding a surcharge to a mastercard payment including tip was a gratuitous insult.
Lift your game guys!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank timfM1340BM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

The service was exceptional nothing was a issue for the staff to assist with.
We ordered starters to share and were all surprised at the exceptional flavours. The mains were some of the most flavoursome meals we have had in years.
We were out on a Saturday night the restaurant was very loud good atmosphere for dining out with friends.
When booking request a table away from the ends more in the centre for better views of the river and the city.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 890glenysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokehouse B, Manager at Stokehouse Q, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 890glenysp,

We're so happy to read that you had such an excellent experience with us & you enjoyed your evening so much! I have passed your review onto our kitchen team, they too were delighted to read such positive feedback.

Hope to see you in the restaurant again soon.

Many thanks,
StokehouseQ Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

We were in Brisbane for New Year and decided Stokehouse would be the perfect venue for lunch on NYE. We were right. Of course the view is great, right on the river, and we'd booked a table at the rail. We weren't in a hurry, as we were too early to check in to our hotel (within walking distance).

While perusing the menu we each had a margarita...one of the best I've had.

Staff were all warm and efficient, and knowledgeable about both food and wine. We expected the visit to be expensive...and it was. Mind you I found the $50 markup on one bottle of wine a little steep.

Food was exquisite. All dishes were interesting, beautifully prepared and served. I had the ceviche to start, then confit duck. Both perfect. The 'Neapolitan' dessert was to die for.....vanilla semifreddo, rosella sorbet, dark chocolate mousse.

To sum it up, it was a memorable way to spend a couple of hours on a lovely Brisbane day. We'll be back.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JO M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokehouse B, Manager at Stokehouse Q, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi JO M,

Thank you for taking the time to send us such wonderful feedback. I am thrilled you enjoyed your long lunch with us and will pass all of your feedback onto the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Brisbane soon!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

My husband and I had tried to dine at Stokehouse previously so were delighted to finally get there. Service was excellent; food delicious; portions a little small. Our table for two looking across the river was perfect. Very little here to quibble about - many thanks for such an enjoyable experience!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wimcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stokehouse B, Manager at Stokehouse Q, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi wimcee,

Thank you for such lovely feedback, we're so happy we were able to provide you with such a wonderful dining experience.
We will look forward to welcoming you back to StokehouseQ in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stokehouse Q also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Stokehouse Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing